We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need from a B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need from a B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Emsley as we were seeing 'As You Like It' at the RST and couldn't fault it. The owners are very friendly and helpful, our room had everything we needed (plus lovely homemade shortbread!) and a shiny clean ensuite. Breakfast great too, with lovely fresh fruit salad and smoked salmon and scrambled egg on a toasted muffin (usual options available as well). Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, it is really appreciated. We work very hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and it makes it all worthwhile when our guests appreciate our efforts. We are so glad you had a good time in Stratford, especially the RSC. We think its the best in the world!
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    50
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
242
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed 2 nights here on a recent trip and could not have been happier with our choice. From the warm welcome on arrival we knew we had made the right Choice. We where met by Ray and his daughter, after a quick check in he directed us to town to find dinner, the B&B is a very easy walk into town, so once you arrive in doing stuff in town you are set.
Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was lovely, we enjoyed chats with Ray and Melanie on our way out the door each day as they prepared to clean up and make the place a welcome clean haven to return to after our day of sight seeing.
This place is great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and we hope the rest of your trip was great too. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Initially it appears to be on a noisy road but once you enter you find a wonderfully clean, lovely bed and breakfast. Extremely accommodating, charming and welcoming (yet not intrusive) hosts. Very near to central Stratford-upon-Avon, all points of interest within easy walking distance. Home-made marmalade and biscuits - outstandingly good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Angeline,
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to do a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay in Stratford. It was lovely to meet you and your son, and hope we see you again at some future date.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived by train at Stratford-upon-Avon station and we walked to The Emsley which is only 3mins walk (very convenient even with luggage). Ray welcomed us to The Suffolk Room, a big family room for 5 of us...it was very spacious (2 dbl beds and single bunks-all are good comfortable beds), super clean, fluffy bath & hand towels, nice smelling body wash & lotion and best part is private ensuite shower plus a second bathroom only for us! Courtney brought us a tray of coffee & tea, and my children 15,14 and 11 yrs finished the homemade biscuits immediately.

Mel's hot breakfast was the best home cooked meal in a cosy breakfast room. Ray gave us proper road directions and suggestions for such short time visit. I just wished we stayed longer and urge you all to taste this family's warm and truly B&B personal hospitality. We definitely made the right choice for value for money, really!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FidaIsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Fidal,
Thank you so much for the lovely review! It is very kind of you to take the trouble to do one for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, and we hope to see you again some day. Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Emsley Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Emsley has that personal touch that I believe you do not get in the large hotels and we have stayed in many a hotel. Ray and Mel make you feel very welcome and to be honest it feels like you are sharing their home rather than staying at a Guest House. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Having got stuck in traffic on the M6 it was very nice for Ray to offer to make us a pot of fresh coffee and pot of tea. Just what we needed. We stayed in the York room, the bed was very comfy and the room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast could not be faulted - plenty of choices and more importantly it tasted excellent. Nearly forgot to mention the home-made shortbreads in the room. A nice little touch. We will definitely return for our next Shakespeare experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Terry,
Thank you very much for the review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to Stratford and the Emsley. It was a pleasure to meet you both and good luck with the rest of your list!
Best wishes,
Ray, Mel & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived to the warmest welcome ever when we set foot in this lovely B&B. Ray made us a lovely pot of coffee upon arrival and provided home made biscuits. The tips Ray gave us were most helpful with it being our first visit to the town. We stayed in the York Room which was immaculate and tastefully decorated. With breakfast, we were most impressed with the large variety of choices and the hot food cooked to perfection....so delicious!
This would have to be the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Chris & Ruth,
Thank you so much for doing a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you had a good time in Stratford and we hope the rest of your trip goes well too.
It was lovely to meet you both.

Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our two daughters aged 11 and 8. We were exhausted after catching the Eurostar from Paris and then driving 1.5hrs to Stratford. When we arrived at The Emsley we were greeted at the car park by Ray who then showed us to the guest house and to our room. From the moment you step inside it feels like home. We stayed in Suffolk (the family room) which had a double, single and single bunks. The beds were so comfortable and the room and ensuite were spotless. We also had our own special key to a second bathroom with a bath, toilet and basin. In the room we had a plasma tv with Freeview, a kettle with tea & coffee, a hairdryer and even hot water bottles and homemade biscuits! Ray gave us some great tips for things to see and do and on his advice we spent an unforgettable day at Kenilworth Castle. The home cooked breakfast every morning was just wonderful and it was served to us at our table in a beautifully laid out breakfast room complete with crisp white tablecloths and napkins. Ray and his family have spent much time renovating this house and their efforts are to be commended, it is beautiful. We will definitely be recommending The Emsley to anyone we know heading to Stratford. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Embreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it. It was a real pleasure to meet your lovely family and they were so well behaved too. We are glad you all had an enjoyable stay and hope the rest of your holiday is great.

Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Property: Emsley Guest House
Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing