We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend Away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hamlet

Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
A view of the back garden Cosy and warm even without a fire. Plenty of books and games to enjoy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
A view of the back garden
Cosy and warm even without a fire. Plenty of books and games to enjoy
Lots of books and games to enjoy
The well equipped Shaker style galley kitchen
Quirky antique bathroom with huge corned bath which mum's and weary walkers adore
Sunroom has plush window seat with views over the garden.
The light and airy Mediterranean sunroom
A view of the November garden from the sunroom
Downstairs double. Favourite with older and disabled guests.
Newly refreshed double . Grey beams and like an art gallery
Table for two in self contained double
The luxurious Kingsize bedroom
The Kingsize room is sunny and well lit
stylish single bedroom
Ancient door and beams in single lead through to twin bedroom
twin double is a great hit with children of all ages!
The garden in spring
comfortable chairs to enjoy an outdoor meal or smoke!
Roses covering the upstairs bedroom window in June
The gate which leads onto a fieldpath into Bidford on Avon
A  lovely place to sit and relax and watch the wildlife. Take care with very young children
Back entrance . A blaze of colour in May
Wildlife pond. Shallow but take care with very young children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Cheekymon...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

1 The Hamlet is a lovely cottage with beautiful gardens in the little village of Marcliff, which is 5 minutes drive from Bideford on Avon and is the perfect base to explore the surrounding areas.
This is the second time I have stayed at this cottage and will definately be going back next year, as there is still so many surrounding places I have yet to explore.
There is a lovely river walk within 5 mins of the cottage.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thanks for your positive comments. You were a super group and made the very best of everything the cottage and the area have to offer. Look forward to seeing you again next year,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E
1 review
“Pretty cottage,lovely garden,blissful break”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lots of room in this idyllic cottage.Suited our group of three generations including disabled Granpa in downstairs bedroom.Comfortable,cosy and well equipped.Lots to do,walks,river paddling and fishing for lively children .Stratford is lovely and buzzy,,Bidford has good restaurants and supermarket.A warm welcome from Geoff,the owner.,thank you again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2017
Thanks for your generous review. I loved meeting all your characterful, friendly family and was impressed how you used the cottage and its environs to the full. My word, you brought lovely warm weather with you too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss Jani...
1 review
“Quaint Country Cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Cottage was an ideal location within the Cotswolds, with lots of places of interest within easy access.Also Wonderful Pubs and Restaurants within walking distance. Very cosy accomodation, with room to spread out, 2 comfortable double bedrooms. Another with twin beds and one single bedroom. We were blessed with some sunshine that made the Sun room an ideal place to sit and read and play cards, also too enjoy the picturesque Garden. I was really impressed with the size of the cottage. All in all Great place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thanks for your positive review. I was so pleased you made the very best of the cottage and the area..... and, of course, i was delighted the sun shone for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborah l
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family weekend”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Amazing cottage, has a fabulous weekend,
Everything needed in the cottage .. Garden is lovely ....
We walked through the field at the end of the footpath to the river walk ...
Lovely coal fire .... Nice pub up the road ....
Very enjoyable ... Will defiantly booking to
Go again ..

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2016
Thanks. It's what I do when I stay in cottages for my holidays ie make the most of what the cottage and the immediate area has to offer instead of driving to places miles away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSrep
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The cottage is the perfect quaint haven in the beautiful olde area of Marlcliff near Stratford upon Avon”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful weekend at The Hamlet... Its quaint & quirky and very homely...It has absolutely everything you may need to ensure a relaxed break from the hustle & bustle of City life... Our group of 7 thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay - and its also situated in such a beautiful area to explore.... Thank you, Geoff - for all your assistance & your 'welcoming packs' -So very much appreciated... You helped our 'get together ' to be a very happy one... . Diolch yn fawr iawn, -,G.
( PS. Have every intention to book again, in the not-too-distant future !! )

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A fabulous quaint and homely cottage in a beautiful area
Liked least: The parking access was difficult - and was mindful of not blocking the neighbours homes.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2016
Thanks so much. You were a lovely group, good fun , lively and positive . You made the very best of all the cottage and the neighbourhood had to offer. Be great to see you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It was a fantastic time at the cottage and the surrounding countryside was a picture met the owner of the property a very nice person will book again soon

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2016
Thanks for your positive comments.Be lovely to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndynFion...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed our the half term holiday with family
5 adults, 2 children & 2 dogs
On arrival we met Geoff the owner, after a quick introduction we were left to settle in, rooms allocated it was time to explore.
The Cottage is set in a quiet location with great character, its steeped in history which is included in the introduction in the cottage.
The gardens are lovely with the additional of a small allotment area at the back.
We found the cottage to be large enough for all of us to spend together and also to enjoy your own space.
its certainly a place we would recommend, there's nice river walks, ideally located for visiting local attractions and the log burning fire is a must on a dark October night

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thanks Andy. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and that you all made the most of what the cottage and the area has to offer. You were a jolly group!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing