We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply WOW”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of RIVERVIEW LODGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HappyCoup...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply WOW”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights and I have to admit, it is the best lodge we have stayed in. Everything was PERFECT. Irene and John were there to great us at the lodge with cakes in the fridge for the kids. The lodge does actually look like the pictures. Actually, the lodge has to be seen in real life as it is better than the pictures.

The lodge was extremely clean and it was well stocked with all cooking appliances, herbs, tea etc. The outdoor area is perfect to sit and enjoy a drink and see the world pass by. There is also a electric bbq, which we didn't use though. It is about 10 - 12 minutes walk to the local Spar and the walk take you past the riverside club house from where you can take the boat ferry into town. There is also Wi-Fi in the lodge which supports two users at a time. It was used by the kids and it did drop at times, but, it did not bother us because we were at the lodge for a break and to get away from all the hectic demands of life and be close to nature.

Over all, I have got no complaints and I would HIGHLY recommend the lodge to any one who is looking for a break. Everything from booking the lodge to the communication on pre arrival at the lodge was excellent. We shall be back again. Thank you for making our holiday memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the lodge
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review it is much appreciated and it does help when guests need to know how the lodge is presented. It does look better than in photos as you cannot explain to guests how beautiful it is. It is thanks to guests like yourself that can share this.
Hope to see you all soon and Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smoggy123
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodge, will be back for sure!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Myself, husband and two children stayed here for one week in August 2014.

The lodge is situated on Avon Caravan park, which is a quiet caravan park about one mile from the centre of Stratford, a nice leisurely walk away.

On arriving at the lodge we were met by Irene and we were delighted to find that it looked just as lovely in the flesh as it did on the photographs. You really couldn't wish for a better view.

Irene obviously has a very good eye for colour and style as the decor was lovely - warm and stylish but at the same time very homely. We loved all her little 'nick nacks' and were still discovering new things on our last morning! The ambience on an evening is perfect, lots of wall lights and table lamps inside, as well as various solar lamps and decking lights outside.

The lodge was extremely clean, Irene obviously has very thorough cleaners!

The kitchen is very well equipped, providing everything you need to cater for a family of six, whether it be a barbecue on the patio or a full home cooked meal. There is a large american style fridge/freezer which has an ice making facility (and electronic child lock should you need it!) There is also a washer dryer which was extremely handy.

A large SMART 3DTV sits above the fireplace, with Bose surround sound system, and the owners have a plentiful supply of DVDs for all the family to enjoy - not to mention a host of books and games. We found the lodge lovely and warm with the sun streaming in, and only one evening did we switch the fire on after a cold evening.

Bedroom One - Great sized room with an extremely comfortable king sized bed, and full wall to wall wardrobe. TV on the wall, hairdryer provided so no need to pack one. Large en-suite bathroom with large corner 'Rain Head' shower (suitable for disabled) Plenty of good quality thick towels provided, as well as two dressing gowns (very handy, thank you!) The water is heated by a combi boiler so there is always plenty of hot water for all the family.

Bedroom Two - Standard sized double room again with very comfortable bed, tv on the wall and large wardrobe. The decor in both rooms is beautiful. Bedroom 2 had the best Wi-Fi reception.

Family bathroom - modern, warm and stylish with an overbath shower and plenty of storage space one again.

The outside decking overlooks the River Avon, and is well furnished with plenty of wicker chairs (cushions inside if you need them) table, dining table, gas barbecue and patio heater. The lodge must be south facing as you are greeted with the sun streaming through the windows on a morning ( great to sit on the decking with a cuppa first thing and watch the geese and ducks fly onto the river) and on an evening you can still enjoy the sun with a glass of wine (writing this I wish I was back there now!)

There is a little path which takes you to a footbridge over the river to another caravan park, which is where you will find the new clubhouse (open to both sites) This is a stunning looking structure made of glass and wood on stilts, with great views over the river.It has a restaurant, bar and entertainment lounge, and a playpark. We had a wander round but didn't eat here although the menu seemed reasonable.
If you carry on through the caravan park you come to Tiddington village, which has a lovely Indian, a chinese and a small Spar store. Apparently there is a large Tesco in Stratford but we didn't come across it.

You have fishing rights in front of the lodge, we spent a couple of afternoons fishing ( a new thing for my children, and nice to see them doing something that didn't involve a 'gadget'!
There is a River Taxi, a small covered motor boat (seats 7 plus the driver) that takes you into the centre of Stratford. Catch this just over the bridge 2 mins walk from the lodge - £2 one way for adults, £1 for children) It takes about 20 mins, but it's a lovely ride, and you get a sneak peak at the stunning houses with huge gardens ( Millionaire's Row!) that back onto the river.

One of the reasons I love this lodge SO much is how peaceful it is. You literally do not hear a peep from other lodges, and we all slept so well.

My only one little suggestion to the owners would be to leave one of the larger kitchen cupboards free to store your own food. There IS two sliding compartments that were half empty, but I would have liked a bigger cupboard especially for cereal boxes etc that would be easier to access. I brought quite a bit of our own food for a week and as the kitchen is SO well equipped I struggled to store it!

We absolutely love this gem of a place, and to call it a 'lodge' doesn't seem to do it justice. I would quite happily live here! I know there are not many reviews on Trip Advisor but you only have to read through the numerous visitor books that Irene has to see just how many satisfied people have stayed here and returned time after time. In fact I think the lack of reviews must be because everyone is trying to keep it a secret!

Irene and John, thank you, we will definitely be back.

* The Crown Inn, Tiddington - ate here once but weren't impressed. The food was mediocre at best, and not worth what we paid.

* Warwick Castle - Expensive entrance fee, £96 for family of 4 and £6 extra to park. We enjoyed it, but more a 'half day' experience than a whole day.

Take a drive around the Cotswolds, Bourton on the Water is a stunning village with a river running through it, Model Village, Motor Museum (home of Brum!) and lots of gorgeous tea rooms/cafes and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views, gorgeous decor
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments about Riverview Lodge it is much appreciated. I am so glad you all had a super time, you are welcome anytime
The Lodge is special to us aswell as our many clients. Children love all the outdoor space especially the river.
I hope to see you all in the near future and once again thank you for your custom.
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare K
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet setting.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hidden from view so turning was very difficult to spot and blind turn when pulling out onto main road. Shower not suitable for elderly guests. The picnic table was out front and not very private. Wifi only worked in one corner of the main upstairs bedroom. But it was free!
Good points were that the kitchen was very well stocked and there were plenty of chairs in the dining area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2014
Sorry I have checked Riverview Diary for July and it appears you were not a guest at Riverview Lodge
Our large walk in shower is perfect for elderly guests and we do not have a picnic table as our high spec furniture is on our large decked area
Would be helpful if you could confirm date as I think you may have stayed at a different lodge as I cannot find your name
Please let me know as then your review can be sent to correct owner
Thank you
Irene Thompson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elle N
Knutsford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We wanted a base for exploring Stratford Upon Avon and Warwick. This place just couldn't have been better. The lodge was well kitted out. We didn't stay in the one on the photos but we knew this and it certainly didn't disappoint! The lodge had everything we needed and was perfect for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. The jet bath and rain shower were a lovely surprise. The lodge was just a home away from home. We looked at travel lodges in the area which were not much cheaper and would not have been nice in the evening, where as here if the weather is nice you can sit on the decking and enjoy a wine with the provided BBQ, however in bad weather you can snuggle up and watch TV with the fire on! My son who is 9 had a blast and is already asking when we can return. The site where the lodge is based is clearly well looked after and felt very secure with lots of kids playing which was lovely to see! The lodge looks out on to the River Avon and we particularly liked watching the rowers come down the river in the mornings! Our host was so lovely came round checked we had everything we needed but was never obtrusive yet always on the phone if needed. He even recommended the Black country living museum which was a fantastic day out. All in all the lodge was just perfect and we will definitely stay there again. If your looking for somewhere to stay in the area, then look no further. A perfect weekend and worth every penny!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was just perfect!
Liked least: Nothing it exceeded our expectations
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dizzy-wif...
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a second stay at this lodge for a week over the Easter holidays, our previous stay being 4 years ago. The lodge was just the same, no changes, no signs of wear and tear during the last 4 years which was great. We hit jackpot with the weather and was able to sit out on the balcony through the day and in the early mornings (i'm an early riser) wrapped in a blanket with a nice cup of coffee. It was lovely watching the swans sailing past and the ducks come searching for bread. The wifi was a bit hit and miss but we found our hotspot area which was at the far end of the dining table. Once we had got the knack of the logging in process, and if we sat in our 'hotspot' we would have a few continuous hours of wifi. There is free wifi at the clubhouse also if its being a bit iffy in the lodge. I do think that slightly more detailed login instructions could be left in the instruction book as there are various different wifi networks to choose from. We worked out network 8 was best for us but for the first day it was trial and error.

The new (i'll call it) clubhouse, is great for a drink with outside seating on an extensive balcony. There is a play area for the kids to play in and lovely views as its next to the river. We didn't sample the menu as we felt the kids menu wasn't very extensive. The only thing our girls would choose was the lamb but we were told that was only on a Sunday.

We look forward to our next visit and we won't leave it so long next time.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind response
The wi fi on site is difficult at times but instructions for a hotspot do not work as it can change daily. It is difficult with the river it seems to make it difficult with signal.
But we are pleased you decided to stay with us again and were still happy with our lodge. I hope to see you all in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZXAngel
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideally situated and catered for all our needs”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Riverview Lodge had everything we needed, it was ideally situated and every morning we had a stunning river view with swans,ducks and geese. Although it is amongst privately owned lodges it is very quiet and peaceful. Irene met us on arrival at the lodge and was extremely warm and welcoming. We werent able to make use of the balcony as it was to cold (coming from Australia!) and we out from early morning to late evening for the 4 nights we stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Although it does show in photos, it is a bit cluttered with ornaments. Also no wifi and as there was very little reception, in this day and age is a must
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it is much appreciated and we hope you will consider us if you visit Stratford Upon Avon in the future
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian213
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

The lodge is stylish decorated, spacious and have a wonderful view. We have stayed there for 18 nights. As it was very cold during our stay and can't enjoy much at the balcony, so we are planning for another trip there in May 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and cleaniness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Look forward to seeing you in May 2014 for your next visit
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing