We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel in the heart of Stratford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in the heart of Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was a lovely Hotel in a great location. The hotel was very comfotable and the room was beautifully decorated and fitted with many modcons such as free wifi .flat screen TV and large walk-in shower.The staff were very helpful and allowed us to use a disabled space so that I didnt have too far to walk.Despite the age of the building there was a lift that allowed those,who like me are less able, to access the higher floors.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a grand double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    391
    107
    45
    16
See reviews for
173
908
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

DIdn't stay at the hotel but had lunch here. The staff are excellent without being obtrusive, the atmosphere is wonderful and warming. The food was very good very generous portions for a good price, lovely selection of wines to choose from. Overall a wonderful experience and I will return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at The White Swan in September 2012 for 3 nights. It was a truly wonderful experience! The White Swan itself is a beautiful, historic establishment dating back to 1450. The position is fantastic - just steps away from the pedestrian shopping mall and attractions such as Shakespeare's Birthplace. The food is beyond delicious! Every meal I had was amazing. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. I really appreciated the fresh milk and free water & soft drink in the fridge. I cannot praise the staff at The White Swan highly enough. They went out of their way to make my stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Special thanks from Lindy-Lou to Rachael Lobb on Reception; the lovely Sarah Jane, who was always so willing to help; Chris in the fabulous restaurant; and Jim, the Manager. Special thanks also to Thomas - what a joy this young man is! Great positive attitude and always willing to help. I would highly recommend The White Swan to anyone wanting a truly memorable stay in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Room Tip: The airconditioner in the room was quite cold, but the Manager did everything he could to rectify th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy-Lou-Australia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Apart from the quite beautiful room, we had a good breakfast and all the little touches made this hotel memorable. Real milk in the fridge was much appreciated, as were the biscuits and free bottles of water and soft drinks in the room fridge. Super big bed! Highly recommended if coming to Startford.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieKidwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A wonderful weekend spent here before Christmas. The White Swan is directly in town. All the staff are incredibly attentive. We stayed in the character room 'Romeo and Julliet'. We had mulled wine in the bar. We had a delicious breakfast. I go to Stratford upon Avon every year as I enjoy the 'Christmas markets', but I have never stayed here before, this will be my first choice evry year. Just wonderful :)

Room Tip: Any of the character rooms are just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

You must visit The White Swan. My husband and I spent our 1st Wedding Anniversary here. We stayed in the Macbeth room - Dark red walls, four poster bed, roll top bath - very sumptuous! The Macbeth room is positioned at the front of the Hotel (old part) over looking the road. I've read reviews on here regarding noise levels, but to be honest we didnt find it a problem. From arrival to departure we loved every minute of visiting Stratford - and the Hotel was the icing on the cake. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. There is a good choice at Breakfast - fresh fruit, juices, cereals, cold meats, cheeses and also several cooked choices - plenty to kick start the day. We also ate at the Hotel one evening and the meal was superb and a wonderful choice of wines too.

We would certainly revisit. Trying another themed room next time.....Twelth Night I think!! The Hotel has been refurbished to an excellent standard. Very tasteful, wonderful open fires, comfy seating, great decor, yet managing to keep the beauty of the beams and character.

We visited end of November and the hotel was decked out for Christmas - beautiful - which just added to the ambience - open log fires, with a glass of something warming - just perfect!!

Go....Visit....Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsonsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

When we opened the door to our hotel room (Twelfth Night), we were greeted by an view that I would think exist in 15th Century. The timber flooring, black wooden beam and extremely high bed. One word, Awesome. We were pleasantly surprised that the shower area can actually accommodate 2 person, except the knobs were kinda difficult to figure out. It's a shame that we do not have time to use the copper bath tub. While we were not very pleased that we parked in the wrong carpark for the night, and the lift was quite a distance away from our room, we like the feel of the hotel. The food served by the restaurant was extremely delicious as well.

Room Tip: If you drive, please remember to park at the correct carpark directed by the receptionist. The cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLS7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing