We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had a 2 night stay. Feedback as follows :-

HOTEL ----- GOOD POINTS.
* Very clean.
* Very warm.
* Lovely food in restaurant, including cream tea.
* Breakfast offered everything you could need and as much as you need.
* Friendly staff.
* Beautiful building including buildings separate to main building. Main building; full of character.

HOTEL ----- BAD POINTS.
* Little more attention required for guests having cream teas. All 3 couples had to find a member of staff to request another pot. Cream was delicious though. Minor issue but this is a 4* hotel.
* Expensive drinks. 2 glasses of Southern Comfort and lemonade was £13.00. The lemonade was from a large bottle and was the last bit. It was flat and very warm. The drinks were certainly not worth the price.


ROOM 60 ----- GOOD POINTS.
* Massive room in a separate building from the main one.
* Very clean.
* Very cosy and warm.
* Being a theatre fan I loved the pictures of different plays and musicals.
* Had bath and a shower. Plenty of hot water.
* Big comfy bed.
* Sofa and writing desk.
* Lots of hangers, and plenty of space to hang clothes.
* Full length mirror.
* Quiet. It is the first hotel I have stayed in where I had no need to wear ear-plugs to prevent being woken up by slamming doors, other guests, building work, staff or delivery vans. Sheer bliss.

ROOM 60 ----- BAD.
* Too dark. This is not just relating to this hotel though. All hotel rooms everywhere are too dark. I know it adds to the atmosphere, but I would prefer more light.


SPA/POOL AREA ----- GOOD.

* Lovely pool. not massive but fine.
* Clean in pool area.
* Nice sauna/steam room.
* Plenty of seating around pool.
* Quiet and relaxing.
* Children's swim times allocated.
* Warm in pool area.
* Towel provided - ensure you take a pound for a locker.
* Swimsuit spin dryer and bag for costume.
* Private changing room available.
* Free tea/coffee & water.
* Good treatment. Waxing.

SPA/POOL AREA ----- BAD POINTS.
* I do appreciate the offer of these free hot drinks but they were luke warm tea and coffee provided. It is wonderful that there is free hot drinks, but the jugs do not retain the heat so the drinks are cold (and the jugs were quite full). It would be better to have just a hot water machine.
* Showers were a little grubby.
* It was impossible getting through to the Spa to book a treatment in the beauty section prior to arrival. I phoned for a week but the phones were never answered. I left 2 messages asking for a call back, but they were ignored. In the end I phoned Customer Service in desperation. They promised to get someone to return my call. A few minutes later I was called by a member of the Spa and I booked a treatment. When I asked why my messages had been ignored, I was told 'we are very busy'. Not what a customer wants to hear when they are trying to book a relaxing weekend away as they too are busy.


I have awarded 4 stars, 1 star missing for the bad feedback I have listed. HOWEVER, none of this ruined our stay in anyway and all the good points far outweighed all the niggles.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. We will definitely return and would recommend a visit. It was so relaxing and just what we needed.

Very happy, and thank you to everyone at Billesley Manor Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROODLES999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed and objective review. I will ensure that your points are shared with the team and we will certainly take on board such constructive feedback.

Thank you for your recommendation and am pleased you had such a wonderful stay at Billesley Manor and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    621
    336
    207
    116
See reviews for
233
1,178
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We booked a 2 night stay with a meal in the restaurant on the first night and an afternoon tea on next day. The restaurant food was very disappointing, with a fish bone found in the appetiser mousse also a bone in the flaked ham hock, too much meat and not enough veg for my taste and not overly warm. The afternoon tea was ok but smoked salmon sandwiches had huge chunks of smoked salmon which somewhat ruins the delicacy of the food. The food in the bar was good presumably the same kitchen but they weren't able to take a simple instruction as to no bun for the chicken burger not a major but it makes the feeling of lack of care from the kitchen. Others seem to have enjoyed the food in the restaurant so maybe we were just unlucky. The service, bar and reception staff were great although the waiter was somewhat rushed in the restaurant. The area is lovely and there is a lovely little chapel that is worth a visit the reception will give you the key. It is a short drive to Stratord on Avon which is definately worth going to and was the reason for our visit and ideally situated in this respect. Our accommodation was not in the main hotel and the radiators were off when we arrived so it felt like a cool reception but the room was clean with a lovely large bed. We didn't use the spa so cannot comment on what that was like.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21MandyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for your review following your recent stay. I am sorry that your dinning experience on this occasion did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that you found the members of the team to be great. I do hope that you will return again and enjoy your stay to the full.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you are planning on a relaxing visit to the Spa please be "warned" that after 2 pm EVERY day
children will be using the swimming pool!! It was a special birthday treat with my 2 daughters and after us all having a lovely massage went into the pool area. Half the pool was full of parents/young children. We were "never" told this at time of booking and after searching their website we only found a link that stated Kids Fun Time in Pool on "Sundays 2-5 pm!! Phoned to complain and gave them my email and after two weeks have not heard a thing!! IF we had known about this we would have made the booking for an a.m. visit!! We "weaved" our way through everyone in the Pool and straight out the other end, used steam/sauna then dressed and left.....only a 2 hr visit......not what we'd planned at all.

Room Tip: not applicable.....used Spa
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I am sorry that you did not find your visit to the Spa and Leisure club to be the relaxed experience you had expected. We do have specific times where children are permitted to use the pool and am sorry that on this occasion it caused inconvenience.

I do hope that you enjoyed your treatments and that you will return again in the future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole united kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay with my daughter at the Billesley Manor. We have nothing but praise with the food, service, the room and the beautiful surroundings. Our room overlooked the topiary garden & tennis courts. On the first night we had a three course meal as part of the deal and on the second day we had an Afternoon tea, also included, both were excellent.

We enjoyed being slightly outside of Stratford as it was a pleasure to return to enjoy the gardens. Unfortunately we didn't manage to use the swimming facilities which would have made the short break complete.

I certainly would recomend this hotel and would like to return there again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your post following your stay at Billesley Manor with your daughter. I was pleased to read that you had such an excellent time and thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Defiantly room for improvement. Use budget food for breakfast and toaster nearly caught fire and I had to call a waiter to turn off and open all windows. I think toaster could do with attention. Probably needs cleaning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brendaandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for your post and I have passed your comments in regard to breakfast on to the team.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just returned from Billesley Manor after having a 3 night dinner, bed and breakfast stay with our 2 children (aged 14/11). The hotel was stunning, the rooms very clean, and the dinner service was exceptional! (thank you Lorenzo). There was a good choice at breakfast and the Hotel Grounds were lovely.

The children went swimming every day, played tennis every day and we were made to feel very welcome. Being on the edge of Stratford, we were able to enjoy the Cotswolds, and took a trip into Leamington Spa ( for shopping).

Wonderful family time, lovely hotel and great service, would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of your family break at Billesley Manor, I am pleased that you all had such a good time and were able to enjoy all our facilities. I will certainly share your review with the team.

Thanks for your recommendation and I hope you will return again in the future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend break at the manor and I have to admit after reading quite a few negative trip advisor updates and initially experiencing issues with getting a response to an email enquiry from both the reception and the manager, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found. We climbed the charming narrow staircase in the manor house and on opening the door to our room, we were stunned at how lovely it was. It had original wall panelling and a four poster bed with a view of the garden. The bathroom was average but was clean and the shower was nice and powerful. We had a 3 course dinner with wine as part of our deal in the Stuart restaurant where we were met with very friendly and smiley staff. There were about 5 starters to choose from such as mackerel pate, curried cauliflower soup, salmon and about 6 main courses such as gnocchi, pan fried chicken, steak, fish and about 4 desserts such as blueberry creme brûlée and white chocolate cheesecake. The food was absolutely beautiful and the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed. We managed to get a seat in the small bar, the drinks were expensive but average for a 4* hotel. We ate breakfast early on both days so we didn't experience any issues with food running out however we did pass the breakfast room later on and it did look very busy. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and we had a meander around the lovely topiary garden afterwards. We used the pool, steam room and sauna on our last day which were all lovely; there were plenty of loungers around the pool and we could've lay there all day. The manor house itself is grand, beautifully charming and retains many original features. The only complaints would be that the reception staff could be a little more welcoming and also make a point of telling us there was a code to get out of the security barrier attached to our room documents as we didn't discover this until driving up to the barrier and having to reverse all the way back. All in all we had a great stay and would definitely go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank summersun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review and also for the photos of Billesley Manor. It is always great to see from a guest point of view. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo
Billesley Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing