We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B&B”
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Warm and friendly welcome with much appreciated pot of tea and delicious home made biscuits. Our room York was spotless and very comfortable and very quiet at the back of the house.Breakfast was excellent. It was an easy short walk into the town and so convenient for the train station .
Colin and Sue S

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hi Colin & Sue,
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to do it for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again at some future date. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 530 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

A lovely warm welcome, Ray and Mel did everything they could to make our stay as nice as possible. The parking arrangement was easy and very convenient. The guest house has been beautifully renovated, very high standard and you can tell heart and soul has gone into it!!! We stayed in the family room, very cosy, clean and very well equipped.

The breakfast in the morning was lovely and we truly did feel very well looked after. I would definitely book here as my first choice if we go again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Hi Rachel,
Thank you for doing a review for us, we are very grateful. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you. Maybe we will see you again at some future date.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived at The Emsley guest house on sunday at approx 11am and got a lovely warm welcome from all the family. We were shown to our room The Norfolk a twin room which was lovely with lots of character and very cosy and warm. We were made coffee and home made biscuits which we have never experienced before in any accomodation. We were given lots of useful information by the owners Ray Mel and Hayley. The breakfasts were amazing and you could choose the previous night from a list that spoilt you for choice so we had to try bit of everything! Anything you could wish for for a home from home experience was there for you from hot water bottle to makeup wipes. The guest house is in prime position and only took a few minutes to walk into the centre of town and to all the fab bars and restaurants. We visited Warwick castle while we were there and the owner of the guest house even gave us vouchers to get money off the entrance fee and voucher to restaurant. So very kind and helpful and we will definately be going back!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueandcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed at this friendly, comfortable and well-located guest house several times, and each has been a cosy and hospitable experience. We wanted for nothing, nothing was too much trouble for our super hosts and everything you need is included. Nicely finished rooms, Wi-fi, a good solid breakfast and a short wander into town to see the sights are all at your fingertips. We would recommend this guest house to anyone wanting a home-from-home saty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122RichardC122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to do a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I would highly recommend anyone who is going to visit and stay over in Stratford to stay at this lovely B&B. Before I start and people think it to be another 'review' both my mother and I are Coeliacs, and follow a strict gluten free diet, being careful with what we eat/cannot eat is vital to avoid side effects! I would recommend it to anyone without fail , the atmosphere and owners allow the stay to be very personal. The owners made us feel welcome prior to us arriving over the telephone, and via email - taking particular note and concern over our dietary requirements, we arrived early before book in and were welcomed in. We were offered a drink, and given some useful information as well as being shown to our room, which did not disappoint. The breakfast allowed for plenty of choices hot and cold, and gluten free options were available, the owners kindly allowed us to check for our own peace of mind. It is very rare that gluten free sausages are offered anywhere usually an extra substitute is given so having a full English was lovely! It is within easy reach of the shops and theatre, and takes no longer than 10/15 mins if going to the theatre in the evening.Overall a lovely place to stay, conveniently placed , brilliant value and hospitality - including the room, breakfast,parking and wifi! Recommend without fail, very personal and cannot thank the Emsley enough for the stay, and for the understanding of dietary requirements.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blastinglego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We do try our best to cater for any dietary requirements guests may have and it is so nice when it is appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you both.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I arrived a little too ealry, but nothing was too much trouble for this family run B & B; my case was taken to my room and a lovely pot of tea and home made biscuits arrived with it. The whole place was very clean with lovey beds and linen, the dining room had real character and the breakfast choice was great with beautifully cooked food to follow. Very helpful in all aspects from restaurant recommendations providing DVDs and games facilities when the unexpected snow kept guests indoors. would definitley visit again. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy2525_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely B&B. Fantastic room and amazing breakfasts. We were made to feel extremely welcome. It couldn't have been better and we would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanna208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Hanna,
Thank you for the review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, sorry about the weather but hopefully it didn't spoil your weekend too much. It was lovely to meet all of you ladies and hope we have the pleasure again some day.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Emsley Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $106 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing