We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

stayed for 3 nights , from start to finish no complaints , friendly at the point of booking in , room 124 was lovely very modern walk in shower all the facilities you need large TV, tea making facilities , hair-dryer . we had bed and breakfast and the choice was excellent besides a choice of full English there was smoked salmon eggs royal and haddock omelette plus the continental as well if that doesn't give you enough choice then i don't know what you want . will recommend this hotel and hope to go back again if we are visiting Stratford again .if you have trouble with stairs though this would be a problem as i didn't see a lift i might be wrong though so ask .the dining rooms and the old pub at the front are all oak beams and fabulous old charm .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StokeOnTrentMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,868 - 1,874 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and must say great location (car park just around the corner).

Great breakfast, staff friendly and atmosphere in pub good. Room lighting poor however bed outstanding!!!

Hit the two Mop days when the town is filled with a funfair - avoid unless you are under 16

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our room at the White Swan had obviously been recently renovated and although small, was gorgeous. The design complimented the timbered beams and period architecture of the building. The bathroom was immaculate and rooms have their own temperature control so despite single-glazed windows, we were very warm. There was a safe for personal belongings as well as an iron and ironing board.

The hotel is within walking distance of all of the sights and, as noted by other Trip Advisor reviews, parking is just a few minutes away. Parking should not deter you from staying here as the car park is just around the corner. Given the sheer number of tourists who mob Stratford-upon-Avon, we did not think £8 for 24-hours of parking was unreasonable.

We had a nice Sunday roast at the hotel (although they forgot the Yorkshire Pudding) in the candlelit dinner room just off the main pub. Breakfast was equally delicious with a good selection of cold cereal and fruit to accompany the hot cooked breakfast of your choice. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were amazing and very friendly.

One downside, I was disappointed overall in our room as I had booked and paid for a Grand Double room. When we arrived home, I checked and their website clearly indicates that these rooms have deep roll-top baths, which ours did not. I have a feeling that we paid for the upgrade but ended up in a ‘character room’. That said, overall, the White Swan was a great find and nice weekend away. Cite the Trip Advisor code and they will take 10% off the room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feet-to-pavement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

What can I say? Beautiful place, we had a very good time.
This is what you have in mind when you think of a tipical english pub. All made of wood, low ceiling, warm atmosphere...
The waitresses are charming
The food is very good, well served, pretty to the eye and really good.
Prices are normal, around £12 a person.
I will surely and gladly come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank harmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked this hotel for my sister in laws Hen Do and what a fantastic time was had by all! The hotel is perfectly central in Stratford upon Avon which is great for the theatre/restaurants and bars! When i had first looked at hotels in Stratford upon Avon i was a little hesitant about booking the White Swan as it had recently undergone renovation, when we stayed it had only been reopened for around 6 weeks so i was a naturally a little wary...

HOWEVER it is very clear to see where the £3M refurb money was spent - the hotel is just beautiful, from the entrance hall, to the rooms, to the bathrooms, and down to the bar/restaurant.. We were a group of 14 and they kindly set up one of the board rooms for breakfast so that we all had our own private area to eat - just perfect!

Definitely bear in mind the parking - which is about a 3-4 minute walk away. You have to get a token from the man on duty so just be prepared - however it really isn't far away! Just make sure you know where you're going as there are lots of one way systems!

Very reasonably priced for the quality of the hotel and highly recommended - the bride loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed weekend Friday 5th October and found a superb hotel (circa 1450) with the warmest of welcomes.
The reception staff were so helpfull, as indeed was everyone else. Our "Classic Room", could be described as on the small side but was perfect in terms of warmth, decoration and cleanliness. The timbered bar area and resteraunt reflected the historic nature of the hotel which suported by the service staff made the experience all the better. It has often been my experience in other hotels that customer facing staff can be everage to poor, however, the bar staff as with the resteraunt team were all so happy and helpfull as were the supervisors/managers who were all service driven and in evidence at all times.
Nothing was too much "what a find".

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had pre read the reviews and had noted the car park was £8 extra per day and a short walk away, some reviews say its ten mins away, maybe if your old or have walking issues I can see it being a pain and may take you that long, but I'm 37 and its a 4 min walk. However there is one small loading bay outside the hotel which when we turned up had a lorry parked in it unloading for the shop next door and as you can't use the car park untill you check in and pick up a voucher to put in the window, it ment we had to pay £1 to park in the public car park in the square just outside the hotel to unload the suitcases, not the end of the world, however, we arrived at 2.20pm, 40 mins before official check in, so we did not expext to be able to go to the room, they took the suitcases , gave us the parking voucher and we went to move the car to the official car park. Arrived at the official car park at 2.40pm to be told by a grumpy man in a booth that the £8 fee covered us from 3pm only so we would have to pay him cash for 1 hour of parking to be able to park 20 mins early. This I did not like and left a bad taste in my mouth, I told him I'd rather waste 20 mins driving round than satisfy his jobs worth behaviour. We still had our £1 parking ticket for the square, so we went back there, had a drink in a near by pub and then returned to park the car at 3.10pm. We then checked in to collect the room key, I did mention the parking and unloading of suitcases was a pain, but the receptionist thought I was complaining about the walking distance and just brushed me off and started serving the next person. I'm glad I did not walk away as the room and hotel are lovely, one night I asked for 2 champagne glasses and that was not an issue, the 2 breakfasts we had tasted lovely and were not too large or small, the only issue we had was that we were asked if we wanted white or brown toast or a mixture, we went for a mix as one likes white and the other brown, we recieved a mix of one white and 5 brown, I can live with that and it was the only issue food or drink wise we had, however , we were lucky, the waiters bringing the food out have no idea what table the food is for, they walk round to see who is looking the most expectant and go to that table, if the food is wrong they try the next most expectant customer. The table next us actually took the wrong order knowingly just so they could get some food. Another poor couple asked for tea and coffee, after asking 3 different waiters, one of which seemed to be the floor manager and she was asked 3 times during our 30 min breakfast, they were still waiting on the tea when we left, there just seemed to be no record of what table ordered what and a lot of people mentioned this. Apart from the parking issues caused during check in, our stay was lovely and we would happily stay again, the room 101 was large and well equipped and the bed was very hard to get out of in the morning, you honestly could get lost in. Ment you wake up feeling very well rested. On the second morning we asked for a local map and the gentlemen not only gave us one but opened it up and showed us not only the best routes to places we were going to, but also drew stars to highlight restaurant areas and made recommendations on ones he has eaten in, even suggesting menu items that he thought were standout meals, I found him to be very polite, professional, knowledgeable and we took his recommendation to try a restaurant called No9 and it was truly a wonderful dinner and exactly as he said a short walk to the RSC for the play that evening.So to summaries, a lovely central hotel that we would use again, a new system in the restaurant is need and perhaps the ability to pre print at home a parking voucher so you can go straight there, drop the car off and check in and some flexibility to park without extra charge if you arrive say up to an hour early.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randomtext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,898 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $106 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing