We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussies very well looked after by B&B experts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodstock Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As world travellers themselves, Jackie and Denis know how to make weary Aussie travellers feel welcome and comfortable; they are available and accommodating without being 'in your space'. Denis's breakfasts were delicious. Woodstock Guest House is in walking distance to the centre of S-U-A and most of the Shakespeare attractions and plenty of eateries. Bathrooms are modern and clean and there are some lovely quality lotions and toiletries provided. And a powerful hairdryer - nice! Jackie has a few tricks up her sleeve to save you money - don't forget to ask her. We would definitely stay here again on our next UK trip. Cheers, Jackie and Denis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeanderingMichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you, for all your feed back and taking the time to post a review. thank you.

Hope the rest of your trip went well.

Look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Thanks
Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 548 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We returned to Woodstock as a base for a couple of nights at the theatre after an enjoyable visit last year. It is very convenient for a short walk into town, the rooms are impeccably maintained and we have found Jackie and Dennis to be friendly and helpful. We love the atmosphere in Stratford in the summer and it is complemented perfectly by a stay at this excellent B&B.

Room Tip: Large double on first floor (room 4) is very comfortable, with spacious ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you, to you both for posting a review, its much appreciated, so nice to see you come back to us for another year. That means all are hard work is paying off....

Look forward to seeing you again next year.

kind regards
Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Woodstock Guest House was in the perfect location - just a 5 minute walk from the town centre and the Royal Shakespeare Theatres. Both the owners of the guest house, Jackie and Denis, were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. Prior to us arriving, we phoned on the off chance that we could stay an extra night. Jackie very kindly juggled the rooms to accommodate our stay, which meant that we could stay for the whole bank holiday weekend. When we arrived, they helped us with our bags to our room, and offered to move the car for us so that it was easier for us to drive it out when we left. The room was very cosy and comfortable, and felt like a home away from home. The breakfast itself was lovely, with a range of options to choose from. I have enjoyed the stay at Woodstock so much, that I have booked stay with them in November!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Manager at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hi Emily

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, its much appreciated.

So glad you all felt comfortable, and enjoyed your break away.

Look forward to seeing you again, later in the year.

Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

INCREDIBLY accommodating and helpful. When we got into our room, we felt like we were home, as they had our bed set up, as well as a crib for our infant, a bed for our toddler, and a separate room for our in-laws. Super clean, and excellent location. Just a 5 minute walk to the hub of the town, and you're also near a park that is right next to a police station, so the area is safe (not like SUA is seedy anyways). Breakfast was amazing, they gave great directions for a beautiful ride out, and were just really hospitable. This is the epitome of why you would choose a B and B over a Hotel. If you're looking in SUA and there is availability, book!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank andrews510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Wonderful, review, Thank you everyone.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay & like the town.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes
Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had stayed there 5 years ago and now I came with my husband and we confirmed what a great bed and breakfast this is! Perfect location to visit Stratford attractions, quiet, extremely cosy and comfortable rooms, and fantastic breakfast! (Thank you, Denis!). Jackie is always ready to help with advice, bookings and any of those unexpected things that travellers need. Most importantly, she does this with a big smile. If we ever return to this area we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for a great review, so lovely to meet your husband. Glad you enjoyed your stay again x

Hope to see both again in the near future ( hopefully before 5 years)

take care
Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Words cannot fully describe how perfect this 2 night break turned out to be. From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be fantastic. Due to work and traffic, Jackie and Denis kindly waited later for us to arrive, before introducing us to the town and a recommendation for dinner that evening. The guest house is perfectly located to see everything that Stratford-upon-Avon is famous for. All we can say is thank you so much for a weekend we will never forget.

Room Tip: Each and every room looked perfect so which ever one you go for, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you both for taking the time to write a review, we are so happy you had a great time, and one anniversary you will not forget.

Thank you

Denis & jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Absolutely fabulous!
Excellent and friendly service!
Best English breakfast in Stratford!
Very comfortable beds!
Double glazing! Very quiet!
Fresh and clean!
I don't know what more you can ask for?
Very helpful with restaurant bookings, what to do and discount tickets to different arrangements.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Hi Jan
Wonderful to have you all stay with us again, we are very pleased you all had a great fun time.

look forward to seeing you all in November.

thanks
Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,864 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#4 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Guest House

Address: 30 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $97 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodstock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock House is a beautiful and carefully maintained Edwardian Town House built in 1910 for the Retirement of George Arbuthnot, the Vicar of Holy Trinity Church. Denis and Jackie offer very comfortable accommodation with excellent full English breakfast and secure FREE on-site parking. FREE Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodstock Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing