We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST THERE IS”
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Now the third time visited since Melanie, Hayley and Ray took over. Emsley meets your every need for a perfect Stratford experience. Cleanliness, friendliness, perfect breakfastness! Pots of tea on arrival which after a long journey are very welcome. Home made shortbread accompanying brewing facilities in bedroom and not only that at breakfast there is home made jam and marmalade! A more varied breakfast on offer this year even smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Wow. Spotless {another "less"] linen table cloth and serviettes. It really is tops. Fully booked whilst I was there which says a lot. People returning as we have year after year. Will certainly go again next year on my yearly trip to the RSC Theatre. In fact may consider a trip in between knowing there is somewhere perfect to rest my weary bones!!! The Coulsons work very hard to maintain their high standard and are constantly improving the house which is looking good. Well done you three. Final word - location is also perfect. A short walk to the lovely town centre.

Room Tip: Slept in a few different rooms. All to be recommended. Different sizes and beds of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POPPYEWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you so much for doing a review for us, and thank you for choosing to come back to us again. It is always rewarding when guests return to us. We do try to constantly maintain and improve our standards and its so nice when our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again next year, if not before.
With our best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 536 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just returned from a two week trip to England. We only had one day in Stratford Upon Avon but were so happy we had chosen the Emsley Guest House. Ray, Mel and Hayley were wonderful. The room was nice and comfortable, the food was excellent and the conversation and helpful recommendations were much appreciated. We could have stayed and talked with Ray for all day but had to get to our next destination. If we ever find ourselves back in S-U-A we already know where we are staying.

Thank you, Jennifer and Mike

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do a review, it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you. We hope we meet again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! The location was excellent, being only a short walk in to the town. Ray, Mel and Hayley were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The home made cooking was much appreciated, especially the excellent marmalade at breakfast. The room was spotlessly clean and even had a hairdryer. We agree with all the other good comments and would definitely stay again and recommend to all our friends.

Peter and Jackie B

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Peter and Jackie,
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us, it is much appreciated. We are glad you liked the home made marmalade too! This is a new thing for us but we are hoping to expand our range of home made/home grown products next year.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and maybe we will see you again sometime.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

One word for the Emsley Guesthouse: Perfect. In other words . . . We go to Stratford-on-Avon to see a Shakespeare play once or twice a year every year and have done so for 15 years. In that time we have tried a fair few different places. We haven’t particularly looked for cheap places – but for good places. The Shakespeare Hotel was good until it was bought by a chain and now . . . well . . . We tried the other big hotels too and most seem to belong to chain. They have no character, no real service, and the food is tepid in both quality and temperature. We happened on the Emsley Guest House by accident because we booked late. It was cheaper than anywhere we’ve stayed so far – but it was so far superior that we shall never go anywhere else. The breakfast was superb. Hot delicious and plentiful. The staff were friendly—genuinely friendly—and highly obliging. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank il_padrino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you so much for the review and for your lovely comments. It means so much to us when guests appreciate our efforts. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Emsley as a family for one night .The room was spotless clean (i even asked Ray for tips)the attention to detail with the decor in the room was lovely the en-suite had toiletries which were a very nice touch.Ray kindly gave us a map of the area
Emsley is a short walk from town so we had a nice stroll Ray recommended a good place to eat in the evening. Breakfast was the best we have ever had served in the beautifully clean dining room .We are so glad we got there eventually it was worth waing for .We will certainly recommend Emsley.Thank you again Ray Mel and Hayley

Room Tip: family room has ample space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suanwhitehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi Susan & family,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to do the review for us, it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you all. We hope we meet again one day.
Best wishes,
Ray, Mel & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Emsley for two nights when travelling back to Hampshire after a few nights in the Lake District where we had celebrated our Pearl (30th) Wedding Anniversary.

I had read the reviews beforehand and can now confirm that this was indeed a very good choice. Ray, Mel and Hayley are a lovely family and made us feel very welcome. Prior to our visit Ray had recommended a nice restaurant for us to visit on our first night. He kindly booked us a table and arranged for us to receive a 10 per cent discount off the total bill. The name of this restaurant was Essence offering British dining and is situated in the Old Red Lion Court on Bridge Street. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the B&B. It was really super, so much so that my hubby said it was the best meal out he had ever had. This is quite a compliment as we have been fortunate to travel quite widely over the past few years. Another restaurant we would recommend is just a 5 minute walk from the Emsley, 33 Greenhill Street, and is called Il Moro which is Italian.

After arriving at the Emsley we were shown the lovely dining room, discussed some possible places to visit and Ray pointed out some of the discounts on the various leaflets. We were taken to our nice double room and a tray of tea was brought up by Hayley with some lovely homemade shortbread. The room was nicely decorated and was spotlessly clean. I was also quite impressed that there was a fan in the wardrobe should we require it. We did in fact use it as the nights had been quite humid. We also had a bottle of bubbly that Ray kindly popped in their fridge until we needed it when we were presented with a couple of wine glasses and the wine was placed in an ice bucket for us. The en-suite was a little small in the room we had but it was perfectly adequate for just a couple of nights and nice toiletries were provided. The shower had a decent amount of pressure to it. Ray did point out to us on arrival that there was currently a bit of a problem with the hot water reaching the hot tap on the sink. He advised us to run it for a while before needing it. There are plans for this to be rectified later on this year once the main holiday season has expired. The fact that Ray told us about it meant that it didn't come as a surprise to us and we could run it in plenty of time. There was not a problem with hot water coming from the shower, just the sink.

Breakfast was very good and there were variations on the full english if so required. There was a requirement to complete a sheet with breakfast choices the night before.

The B&B is ideally situated to the main town and all the attractions, pubs, restaurants and shops. Nothing is further than a 20 min walk. It is such a pleasant walk as many of the buildings are so attractive and the bedding plants throughout the town were beautiful. We were quite struck with the friendliness of the locals even when walking along the pavements there would be a nod of the head or a good morning or good afternoon. This sort of thing is sadly lacking in some of our towns and cities but evidently not Stratford.

Many thanks to Ray, Mel and Hayley for a lovely stay. I'm sure you will see us again sometime and we will be definitely recommending you to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear PaulaS
Thank you for the review, it is much appreciated. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. As you enjoyed Essence so much, you may want to review them on the Trip Advisor Restaurants page. I am sure they would be most grateful as it helps to keep them at the No.1 slot.
Kind regards,
Ray Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a weekend in July. Our room was clean and comfortable and although the ensuite was small, it was compensated for by the large bathroom adjacent to our room which was for our exclusive use. Hosts were helpful and breakfast lovely. Just a shame that I won't be able to choose this B&B when my partner and I visit as we were told that bikers are not welcome, and this is how we would be travelling next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Hi DianaC,
Thank you for doing the review for us. We are very concerned that you would leave with the impression that anyone would be unwelcome to return here; I would just like to clarify your point about bikers. We have never had a problem with bikers, our only stipulation is that, for the benefit of other guests, we do not allow all male or all female parties. We have had lots of guests who travel on motor cycles, we even offer them the use of our personal garage to store their bikes safely. We do hope this clarifies the situation and we hope to see you again at some future date.

Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#3 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#7 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $110 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, just five minutes walk from the centre of Stratford upon Avon and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview. There's a comfortable and newly decorated guest lounge which is available 24/7. There is free WiFi and free parking . A spacious family room sleeps up to five adults. Special diets catered for with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing