We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little GEM”
Review of Cymbeline House

Cymbeline House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cymbeline House
leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little GEM”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We found this guest house after searing through google maps for a hotel under £60 for two people that was close to the town centre.

5-10 minutes at a slow pace will bring you into the centre of Stratford ( I have slight walking difficulties - so it will take you only 5 mins at a normal pace)

We were greeted and welcomed to check in from 11.30 am. Having looked at the pictures we asked for room 3 which was beautiful. The doors were open to a couple of the other rooms, having a sneaky peak, all rooms were decorated differently but equally as nice. Room 3 is to the front of the guest house and noise wasn't a problem, but standing in room 2 - you could hear a pin drop, so I would suggest this if staying for a few nights and fancy an afternoon nap!

The owners are lovely and Breakfast was one of the best I have had for a little B&B.

The only negative point is one form a personal preference - the bed was too hard for me...but my hubby had no problem sleeping!!!!!

For a total of £50 for 2 people including Tea / Coffee in Room, Cereal, fruit, Yoghurt, a cooked breakfast, toast, orange Juice and fresh Tea & Coffee....what more could you ask for...only one thing.....whatt date to book to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2009

we stayed at cymbeline guest house for a wedding we attended in stratford. for 30 pounds pppn it turned out to be perfect for what we were after - somewhere comfy and clean within walking distance to town, and with a host who wasn't too overbearing! it's definitely a typical english b&b - fancy wallpaper and frilly curtains all the way - but the bed was comfy and the bathroom was a decent size. the breakfast wasn't super special but they did have a few options available, with plunger coffee and yoghurt - yum. the only strange thing was being sat on the same table as (and RIGHT next to) the only other two people in the breakfast room at the time... a bit too cosy for our liking!

overall we had a great stay there. one thing worth noting is that the room was pretty full of furniture, and almost every surface had an ornament of some sort on it - not really ideal for lots of luggage or spreading out your stuff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at Cymbeline House during a weekend visit to Stratford to see the RSC production of As You Like It. Cymbeline was really easy to find and is only a short walk from both the railway station and town centre. Linda, the proprietor, was very friendly and after helping us to settle in, left us to our own devices with a key for the front door which meant that we could freely come and go.

The room we stayed in was large and looked recently refurbished with a lovely blue and white colour scheme, lots of storage space, tea and coffee making facilities and additional extras that I didn't expect to be provided such as a hairdryer and shower gel. The room was en-suite and we didn't notice any problems with the water pressure despite being at the top of the building.

Breakfast takes place in a room on the ground floor (not the room that can be seen on a Trip Advisor photograph) which is quite light and airy with a view out into the small back garden. There is a full cooked breakfast on offer with self-service cereals, cereal bars, fruit and yogurts.

We really enjoyed our stay at Cymbeline House, it was comfortable, friendly, cheap and well located and we were especially pleased to be able to leave our cases behind after checking out so that we could enjoy our last few hours in Stratford before catching the train home!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 864beckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We had a lovely stay at Cymbeline House which on arrival had a lovely homely and traditional feel. The proprieter has themed the guest house with a charming olde shakespearean feel. The room was very comfortable and very clean and good value for money. The proprieter was very friendly and informative which helped us make the most of our stay. We were able to use their private parking. The location was perfect for looking around Stratford we didnt need to move the car once , we just walked everywhere. If we came to Stratford again we would stay at Cymbeline House to sum it up great location interesting colourful house great value for money clean with friendly helpful staff. Thankyou for making our stay memorable.

Mr and Mrs S Smith
Worcestershire

  • Liked — feel of the house quaint and quirky
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Very good food and good value for money overall. Excellent location.Very clean but very cluttered. Only one person can use the shower because the hot water runs out very quickly and then the water runs out completely. There are major plumbing problems. The owner talks a lot. Credit cards are not accepted and the owner changed the price from the one quoted (to her advantage).

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — lack of hot water
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ia026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linhill Guest House
Linhill Guest House
#36 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avoncot Guest House
Avoncot Guest House
#48 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Carlton Guest House
The Carlton Guest House
#44 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quilt & Croissants
Quilt & Croissants
#40 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aidan Guest House
Aidan Guest House
#16 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cymbeline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cymbeline House

Property: Cymbeline House
Address: 24 Evesham Place, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Class:3 star — Cymbeline House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cymbeline House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing