We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better of the "three" Shakespeare houses”
Review of Hall's Croft

Hall's Croft
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.63*
and up
Shakespeare's Birthplace: All 5 Houses Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic Jacobean house with its tranquil walled gardens is where Shakespeare's daughter Susanna lived with her husband, the wealthy physician Dr. John Hall.Explore the exhibition commemorating the 100th anniversary of World War I. There is a cafe on the site and the Arter gift shop selling crafts that are locally handmade.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better of the "three" Shakespeare houses”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Basically because there was a lot more information as we went round the house, it felt more "connected" as an experience, and provided some new information we hadn't seen elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Marketing Officer at Hall's Croft, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for you review of your visit to Hall's Croft.
I am delighted that you found your visit interesting and we hope to welcome you back again. Your ticket is valid for 12 months from the date or purchase so you can come back again and again for free during those 12 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    238
    57
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the best of the houses, very grand - I could have lived here! Such a shame the structure is in such bad shape.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CathOWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Marketing Officer at Hall's Croft, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for you review of your visit to the Shakespeare Houses and Gardens.
I am delighted that you found your visit interesting and we hope to welcome you back again. Your ticket is valid for 12 months from the date or purchase so you can come back again and again for free during those 12 months.

Our conservation team spend a lot of time maintaining these beautiful buildings for visitors now and for future generations of visitors which is largely paid for from admissions to the houses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great House to Visit”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Shakespeare's daughters house who married the local doctor so it was interesting seeing the difference between the houses on a status bases. Lovely gardens and a good guide to answer any questions. You can get a good cuppa too. Two houses and the church where Shakespeare is buried all for 14 pounds. Good value I think and you can return within 12 months and get in for nothing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Marketing Officer at Hall's Croft, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for you review of your visit to Hall's Croft
I am delighted that you found your visit interesting and we hope to welcome you back again. Your ticket is valid for 12 months from the date or purchase so you can come back again and again for free during those 12 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hall's Croft”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Shakespeare's eldest daughter, Susanna, married Doctor John Hall, and Hall's Croft was their home. It's filled with period furniture, and the history of the couple. It's on Old Town street, and is the nearest of the Shakespeare sites to Holy Trinity Church, where Shakespeare is buried. Sadly, Susanna outlived her children, and her sister had none. Shakespeare's son, Hamnet (named after a good friend and neighbor), died at the age of 11. That eventually ended the direct lineage of Shakespeare.

Hall's Croft exhibits some of the good Doctor's writings, as well as objects of the physician's trade. In England, a doctor could not perform surgery, only a barber-surgeon could. A doctor would have been referred to as Mr., not Dr.

The house, itself is being renovated with the proceeds of visitor's entrance fees. There is a lot to renovate. In the back of the building, visible from the gardens, there are jacks holding up the second storey.

They have a unique gift shop, whose merchandise is all from local artists. The proceeds support the further preservation and restoration of the building. All the items are unique, and diverse. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlC608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Assistant Marketing Manager at Hall's Croft, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of your trip to Hall's Croft. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit. It certainly is an interesting house and well worth a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house and gardens”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very well interpreted, good staff, varied contents, nice cafe too with newspapers to read. Interesting sculptures in the grounds - related to Shakespeare's plays - very imaginative forms.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandazDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hall's Croft also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Hall's Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing