We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some scary bits for kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor World

Tudor World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This award winning museum is situated right in the heart of the historic town of Stratford upon Avon within a Grade 2* listed historic building. The attraction depicts various aspects of Tudor life in an exciting atmospheric setting. The museum also runs the Walking tour with William Shakespeare; museum ghost tours and is popular with school groups.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some scary bits for kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is an interesting little museum full of fascinating facts about the Tudors, and some very well known ones. I think there was only another family in when we were there, so it was like having the place to ourselves. My daughter has a strange dislike of manikins, for some reason finding them creepy, and as every room contains them dressed as Tudor characters. There's a lot of information to read, but children don't always want to spend the time. The building itself is clearly very old some of the exhibits are perhaps in need of an update. An interesting attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Egmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetF2301, Manager at Tudor World, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Liz, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your daughter found the realistic fibre glass figures scary. We do show there is life like figures in the leaflets and in the information at the front of the building and also imply there is a ‘horrible history’ like element to the museum. There are approximately 5 A4-sized ‘lift up flaps’ containing “Lucy’s story” (a Tudor child) for children to read, placed at their height, each with no more than one sentence. There are also the free quiz, quills to write with and hats to try on for the children. We are not sure what exactly you mean by ‘tired’ exhibits as they are relatively new and depicting how it would have looked in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    215
    81
    30
    38
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We survived the most haunted house in Stratford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Apparently very under-rated due to lack of interest in promoting it by the local council. Unfortunately, we were the only two attending the very spooky after hours Ghost Tour and it therefore lacked a little atmosphere, but our guide was excellent and made it a very scary experience. The TV show Most Haunted have filmed there and Derek Acora spent the night alone there only to find himselft possessed by a rather nasty spirit. Highly recommended if you are brave enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank benfleetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Experience spoilt by school party ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I time our vacations to miss the peak tourist months and school holidays. So we were disappointed to arrive at Tudor World just as a school party descended on the place.
The building is not really conducive to having adults going round one way and groups of children going round the other.
Maybe the owners should consider having a dedicated opening for schools.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Andrew W, we are sorry to hear that the school party spoilt your visit. The revenue we make from schools is vital to our business and its continued success. If we closed for school parties, we would be closed most days during term time and would be unfair to our casual visitors who would be disappointed. We do advise visitors if we have school party in and when they will be leaving, so that they have the choice to continue or visit later in the day if they wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We discovered by accident and were very glad to have done so. An interesting step back in time with carefully thought about information and objects to look at and listen to. Price of £5 per adult , concession £4 children £3.50 (I think!)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Naomi, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. People like yourselves make all the hard work worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing old building but facilities need improving!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This could be such a wonderful place! However when there is such an obvious spelling mistake in the gold lettered notice and now in a shiny poster, it makes me very impatient! (See and here instead of See and hear). I first reported it about a year ago! And yes it matters, especially when it is an educational establishment. I appreciate it is difficult with being an independent museum, however I have offered to proof-read for free! There are plenty of activities and interesting facts; a traditional feel, and friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Sue, thank you for taking the time to review – one misspelling if we understand correctly? We are not an educational establishment as you incorrectly state and the laminated posters at the front of the building were updated a few weeks ago, so we are not sure which mistake you refer to exactly? In future, if you find a problem, it would be much appreciated if you could advise us privately, allowing us the chance to put any potential problem right. If we have indeed managed to let a minor spelling mistake slip through the net, then we must consider ourselves lucky considering the enormous amount of work and long hours it takes to run a museum, single-handed and on a tight budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tudor World also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Tudor World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing