We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guesthouse in the middle of Stratford”
Review of Sequoia House

Sequoia House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia House
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had theatre tickets for Hilary Mantel's excellent double bill of plays at the Swan Theatre at the end of January, and as our usual guest house did not open until March, they gave us a recommendation to stay at Sequoia House. Our hosts were very helpful as to the time of day that we could arrive as we were due to see a matinee on the first day of our two night stay. As we were the first guests to arrive we had an opportunity to see all the rooms and were able to choose the wooden sled bed room preferred by my husband. This room has a shower, whereas I believe that there are baths available in some of the other rooms, so if that is an issue for you, it might be wise to enquire when booking. Our hosts were originally hoteliers and pay attention to detail and know what guests like to find in their b & b accommodation, and take care to provide it. There is now provision of tea and coffee facilties on a communal landing but be warned that there is a steep flight of carpeted stairs to be negotiated to make use of it. We enjoyed two very pleasant breakfasts in the charming dining room. The secure parking at the rear of the house is an excellent facility but beware the Google Earth image that showed the wrong parking site belonging to a nearby establishment.

Room Tip: Please see note on bath/shower facilities in my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anoldbagfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 35 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

This B&B is less than 10 minutes walk from the theatres in Stratford. Tea making facilities have been added on the top landing since previous contributors raised this as an issue. I am not sure if there are was any TV, as we were not looking, but I think not.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrGlobetrotter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very convenient location just a short walk across the river into town. The house and rooms are beautiful, very clean and well kept. The hosts are lovely and the breakfasts were great. Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small hotel with but a handful of rooms. Facilities first class. Room and amenities superb with a wonderful central location. Free car park makes it a great value. A short walk the theatres as well as all the sights around town. Good restaurants within a short walk. Hosts charming and helpful, and all topped off with a cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: There are so few, take what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel was tastefully decorated, rooms were spacious and spotless, full of character and charm. Located just 5 minutes walk away from everything It as in an Ideal position.

There are no tv's, telephones or tv/coffee making facilities which didn't bother us in the slightest as It would of taken away from the charm of the room. The hosts did everything to make us feel welcome and couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one.

Breakfast was excellent, great quality and piping hot, starting with fresh fruit, croissant and jam then a full english with freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh coffee, you wouldn't get better in a 5 star establishment in my opinion.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I satyed for a long weekend and we agreed that after the stay we would award the 5 starts as it was just great. The decor is great and we enjoyed not having the TV etal in the room, a refreshing chnage. we had a lovely pot of tea and fresh cake when we arrived, great after the car journey. The breakfast was first class and very filling. We would go back again!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I had stayed here 3 years ago and it is still as wonderful as before. We arrived late on the Friday night and were greeted at the gate and showed into our wonderful room. Sequoia house is very quiet considering it's just a short stroll from the centre of town. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have almost everything you could need, a large very comfortable bed, wonderful bathroom (beware the heated rail under the sink though!). The only downside for us was the lack of tea making facilities. When I got very desperate I did wander downstairs and asked if we might have tea brought to our room and the owner was great and brought us a lovely big pot of tea and biscuits, it's just not as convenient as having a kettle in the room (especially if, like me you need a cup of tea first thing in the morning).

In summary, this is a wonderful place to stay in Stratford, but the addition of tea making facilities would make it the only place to stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,650 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton Lodge
Hampton Lodge
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia House

Address: 51 Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sequoia House, a recently restored Victorian town house offering B&B in four individually styled and beautifully appointed guest bedrooms. We are perfectly located near the river,just a picturesque stroll along the Tramway Walk to Stratford's shops,restaurants and world class theatres. Built in 1887,the year Queen Victoria celebrated her Golden Jubilee, the house has an intimate charm that no large hotel can match. Its classic interiors incorporate many period features and superb collection of antique furniture. Home comforts include luxurious beds,crips linens,splendid bathrooms,fluffy towels,home cooked, traditional English breakfast and good old fashioned hospitality. We should point out that our bedrooms are very much technology free, making the ideal retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sequoia House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing