We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite expensive for what it is - and a slow start!”

Shakespeare's Birthplace
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.52*
and up
Shakespeare's Birthplace: All 5 Houses Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the birthplace of the world's greatest playwright. Shakespeare's Birthplace has been welcoming visitors from all over the world for over 250 years. This fine Tudor house is where the dramatist's life began. Life, Love & Legacy exhibition provides an immersive journey into the Shakespeare's world and interweaves theatre with Shakespearian magic, setting the scene for your visit to the Birthplace. In the garden, meet your favourite Shakespeare characters as Shakespeare Aloud perform live.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for what it is - and a slow start!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thankfully I had free entry to this attraction as part of a conference pass, but had I paid the £14 to get in I'd have felt a little short-changed. You are moved through a series of 'holding pens' on your way in, during which you are trapped between a series of 'automatically opening' doors and played a few presentations (I think it was 3 or 4). Being strapped for time, this was a bit frustrating. Presumably this is to control the flow of visitors in to the house itself, but I felt like cattle. The house itself is nice and the tour guides were friendly and informative, but it's only a few rooms and while charming there's not much space, especially when busy. The highlight was the gardens - rose bushes were all in bloom during my visit which was wonderful. Then a heartily-stocked gift shop which is great for any Shakespeare fan, but free to get in from the street.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeOfShalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Marketing department at Shakespeare's Birthplace, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to make a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Shakespeare’s Birthplace.
The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust is committed to delivering a high quality educational, entertaining and consistent visitor experience. We encourage all our visitors to offer constructive feedback and all comments are used to ensure continual development and improvement of our customer service.
I am pleased to hear that you found the guides friendly and informative and that you liked the house and gardens. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in our Life, Love and Legacy exhibition. We are currently reviewing this space in order to produce a new interpretation of the space and are looking into making this an area where visitors can browse at their leisure.
We are regularly reviewing the visitor experience at all of the Trust houses as part of our long term strategic plans and the interpretation of the audio-visual display is currently being reviewed.
If you wish to discuss the matter further you can contact the Trust at info@shakespeare.org.uk and you email will be forwarded to the Operations Manager at the Birthplace.
Your ticket is valid for 12 months from the date of purchase and I hope that you’ll get the opportunity to visit us again and to receive the positive experience we hope all our visitors get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,693
    1,120
    379
    105
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had to suffer very large crowds with lots of children. If you stood to one side and let them pass you are able to enjoy the house much more

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emmydeeinhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Marketing Department at Shakespeare's Birthplace, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the Shakespeare Houses. We are pleased you enjoyed you visit and trust the crowds did not dampen your experience. We are often very busy this time of year and do try to manage the flow of visitors coming through the site so that everyone gets a fair chance to see everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
believeinyou
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Right in the heart of Stratford's town centre. Beautiful outside and in. Free guided tours available. Beautiful gardens. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank believeinyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Marketing Department at Shakespeare's Birthplace, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review of Shakespeare's Birthplace and your comment about our house guides.
We are delighted that you found your visit interesting and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Your ticket is valid for 12 months from the date of purchase so you can come back again for free for a whole year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Bard at Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We took a one day tour out of London to Oxford and Stratford on Avon. Stratford was crammed with people there to celebrate the birthday of William Shakespeare.
Of course we had to visit the museum home where Shakespeare was born. It was very interesting and quite inspirational to actually be in the place that the greatest writer of the English language was born and lived. The museum itself was pretty basic, nothing very fancy and no high tech - I think that was good. Of course virtually everything in the house were replicas of what might have been there when Bill was a kid, but that isn't the point. This is a museum where the imagination is most important.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely historic house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really enjoyed the introduction, and then the gardens which were beautifull, we were told all the details of the house by the guide then left to wander through at leisure. Back out in the gardens the actors were doing Romeo and Juliet which was brilliant. Well worth the money

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Essexoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Marketing Department at Shakespeare's Birthplace, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We are pleased that you had a memorable trip - our gardens are particularly beautiful this time of year and Romeo and Juliet is always a firm favourite with our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Birthplace also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Shakespeare's Birthplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing