We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, fantastic staff, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at The White Swan in September 2012 for 3 nights. It was a truly wonderful experience! The White Swan itself is a beautiful, historic establishment dating back to 1450. The position is fantastic - just steps away from the pedestrian shopping mall and attractions such as Shakespeare's Birthplace. The food is beyond delicious! Every meal I had was amazing. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. I really appreciated the fresh milk and free water & soft drink in the fridge. I cannot praise the staff at The White Swan highly enough. They went out of their way to make my stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Special thanks from Lindy-Lou to Rachael Lobb on Reception; the lovely Sarah Jane, who was always so willing to help; Chris in the fabulous restaurant; and Jim, the Manager. Special thanks also to Thomas - what a joy this young man is! Great positive attitude and always willing to help. I would highly recommend The White Swan to anyone wanting a truly memorable stay in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Room Tip: The airconditioner in the room was quite cold, but the Manager did everything he could to rectify th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindy-Lou-Australia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Apart from the quite beautiful room, we had a good breakfast and all the little touches made this hotel memorable. Real milk in the fridge was much appreciated, as were the biscuits and free bottles of water and soft drinks in the room fridge. Super big bed! Highly recommended if coming to Startford.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieKidwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A wonderful weekend spent here before Christmas. The White Swan is directly in town. All the staff are incredibly attentive. We stayed in the character room 'Romeo and Julliet'. We had mulled wine in the bar. We had a delicious breakfast. I go to Stratford upon Avon every year as I enjoy the 'Christmas markets', but I have never stayed here before, this will be my first choice evry year. Just wonderful :)

Room Tip: Any of the character rooms are just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

You must visit The White Swan. My husband and I spent our 1st Wedding Anniversary here. We stayed in the Macbeth room - Dark red walls, four poster bed, roll top bath - very sumptuous! The Macbeth room is positioned at the front of the Hotel (old part) over looking the road. I've read reviews on here regarding noise levels, but to be honest we didnt find it a problem. From arrival to departure we loved every minute of visiting Stratford - and the Hotel was the icing on the cake. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. There is a good choice at Breakfast - fresh fruit, juices, cereals, cold meats, cheeses and also several cooked choices - plenty to kick start the day. We also ate at the Hotel one evening and the meal was superb and a wonderful choice of wines too.

We would certainly revisit. Trying another themed room next time.....Twelth Night I think!! The Hotel has been refurbished to an excellent standard. Very tasteful, wonderful open fires, comfy seating, great decor, yet managing to keep the beauty of the beams and character.

We visited end of November and the hotel was decked out for Christmas - beautiful - which just added to the ambience - open log fires, with a glass of something warming - just perfect!!

Go....Visit....Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsonsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

When we opened the door to our hotel room (Twelfth Night), we were greeted by an view that I would think exist in 15th Century. The timber flooring, black wooden beam and extremely high bed. One word, Awesome. We were pleasantly surprised that the shower area can actually accommodate 2 person, except the knobs were kinda difficult to figure out. It's a shame that we do not have time to use the copper bath tub. While we were not very pleased that we parked in the wrong carpark for the night, and the lift was quite a distance away from our room, we like the feel of the hotel. The food served by the restaurant was extremely delicious as well.

Room Tip: If you drive, please remember to park at the correct carpark directed by the receptionist. The cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLS7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a very nice stop in the white swan hotel.
The room was very nice but very cold it felt very spooky!.(Romeo and juliet)
The staff did offer us an heater but i dont like dry heat so didnt bother.
Bed was as little bit hard.Not alot of hanging space for cloths and the wordrobe door drove me made as it sqeeked everytime we opened the door.
The room was on the front in the old part of the hotel and on the main road but was very quite.
Complimenrtary soft drinks in fridge and milk.
Bathroom really nice, nice big free standing bath, and a powerfull walk in shower.
Breakfast nice but not hot enough for me, i like my food really hot and it was only just warm.
Was not allowed into our room untill dead on 3pm.Parking £8 per day but if like us arrived before 3pm we had to pay an extra £5 for parking.
Some of the staff seemed a bit mardy.
But all in all a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netherfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my partner recently stayed at this hotel ........and can't wait to return. The hotel was immaculate from top to bottom. Designed with impeccable taste and to a very high standard. The staff could not have been more helpful and attended to our every need. The room was faultless and kept in line with the hotels high standard of fixtures and fittings. A nice and peaceful nights sleep! We ate in the restaurant twice and thoroughly enjoyed every mouthfull. The food is a real attribute to The White Swan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebodthatisthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
911 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $102 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing