We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pleasant clean comfortable room. Tea and home made biscuits on arrival a nice touch. Excellent breakfast of scrambled egg and smoked salmon on toasted muffin. Easy walk into town centre and to RSC theatre

Room Tip: Steep stairs to top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanmac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, it is much appreciated. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    50
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
111
247
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A lovely stay in excellent B&B - Everything about Emsley was absolutely perfect! Room was great, clean, warm and well stocked with tea/coffee and gorgeous home made biscuits. Car parking all sorted for us which was a real bonus .Bathroom spotless and nice soap/shower gels and body lotion. Breakfast was fabulous! Family helpful, kind and relaxed so wonderful atmosphere - We will be visiting Stratford again and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjomarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the biscuits! Its a full time job trying to keep them coming when we are busy!! It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope we see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stay at five B&B all over the UK during my vacation in October last year, Emsley is by far the best place that I've ever been too. Working at hotel business myself, I am more than impressed with everything they had offered. The only regret was I had to leave the town early. Thank you you guys for everything. You will have me for sure if I come back to Stratford!

Room Tip: Make sure to try complimentary home-cooked biscuits in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for doing the lovely review for us. It means even more because you are in the same business too! Thank you for the photographs as well. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope we meet again some day int he future.
Best wishes,
Melanie, Ray & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We read the reviews on trip advisor and were pleased that Emsley lived up to all our expectations. Our room and ensuite bathroom were warm, comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was excellent with attention to small details, like warming the plates for our full English. The walk into the centre of Stratford was only a few minutes. We would stay here again because we thought it was brilliant value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the house which was certainly quiet. Not sure what the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Claire,
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us, it is really appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to meet again at some point in the future.
Happy New Year from
Melanie, Ray & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in a clean, comfortable and extremely friendly guest house. We love Stratford and staying overnight at the Emsley certainly didn't disappoint. The room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely return and recommend to friends and family. Thank you to all in this family run business.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi Natty,
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us. We really appreciate it. We are glad you had a good stay, it makes all the hard work worthwhile! It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we see you again someday.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
The Emsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a very friendly, family run B&B, only a couple of hundred yards from the centre of Stratford and in an ideal position for exploring. Facilities are clean and welcoming. Parking is nearby. Very personal service from the staff. Recommended for families or couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Doug,
Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again at some future date.
We wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
The Emsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our first experience of a B&B & it was very pleasant :) cosy, comfy, warm & welcoming, it was exactly where you'd want to stay in a little place like Stratford. Ray was very helpful recommending restaurants & advising when to go as we were going to the theatre. They even supplied gluten free bread, sausages & a chocolate biscuit for me as I obviously couldn't eat Melanie's homemade biscuits (which I was told were delicious!) Overall, a well deserved 5 star review :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandlozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, and for your lovely comments, they are much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we meet again at some point in the future.
In the meantime I will be working on a gluten free version of the shortbread biscuits!
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Property: Emsley Guest House
Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing