We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Me and my husband stay for only one night in a grand double room, we wish we could have stayed longer as the room was superb and the staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast were the waiters couldn't do enough for us, cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    405
    110
    46
    17
See reviews for
190
951
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel is superb will definitely stay again. Very smart with d world romance, a perfect fusion. Food fantastic a very talented chef, some of the best food eaten in a long while. Staff went the extra mile for our anniversary, thank you. A last minute pick and worth every penny. Come you won't be disappointed, if there are niggles point them out, they will get sorted.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The staff are very good (except for one bar staff male). The dinner menu was the same each evening and very very poor so we tried the al a carte at extra cost not good and not worth the extra. It is basically a pub so in the lunchtime and evening the sitting room was full of pub-visitors and no place for residents particularly in the evening. It was not possible have the same dining table as the staff allowed others to sit at your table even though they had reserved the tables with your name on. Downstairs seating area when available was not clean.
The lift was dangerous with a broken bar which came off when held for support. The toilet seat was broken. Sorry we went - won't go again. Regarding the food noone i spoke to said it was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I came to Stratford-upon-Avon for a short break and stayed at The White Swan for 3 nights. I arrived early and left my luggage at reception as my room was not ready. When I returned the receptionist told me that as I was staying for 3 nights she would upgrade me to a Grand room, free of charge. The room was lovely - fabulous decor and bathroom. In fact great decor throughout the hotel. Only negatives were the cupboard - it was tiny and mostly taken up by the ironing board (very nice touch) and two bulky towelling gowns (also very nice), also there were no shelves/drawers. Once I removed the gowns there was nowhere to put them as there are no hooks in the bathroom. There are, oddly, hooks on the wall either side of the bed, but I don't particularly want bulky towelling gowns hanging on the wall! The other negative was the lack of view - the room overlooked the back of The Picturehouse and an area where some of the staff congregate to chat and smoke on breaks. On the bright side the room faces west so you do get the afternoon sun! Some other very nice touches included a proper salon quality hairdryer and complimentary still and sparkling water and softdrinks, replenished each day.
Breakfast was nice - not the biggest selection on the buffet and orange juice was clearly from a carton, but the mini croissants were nice. no granola, which I thought was ubiquitous these days! Pity they chose to use the darkest part of the restaurant for breakfast though - I got into trouble for not waiting to be seated and seating myself in a brighter part of the restaurant! I had an evening meal in the bar area one night. The food was delicious - the same menu as the restaurant - and the set menu is very good value, but I can't help thinking a simpler bar menu would be more appropriate as not everyone wants fine dining every night.
Would I stay here again? Probably, but I would eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view if that's what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

When we inquired about booking rooms Matthew the receptionist had no hesitation in showing us a classic and a grand room so we could see the quality of the rooms we were booking. From the moment of arrival to departure the staff did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were of a very good standard, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The service in the bar/lounge and the restaurant was extremely friendly and efficient. Many thanks to Antonio. The food in the restaurant was high quality and beautifully presented. Nothing was too much for the staff. Breakfast was once again of high quality and attention was paid to detail. Staying at this hotel we felt that we were "GUESTS" rather than just customers. We would have no hesitation in recommending The White Swan to anybody visiting Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Me and my husband was looking at reviews for places to eat in stratford upon avon, not impressed with most until we saw the white swan. I have always wanted to eat there and im very glad we did. The waiters were very friendly and nice. We ordered the two courses and it was lovely my husbands pork chop was the best he has ever had, big thanks to the chef, waiters and the lovely food and beverage manager. Will be back very soon cant wait.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluny, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed in Hamlet Room which was beautiful and comfortable. Friendly reception - we followed advice to use hotel parking which is a couple of blocks away, however, the public lot adjoining the hotel is much closer and only £3 more. We also dined in the hotel - dinner was pretty good (not excellent) but the dining room provides a really nice atmosphere. Breakfast was in the same dining room and was excellent - only small complaint is that we could hear all of the employees talking and cleaning the bar taps all through breakfast which was a bit annoying. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the original "theme" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing