We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be rated more than 4 Diamonds!”
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should be rated more than 4 Diamonds!”
Reviewed November 19, 2006

The hosts certainly do make The Emsley something apart! Wonderfully friendly, our injured Mum was coddled and spoilt and we were shown every discount voucher in town and advice on how to get to a variety of things we wanted to see. The guest house is beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and the breakfasts were magnificent, we couldn't say enough good things about the Emsley. Great location too, town centre within walking distance.

  • Liked — The hosts were so helpful
  • Disliked — There was not one thing negative about this place
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you try the scrambled eggs
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OzontourinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    51
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
111
251
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Stratford; this B&B is lovingly run by its owners, who made us feel most welcome, were unfailingly helpful and utterly charming. Our room was spotless and comfortable, with everything that was needed. The breakfast was delicious - a full English before all that theatre-going. The York and the Gloucester rooms are at the back, and therefore the quietest. We shall definitely return!

  • Liked — the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — ask the owners for advice about where to go and where to eat
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank douglasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Charming B & B. Wonderful, friendly, helpful hosts who made the stay a pleasure. Room was good size, very clean, nice breakfast. Good location. But the hosts made the place! We enjoyed the Emsley House.

  • Liked — The hosts were delightful.
  • Disliked — Stairs.
  • Tips/Secrets — Always ask about stairs.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

A friendly B&B with clean rooms and a very good, tasty breakfast. The owners were accomodating, chatty and helpful. An easy walk into the centre of Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twiga348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Firstly, thank you so much for everyone else's reviews for this beautiful place; - they were spot-on!
Val and Keith are just the greatest hosts and really make you feel so at home. I arrived tired after a very long, delayed train journey. They sat me down in the living room and I felt at home straight away.
My girlfriend arrived shortly after and Keith took us down to the garage to park the car (just 100m around the corner) They gave us advice about where to go (tours etc) and we just brilliant. A great recommendation was the Malbec restaurant,where we had dinner on Friday night. Fairly pricey, but INCREDIBLE food.
Our 'Warwick' room was just beautiful- gorgeous beams and tonnes of space.
Breakfast was even better than I expected- cooked to perfection and really sets you up for a busy day of Shakespeare and sightseeing.
Thank you so much to Val and Keith- you really made mine and my girlfriend's anniversary weekend just perfect.

We will DEFINITELY be going back to the Emsley

  • Liked — The hosts- just great
  • Disliked — 10am check out :-(
  • Tips/Secrets — The Malbec restaurant- on Union St for a great, special dinner
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank NumberOne&Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed here July 15th. We had the Warwick room which has a nice view overlooking hotel parkland. Hosts very polite and helpful; they organise car parking for you. Room very comfortable and a great breakfast.

  • Liked — Comfortable room; good service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_and_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

This is the best B & B I have ever stayed at. The room was spotless. Location great and food fabulous. But what made it special was the owners who were so helpful and informative.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sheboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.0 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Property: Emsley Guest House
Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing