We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and most enjoyable”
Review of Bancroft Cruisers

Bancroft Cruisers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The best 45 minute sightseeing cruise in Stratford upon Avon!! We offer excellent sightseeing cruises and we're the only company to have a boat with a licensed bar, wonderful cream teas and a Live commentary by our own on-board guides. Our guides share the history - and the amusing unknown history - of Stratford & Shakespeare during your cruise. We're a family business that operates 365 days a year, river conditions permitting. We can also cater for private parties - birthdays, hen parties, anniversaries, Christmas, schools & coach groups - we do just about everything! Our cruises are popular with local residents and tourists alike.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A beautiful September Sunday morning cruise up and down the rivee in a very comfortable boat. Thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend.

1  Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R, Director of Sales at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Good morning Chandrah874,

So glad you enjoyed your cruise. It's lovely out on the river at this time of year. Many thanks for your review and hope to see you again when you're back in Stratford.

Best wishes,

Fiona

Fiona Rae
Bancroft Cruisers Limited
01789 269669

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

we were lucky enough to have a cruise on here with a cream tea. It was a lovely summers day, perfect way to end a fantastic weekend away in Stratford. The young lad that did our tour guide was very good, very funny and full of information, learnt so much, especially the nasty bits :)
Great trip

1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time on the cruise with gorgeous scones and tea. It was a lovely way to spend an hour with an informative and entertaining guide.

Thank msbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R, Director of Sales at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Good Morning Ms Beattie,

We're so glad you enjoyed your cruise and cream tea. The scones are made for us and delivered by a small local bakery and I have to stop myself from sampling them regularly!. We're the only company on the river Avon that has onboard guides and we often have great feedback when they entertain our guests with their knowledge of the history of Stratford in an amusing way.

Best wishes,

Fiona Rae
Bancroft Cruisers
Stratford upon Avon
Tel: 01789 269669

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had a lovely cruise down the river with my husband and 2 children on a beautiful sunny day and we were lucky enough to sit at the bow of the beautiful 'Rita Ellen' which the children thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were extremely friendly, commentary was great and cruise fantastic. We hope to visit Stratford again next year and will definitely visit again :-)

1  Thank KaCey174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R, Director of Sales at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi KayCee174

Isn't it lovely to cruise in the bow on a sunny day - my favourite place on the Rita Ellen.

Call us next time you're in Stratford and we'll book the same spot for you and family.

I'll pass your review to the crew :)

Best wishes,

Fiona Rae
Bancroft Cruisers
Stratford upon Avon
Tel: 01789 269669

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a trip with Bancroft. We bought a deal that included the cream tea through Living Social. The weather was great the boat comfortable, cream tea very tasty and a great tour guide. He gave us the alternative history and was very amusing.
They are a bit away from the main boat companies but worth finding. Plus it was free to park at the Holiday Inn, not sure if that applies all the time though. You are then only a short walk from the rest of Stratford.

1  Thank Maz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R, Director of Sales at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi Maz9

It's great to have such great reviews. The Living Social vouchers are a fantastic way to enjoy an cruise & one of our cream teas at the same. We're planning another deal closer to Christmas with home-made mulled wine and mince pies baked by our lovely friends who make our scones.

You're right, we are a little way off the beaten track but we're lucky to be moored in the inlet at the Holiday Inn and we hope our reputation brings guests our way!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Fiona Rae
Bancroft Cruisers
Straford upon Avon
Tel: 01789 269669

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bancroft Cruisers also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Bancroft Cruisers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing