We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at The White Swan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just got back from a bank holiday stay at The White Swan Stratford uopn Avon it was our first stay here but not in a fullers ales property that was one of our reasons for booking because they are really nice. The Swan has only just opened after a re-fit and it is the lovely. The location is excellent right in the market square everthing is only a couple of minutes walk away. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every minute. We were put in room 110 which on first entering i found rather small there was only a small gap between the bed and the wall so made getting round the room a struggle, it wasnt too bad for me as i am small but someone of a larger size would struggle, when i opened the window we overlooked what i first thought was a heating system which was quite noisy with the window open, but i later think that it was maybe some thing to do with the kitchens as it went off about midnight but came back on in the morning, if i am honest it didnt bother us as there was a chill in the air so we closed the windows but in the summer and for someone who likes to sleep with the window open they could be woken when it kicks in again first thing in the morning. The decor of the room was lovely with a mural of a lady and a swan across one wall, there was plenty of space for clothes although no drawers. Tea and coffee making facilities,tv, a ironing board and iron and a hairdryer there was also a small mini fridge with complimentry water and small cans of juice and pop.One thing that was lacking was a full length mirror, which us ladies do like to have. Even though i would have liked the room to be a little larger it didnt ruin our stay, that was sorted once i walked in the bathroom...wow...it was large and spacious with the most amazing rain shower...once i was in it, my husband struggled to get me out it was great. The downstairs bar area and restaurant was nicely done with the right amount of tables and comfy sofas, the decor was in keeping with Stratford and had quotes and pictures of shakespear on the walls, the background music was just at the right level for talking. The food was very nice but i have asked if they could look at maybe having a chicken option on the main menu, they did have one on the set menu but i couldnt have it as it all had to go through on the till as the set menu and i wasnt in the mood for a two or three course meal, the only other options were fish and chips and various dishes with lamb or beef...i think fullers need to just look at the menu again as even though i eat red meat, a lot of people dont so there options are limited. I finally had the fish and chips which was very nice. Breakfast was just as good, with lots to choose from. All the staff were really nice, and helpful We would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suepd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,864 - 1,870 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel has had a fortune spent on it and everything has been refurbished to a high standard - the position is excellent and the rooms modern and well appointed BUT......

The restuarant is a shambles with long delays, wrong and and forgotten food orders served (eventually) by staff with no direction or idea as to what to do. Both our dinner and breakfast were disasters and the general experience a very forgettable one (even one of the staff said this to us!!).

Find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Staff training requires significant attention. Waitress not friendly, unclear about menu - whether sandwich could be without sauce.
Meal served after long wait, maybe they were slaughtering the meat?!
Steak served pink despite no question about how it was wanted.
Children's meal served without veg... Supervisor advised there was no veg with it, showed her the menu and "garden greens" arrived after child had finished eating (see photo!)
Will not be coming back this side of Armageddon (this is one if the worst places I have eaten - ever!)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twink_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for valentines day, we had a nice room but felt we walked 5 miles down the little winding corridors, which we actually found really nice! The room was pleasant and light, the view however was of the carpark, but what can you do about city hotels?
We found the location to be a great base to explore the city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammts117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Decided to drop in for a drink after wondering around Stratford for the afternoon.
What a great decision. Beer was good and bar was very plush and comfortable. Virtually all the tables were reserved for dinner... Think that says enough!

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, having just stayed in this newly refurbished hotel I was amazed at the transformation from what it was, to what is now, it is now a hotel full of charm and warmth. Great care has been taken in restoring this wonderful hotel to it's former glory.
The food is excellent - try the cottage pie ~ delicious, and the puddings are to die for. Breakfast in the morning is well worth getting up for.
All the staff I met went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJSouthWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

For Sue and me, the White Swan has a special place in our hearts - we spent the first night of our honeymoon there in 1966. Since then, on occasional visits to Stratford, we've noticed how the hotel seemed to have become somewhat down at heel. Not any more!

We decided to just pop in for a drink, for old time's sake, on April 21st and ended staying for a truly outstanding meal, with excellent, friendly service in inspired surroundings of very high quality.

There were four of us in the party, and we each found our meal to be exceptionally good. My roast beef was probably as good if not better than any I've ever enjoyed - the chef, Adrian, later explained that as well as having worked with that chef who swears a lot (sorry, can't recall his name) he has a super-duper £20,000 oven that helps him achieve wonders.

My beef, for example, was as thick-cut as a steak, cut from a sirloin and as tender, pink, juicy and tasty as I could have wished for. Sue's chicken was equally good, moist and tasty, with vegetables which were also perfectly judged. Our two friends each chose the haddock for the main course, and these looked absolutely wonderful - white and flakey fish in a lovely crisp batter. I have to say they looked good, because they didn't offer us the chance of a mouthful!

Starters were equally special: really, really good deviled whitebait for me and Dave, and the puddings kept up the standard with three really amazing knickerbocker glories (if there was an Olympic gold for such things, these would have walked away with it) and a delightful lemon meringue for Sue.

We were very well served by Nicky and everyone else on the team, and were given a peek into one of the refurbished rooms in the part of the hotel we stayed in 46 years ago. It looked really lovely, as did all the communal areas. I think I now know where Sue and I would love to spend our 50th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeMoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
910 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $100 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing