We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just got back from a pleasant and relaxing stay, lovely building with beautiful grounds and topiary garden, yes, it's looking a bit tired inside but with a little TLC can be brought back to a high standard, we had a meal off the a la carte menu on the Saturday evening which tasted amazing, was well presented with good service, the breakfasts were also good, I don't get what people are complaining about on here but each to their own? we also had an afternoon tea on the Sunday, again, really lovely.
It's well worth upgrading to a superior room, we stayed in room 34, which we thought was the best position, listening to the birds directly overlooking the topiary garden, peaceful, spacious, with a modern bathroom (with 'proper' toilet roll, see previous reviews) and a lovely huge bed! If we were to go back we would ask for this room again.
Overall we had a really relaxing stay with good food and a lovely room but just feel a little spruce up is needed in some areas, a few members of staff could be a little friendlier and in need of a bit more training to bring it up to a better standard, this place has great potential, we would love to revisit, hopefully by then it could be given an 'excellent' rating.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jasmine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your relaxing weekend break at Billesley Manor Hotel. We do have such wonderful grounds and views which are amazing. I do hope that next time you stay you would be happy to give us an excellent rating. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,304 - 1,310 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked as a treat for my husband. Despite being double charged for my room initially (which was resolved eventually and was Puma central reservations issue, not Billesley's to be fair) we arrived to a warmish welcome yet a poor room. we were assigned a room in the main house extension which was drab to say the least. Billsley, please make these rooms a little warmer! Some artwork or better lighting? Bathroom wad lovely however. Hotel in general, whilst a beautiful building, looked a bit worn out and tired. Spa, again, lovely but needed some love - lockers broken in changing room for example. Breakfast was awful, food all ran out and staff running round somewhat disorganised. Dinner however was lovely. Couldn't fault it. Overall, nice stay but little touches need to be made. Not a 4* to me during my stay but could easily be with a little more love.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. I am sorry for the areas which did not meet your expectations on this occasion; however I was most pleased to read that you had a great dinning experience.

I hope that you will return in the future and have a great stay.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Have just returned from a two night break at this hotel that my partner booked for my birthday. Having seen some of the bad reviews wanted to put my two pennies in as was a little concerned prior to arriving!
On arrival we were allocated Room 65 - as someone has previously said this was practically a room at a travelodge! We were on a special offer (room/dinner/breakfast/afternoon tea) but I did wonder if they stick everyone on these deals in a bad room? Anyway it didn't look like any of the standard rooms on the website in the room literature etc so my partner was dispatched to reception straight away. They switched us immediately without any problems at all to Room 5. This was in the main house, had lovely 4 posted bed etc and was much more what we had been expecting! Didn't smell of smoke at all in my opinion but maybe no one had been smoking during our stay..?
Food was all lovely, Spa was good but a hot tub would be nice and service was great. For the price we paid and what we got we were very happy.
I agree with every single reviewer who has mentioned the terrible loo paper.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 65 unless you want a travelodge style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emsie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your review following your two night stay at Billesley Manor to celebrate your birthday. I am most pleased that we were able to offer an upgrade on this occasion and you were able to really enjoy your experience.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed there in January

To be fair the place could be excellent and some of the staff was friendly.

However, the room we stayed in was very poor.

On the up side, our evening meal was excellent.

On leaving, despite three members of staff being stood round the reception desk we was left struggling through the door with our bags, we didn't get so much of a

"Did you enjoy your stay"

"Thank you"

The place looks good on the website, I for one would not return there

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay in January and that it was not brought to our attention sooner. I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your stay in more detail; I hope to have the opportunity to talk to you soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Billesley Manor Hotel for a much needed break from commitments of home and work. Its a calm, quiet , peaceful place to get away from it all. The staff were attentive . Easy reach to Stratford and surrounding areas. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 449Mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your recommendation and your review. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the peace and quiet and have a really relaxing time. I do hope that the next time you feel the need to get a way from it all that you will do so at Billesley Manor.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A four star hotel which has the natural feel of a private manor: chic and laidback at the same time. Delicious food, efficient and friendly staff and the most beautiful atmosphere (especially in the wood panelled great hall and restaurant). We had a huge room in the modern wing. The comfort and silence amply made up for the lack of character. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zoetilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and rating. I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinning experience and found the team to be friendly and efficient. I really hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for my 30th Birthday a surprise from my mum , We was warmly welcomed from the receptionist , everything was explained , we had a free upgrade on our room and a lovely bottle of champagne on ice in our room as we arrived felt very honored. the facilitates was amazing, stunning spa and a warm pool . The treatments was lovely we stayed in room 32 a lovely room gorgeous view of the garden . Was not far from the spa or the bar was a very lovely experience. we had a 3 course meal which was also amazing , we both slept extremely well the bed was so comfortable i could of taken it home with me . Breakfast was good lots to chose from would defendantley stay here again and i would highly recommend it :) :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for review following your stay to celebrate your birthday. I am pleased that you had such a great time and enjoyed the treatments in the Spa and your dinning experience at Billesley manor. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope you will return to us again soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $65 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo
Billesley Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing