We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for town and theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonraker Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent two nights at the Moonraker this weekend. It is situated about a 10 minute walk from the town. The owner is friendly and the guest house is very clean. The double room we stayed in was very small with only about 12 inches either side of the bed and with 2 chairs and a small table the room was very cluttered. The en suite was also very tight for space.The decor throughout is old fashioned and the whole place is in need of updating. On the plus side, it was very quiet, it was warm and the shower worked well. We were asked to order breakfast when we arrived and were able to choose when we wanted to have it. Unfortunately, I had asked for a full english minus mushrooms but when it arrived I had mushrooms on my plate. We were asked at the table whether we wanted brown or white toast. We requested white but brown arrived. We waited for some white toast to eat with our fried eggs but by the time it arrived our eggs were cold! The next day our poached eggs were under cooked although the bacon was very nice. Having read the reviews on this site before we booked, we were very disappointed when we were shown to our room. On the board outsde the rooms are advertised as luxury rooms but we do not feel that this is the case.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 160 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

The perfect place to stay if you are visiting Stratford. Amazing value, delicious breakfast, quaint rooms, a real taste of the perfect English guest house. The owners will go out of their way to make sure you are happy, so friendly and helpfull. The stay was an absolute delight !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't ask for more. Walk to town, £3.30 taxi ride back if you're tired our it's cold. Clean, pretty rooms. Nice host. Good price. What else does one need for a night? The bed was comfy too. We stayed in the Oberon room, and it was great. A few stairs, but not too many. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookies003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a two night break in Stratford and stayed at the Moonraker which was a great choice. The location is perfect for getting to all the attractions on foot.

Moonraker is very quaint, clean and the hospitality from Morris and Ruth, the owners, perfect. They really do everything possible to make your stay the best.

We found Moonraker via the web and have no hesitation in recommending this charming, clean and all round lovely place to stay if you visit Stratford. We will definitely stay again if we are in Stratford or the surrounding area.

Thank you very much Morris & Ruth.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which has a small bathroom but is at the back overlooking the garden and lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this cute comfortably located guest house. The room was very clean and cosy with four poster bed and small alcove with tea table. The host was very helpful.
And of course we watched Moonraker James Bond before sleet. We found a few very good films including this one next to the TV.
The only disappointment was the size of the room and its proximity to the common dining area. The four poster bed could hardly fit and in the morning we could hear everything what was going on during breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0_yevgeniya_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights and everything was good. Reasonable price, good location, easy to find. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and the jam is excellent. Our bedroom was cosy, warm and very clean which is just what you need. Our room was cleaned on our first morning and everything was just as you would expect. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. The location is close enough to the train station and town centre but without the noise from being in a tourist town. We highly recommend Moonraker House and we would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kedav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The B&B has a really lovely atmosphere especially during Christmas with all of the decorations, some being handmade by one of the owners, Ruth. The rooms are named after Shakespeare's characters which is sweet and are all very clean, comfortable and of a good size. Breakfast was also great, particularly the homemade jam! Best of all, Ruth and Morris are very welcoming and offer great service. We will definitely go back again and highly recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Penryn Guest House
Penryn Guest House
#11 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#4 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonraker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonraker Guest House

Address: 40 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $98 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonraker Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moonraker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonraker Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing