We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wonderful stay at the immaculate Hunter's Moon" (Deb/Trev)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Moon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunters Moon Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful stay at the immaculate Hunter's Moon" (Deb/Trev)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful short break at 'Hunter's Moon'. Gary and Sally were warm, friendly and attentive hosts; who made us feel so welcome and relaxed during our stay. The guest house was immaculate and the decor very up-to-date and appealing to the eye. Our room (room 1) was really comfortable, with crisp, white bedlinen and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast really 'hit the spot' and nothing was too much trouble, with a choice of food from full english, fresh fruits, salmon, cereals, toast, jams, tea, coffee and fruit juices, yummy!
Nicely situated for access to the beautiful Cotswolds and Stratford Upon Avon itself.
Would really recommend it and would definitely book again.
Thank you Sally and Gary!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersmoon, Owner at Hunters Moon Guest House, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi Debbie and Trevor

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoy your stay with us. Have a fantastic Christmas and we'd love to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Sally and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
153
27
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very prompt confirmation of our booking, Gary and Sally are fantastic hosts who were so helpful. whole guest house was absolutely spotless and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was excellent, with good choice of quality foods. Really lovely stay, would recommend and hoping to stay again at some point in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I have just spend a wonderful weekend with family at Stratford-upon- Avon. We arrived at Hunters Moon mid afternoon on the Friday and were shown to our room (room 4) by Gary. He made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of information about local amenities/attractions. Breakfast was all you could wish for with a good selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals etc. followed by about 6 selections of cooked breakfasts with tea, coffee and fruit juices. For those not full to the gunnels toast, jams etc. were also available. ( The diet starts now!!). The location is very handy for the centre being about a 15 minute walk in. Free Wi-Fi and parking was a great bonus. We could not fault anything and will certainly be recommending this wonderful Guest House to friends visiting this lovely area. Thank you both for ensuring we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks a beautifully kept garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linandmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersmoon, Owner at Hunters Moon Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Linda and Mike
Thank you for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed meeting you both and glad you had a good time.

Have a fab time in Vietnam, I'm sure you'll love it.

Kindest regards
Sally and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I attempted to cal the Hunters Moon Guest house today in order to book a room.

We were advised that a vacancy was available and as such that we could book. Upon giving our details, we advised that we would have our 10 week old daughter with us.

To my shock we were told that we could not be accomodated. This was not due to the room being unable to accomodate a child but because she may "make alot of noise" and disturb the other guests.

To find this sort of discrimination in this day and age is utterly abhorrent.

We have since booked to stay at the mecure 4* in the centre of Stratford. I would expect that the hotel with have a few more guests than Hunters Moon but did not seem to feel that any nuisance would be caused by our presence.

Im sure the guest house is lovely and the reviews would indicate this, however the discriminatory practices do not sit well with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CCMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Myself and my partner enjoyed a 4 night stay at Hunters Moon, a perfect base to explore Stratford and the surrounding area, just a 10 minute walk into Stratford and only a short drive from the picturesque Cotswolds. From the moment we arrived both Garry and Sally made us feel very welcome, throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 4 which was bright and airy and overlooked the garden, the decor was very modern and the room was spotlessly clean. The house is decorated beautifully throughout, I particularly liked the breakfast room which had very good use of lighting and a mirrored wall. The full English breakfast was excellent and there was also plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals. An exceptional guest house, with a personal touch and attention to detail, we would definitely recommend to all. Good luck for the future, Claire and Michael.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a lovely view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersmoon, Owner at Hunters Moon Guest House, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi Claire and Michael

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

We wish you all the best
Sally and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've just come back from a wonderful weekend at the Hunters Moon. I and four of my friends booked here for a 2 night motorbiking weekend around Stratford. The owners Gary and Sally couldn't do enough for us and certainly kept us well fed at breakfast with a vast choice of well cooked food. The place is very well appointed and has lots of nice little "luxuries" including a fridge for water and milk in the room.

The property has been refurbished throughout giving it a fresh modern feel.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersmoon, Owner at Hunters Moon Guest House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Paul and Val

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was great meeting you all and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Sally and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My boyfriend booked us a weekend away as a treat and we were both thrilled with our stay at the Hunters Moon.
The owners Sally and Gary were so warm and friendly and made us feel so welcome from the minute that we arrived. The accomodation was fantastic, very boutique style our room was just lovely and the bed was so comfy and the room and ensuite immaculate throughout.
Breakfast was a real treat with lots of choice and nothing to much trouble.
We had a lovely relaxing stay and without a doubt would come back and would highly highly reccommend this beautiful b and b to anyone visiting Stratford upon Avon
Thanks for a lovely stay
Mel and Ste

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwoods34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Moon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Moon Guest House

Property: Hunters Moon Guest House
Address: 150 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunters Moon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hunters Moon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Moon Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing