We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint english B&B run by a very nice Japanese gentleman, close to town, reasonably priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonraker Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint english B&B run by a very nice Japanese gentleman, close to town, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't ask for more. Walk to town, £3.30 taxi ride back if you're tired our it's cold. Clean, pretty rooms. Nice host. Good price. What else does one need for a night? The bed was comfy too. We stayed in the Oberon room, and it was great. A few stairs, but not too many. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookies003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    46
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a two night break in Stratford and stayed at the Moonraker which was a great choice. The location is perfect for getting to all the attractions on foot.

Moonraker is very quaint, clean and the hospitality from Morris and Ruth, the owners, perfect. They really do everything possible to make your stay the best.

We found Moonraker via the web and have no hesitation in recommending this charming, clean and all round lovely place to stay if you visit Stratford. We will definitely stay again if we are in Stratford or the surrounding area.

Thank you very much Morris & Ruth.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which has a small bathroom but is at the back overlooking the garden and lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this cute comfortably located guest house. The room was very clean and cosy with four poster bed and small alcove with tea table. The host was very helpful.
And of course we watched Moonraker James Bond before sleet. We found a few very good films including this one next to the TV.
The only disappointment was the size of the room and its proximity to the common dining area. The four poster bed could hardly fit and in the morning we could hear everything what was going on during breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0_yevgeniya_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights and everything was good. Reasonable price, good location, easy to find. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and the jam is excellent. Our bedroom was cosy, warm and very clean which is just what you need. Our room was cleaned on our first morning and everything was just as you would expect. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. The location is close enough to the train station and town centre but without the noise from being in a tourist town. We highly recommend Moonraker House and we would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kedav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The B&B has a really lovely atmosphere especially during Christmas with all of the decorations, some being handmade by one of the owners, Ruth. The rooms are named after Shakespeare's characters which is sweet and are all very clean, comfortable and of a good size. Breakfast was also great, particularly the homemade jam! Best of all, Ruth and Morris are very welcoming and offer great service. We will definitely go back again and highly recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Moonrakers is simple to find and easy to spot as you approach. The first thing we noticed when we pulled onto the drive were the tasteful Christmas decorations which gave the house a homely, friendly, welcoming appearance. We were met at the door by Morris who, after a very simple registration process, helped us to our room with our luggage and made us feel right at home. Our room was clean, well appointed and extremely comfortable.

The whole weekend was relaxing for us. Moonrakers is in a convenient location just a 10 minute amble down a straight road into the town centre. Morris was very nice to chat with, extremely thoughtful and nothing was too much trouble for him and his staff. On the Saturday I asked for a bottle of Champagne to be chilled while we were out and without prompting he left two flutes in our room - a nice touch.

Breakfast was more than ample, well cooked, very tasty and the poached eggs were spot on. We even noticed small touches like the jam and marmalade pots which were cleaned and refilled each day which is something that does not happen in many larger hotels.

We plan to return to Stratford in the future and would certainly make Moonrakers our first choice to the point where we would be disappointed if there were no rooms at the Inn. Thank you Morris for making our weekend just that little bit more special
Gill & Steve

Room Tip: The rooms are themed on Shakespeare characters- go to the Moonraker's website to see all the dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Myself and my fiancee went here for 1 night for our 7 years together and spent a couple days exploring Stratord upon avon.

The hotel was great, we really found it cosy and the owner was very welcoming and on arrival made us a big jug of coffee, then showed to our room which was a nice size, came with a tv, coffee, tea, kettle etc there is a morrisons 2 mins away if need proper milk or own coffee.

The morning breakfast was great and well set out for when we came down at 9pm, food was nice and well cooked, we left our bags here to 5pm and the owner even asked if we wanted our bags dropped off to the station at a certain time, in which we just decided to pick them up anyways.

All in all would go back and also recommend to many others,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtland Hotel
Courtland Hotel
#21 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mil-Mar
Mil-Mar
#34 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#10 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penryn Guest House
Penryn Guest House
#14 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#6 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonraker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonraker Guest House

Property: Moonraker Guest House
Address: 40 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonraker Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moonraker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonraker Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing