We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
winteringham
Level Contributor
315 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked a room here through another booking website but when checking in we were offered a larger room which was very clean and well presented my only little niggle was the bathroom was a little on the small size.
The guesthouse is very convenient for the local attractions of Stratford and is run very professionally by the owners who are also very friendly and hospitable and also offer information for local sightseeing, restaurants etc, the home made biscuits and other little touches are unexpected but appreciated after a long journey.
Breakfast was very good with good choice and well presented and ample for the day ahead, would recommend if staying in Stratford.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed by the size of the bathroom. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about this. As a Victorian house, built in 1860, en suite bathrooms were not normal practice - as we all expect today. There was only one bathroom in the whole house - to be shared by the occupants of 7 bedrooms!
Ray, Melanie & Hayley Coulson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    48
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
239
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

On arrival we were warmly greeted and the owner made us coffee. Even on the cold nights the room was well-heated. The town centre is only round the corner. Breakfast is prepared individually and to a high standard. If we went back to Stratford it would be our first choice of place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penney82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Emsley Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Clean. Friendly. Good advice and information. Useful free parking. Good value for money. Easy excess to city centre. What else do you need. No ties or time restrictions. Food absolutely fabulous. Happy to serve what you want, including packed lunches that have that home made touch. Did loads locally, but still felt very relaxed and at home. Highly recommended. Already suggested to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trinibyhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us. It is much appreciated. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and hope we see you again at some time in the future.

Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pleasant clean comfortable room. Tea and home made biscuits on arrival a nice touch. Excellent breakfast of scrambled egg and smoked salmon on toasted muffin. Easy walk into town centre and to RSC theatre

Room Tip: Steep stairs to top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanmac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, it is much appreciated. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A lovely stay in excellent B&B - Everything about Emsley was absolutely perfect! Room was great, clean, warm and well stocked with tea/coffee and gorgeous home made biscuits. Car parking all sorted for us which was a real bonus .Bathroom spotless and nice soap/shower gels and body lotion. Breakfast was fabulous! Family helpful, kind and relaxed so wonderful atmosphere - We will be visiting Stratford again and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjomarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the biscuits! Its a full time job trying to keep them coming when we are busy!! It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope we see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stay at five B&B all over the UK during my vacation in October last year, Emsley is by far the best place that I've ever been too. Working at hotel business myself, I am more than impressed with everything they had offered. The only regret was I had to leave the town early. Thank you you guys for everything. You will have me for sure if I come back to Stratford!

Room Tip: Make sure to try complimentary home-cooked biscuits in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for doing the lovely review for us. It means even more because you are in the same business too! Thank you for the photographs as well. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope we meet again some day int he future.
Best wishes,
Melanie, Ray & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We read the reviews on trip advisor and were pleased that Emsley lived up to all our expectations. Our room and ensuite bathroom were warm, comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was excellent with attention to small details, like warming the plates for our full English. The walk into the centre of Stratford was only a few minutes. We would stay here again because we thought it was brilliant value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the house which was certainly quiet. Not sure what the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Claire,
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us, it is really appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to meet again at some point in the future.
Happy New Year from
Melanie, Ray & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Property: Emsley Guest House
Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing