We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value Stratford guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salamander Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salamander Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value Stratford guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Four 60s college reunion bods spent 2 excellent days at the Salamander.
It is ideally situated for Stratford's centre, the breakfast is top quality, and the accommodation was just what we wanted; but importantly Pascal's service is first rate - nothing is too much trouble.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famousbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    84
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
80
96
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights in September. The location is excellent - close to the train station and a short walk to the centre of town. I didn't have the pleasure of meeting the owners as they were on vacation at the time, but Vivian was a wonderful host. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here from the 25th of August to the 27th, so the weather was nice and mild; not too hot.

The location was perfect, and the room was clean and tidy. The breakfast in my opinion was perfect; we didn't have any problem with the portions at all, and the Colombian coffee that Pascal served in a coffee press was to die for. Loved it.

The B&B is minutes away from the train station and from everything else like Shakespeare's House etc. Anne Hathaway's Cottage was a lovely 15 minute walk which was quite nice; we saw quite a few thatched houses.

Pascal made our stay really enjoyable. He was very helpful and informative. He showed us how to get around, gave maps and advice; he even helped us make a phone call to Avis when the Avis in Coventry failed to inform us well in advance that day we chose to pick up our car (which was booked 4 months prior) was a Bank Holiday, so, when we got there they were closed and we were left without a car, and they did't even give us a refund for our money. So don't ever use Avis! Especially the one in Coventry!

So, anyway, all in all, an excellent place to stay. Pascal, thank you so much! We are definitely coming back to stay!

May & Mark
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charmedbyculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This B&B is close to the railway station (walking time 8-10 minutes) and easy walking to the centre of Stratford. It's on a fairly busy road so reasonable amount of traffic noise. The owner was away and we were well looked after by Vivienne. It's clean and tidy, there was hot water every time we wanted to wash / shower. There's free WiFi. Breakfast was fine, just a little unimaginative (cereals, followed by cooked breakfast (1 fried egg, 1 rasher bacon, 1 sausage, 1 half tomato, spoon of baked beans) and toast. Would have liked some fresh fruit / croissant/yogurt - but for the price perhaps shouldn't expect that sort of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penf5904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in July with some family. We'd read the good reviews online before going... my review is mixed!

Firstly... don't expect 5*, that is not what you'll be getting. The B+B itself is not great! The rooms are clean, which as far as we were concerned is first and foremost in importance. Clean bedrooms, ensuites, bedding and towels. However beyond this I dont have much positive feedback.

The weather was warm during our stay and the rooms were STIFLING. A little fan was provided for each room which we left on all the time but this didn't really help. It was a relief to get out each day! We were told on arrival that the shower has no pressure at busy times during the morning, and it didn't. It stopped altogether, on and off. Temperature also changed dramatically (presumably when other guests were using theirs). No helpful in such hot conditions when you want to stay clean!

The host, Pascal, was exactly as others have described him - friendly and full of advice (providing local maps and info etc!) and adding comedy value, which is great as you need to keep a sense of humour staying here... it's pretty Faulty Towers. However did find some of his humour and comments a bit inappropriate - he made comments about how unpleasant it would be to live where we live, also suggested a relative was "trying to earn a crust" doing a job he doesn't envy, and made some rather sexist comments from the minute we arrived (telling the men where the ironing board was "if the women want it", suggesting the men need to park the car, etc etc).

Just another note - there are only a few parking spaces so be prepared to be moving your car to let people out etc. And Pascal would prefer to park the cars himself in order to get more in; he kept asking for our keys.

Breakfast was adequate - cereals and toast provided, and a full English for anybody requesting on though my husband wasn't too impressed with the portions of these (one sausage, one egg, a few bits and that was about it lol).

Overall, we got a good deal on rooms as we booked early - however Pascal made it clear he'd prefer if we cancelled our rooms as he could fill them again at a higher price!! Several comments were made to this effect during our stay which I felt was a bit much.

If you're looking for somewhere clean to stay a few nights, centrally located, this B+B fits the bil - it's not somewhere you'd want to spend a lot of time in your room however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked the family room and found it very well priced, clean and well presented, we had free parking for our car and a lovely breakfast. Our host Pascal was lovely and very happy to help. We were walking distance to a range of pubs, restaurants and shops and had a lovely park just over the road. Highly recommend this as a good bed and breakfast in Stratford upon Avon

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellant b&b, run by the wonderful host Pascel,
this gents a gem, had us in stiches all weekend with his witty banter,
excellant location close to the heart of the town,
reasonably priced ,with free parking to boot,
recommended to all

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d20mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#20 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Faviere Guest House
Faviere Guest House
#22 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Park Guest House
Arden Park Guest House
#32 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#8 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Applegarth
The Applegarth
#19 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#29 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Guest House

Property: Salamander Guest House
Address: 40 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salamander Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian family-run guesthouse located in the town centre and close to all tourists attractions/restaurants. Offering quality en suite bedrooms and freshly cooked breakfast. Free car parking/garaging on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Salamander Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamander Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Salamander Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing