We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I cannot thank you enough for the superb treatment we received 18
& 19th November... We married 2011 at Billesley Manor and chose to return for our second anniversary... Staff were professional and courteous the whole stay... Food superb as always... One of the team had worked on our wedding and had remembered us.... It's those touches that are priceless... Thank you for the upgrade to our special room and the card from yourselves was a lovely touch.... Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough ... Thank you again for a lovely stay. Dawn & Craig

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnydawn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Excellent hotel, full of history and set in lovely grounds. You can just sit in one of the lovely lounges and enjoy a lovely afternoon tea. Rooms are excellent and very clean. Food excellent and a good choice on the menu. A very warm welcome was given by the lovely reception girls, who couldn't do enough for you and had time to explain the history of the manor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jill_simmons581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've just returned from my stay at Billesley Manor Hotel.
Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the Manor House room 5, supposedly a deluxe room.
The main room at first sight is amazing and very grand. However that's where it stops.
The bathroom is "cheap and badly finished". I say this for the following reasons :-
1. The shower is usable for people of a max. height of 5 feet. As the shower head is 5 ft 4 inches above the bath.
2. The bath is a tin bath, the cheapest you can buy at a total cost of £90 (I know as I'm in property development).
3. The shower screen is of similar type supplied by B&Q, again just over £110 (no style what so ever). The bottom trim was covered in what looked like limescale.
4. The tiles were fitted very unevenly, not grouted and cracked. This is the case because the tiling was done by a general builder not a tiler, as no self respecting tiler would do a job this shody.
5. The water heat is at a dangerous hear close to boiling. I know this, because I couldn't get under the shower I ran a bath, when feeling the water I burnt my hand.
6. The borders were mosaic style, these actually had grout on, so much they covered the tiles.
7. The radiator on/off had no cover, simply showed the screwed fitting.
8. The sink plug wasn't screwed on and came off in my hand.
The mattress on the 4 poster bed must have been as old as the room. I sleep on my stomach, I could not in this case as when I lay on the bed, both ends of the mattress lifted, so I had to sleep on my back which irritated a shoulder injury. My girlfriend has a bad back, so she didn't get much sleep either.
There's definatly a difference between a good soft mattress and just a old broken one, which is on this bed.
At meal times there is not enough staff serving, we had to remind about drinks 2 to 3 times before been successfully served, but the food was very nice, great breakfast too.
Sunday we visited the spa, the steam room was definatly the work of the person that did the bathroom in or room as there was no grout between the tiles which formed the seat. other mosaic tiles were missing or very badly glued on sitting proud looking terrible. Both the ladies and gents changing rooms had black mould running down the corners of the shower rooms.

I sent this to the management, who took my comments on board, they are going to deep clean the showers and set loose the handy man on the bathroom. That may take care of missing grout nut the bath and tiles still look cheap.
I was told the bed' 2 years old, it must be really cheap cos it was definatly past it's shelf life.

All in all this was value for money, the word "deluxe" could be lost from it's description to avoid dissapointment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northerener100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Not what I was expecting for a relaxing Spa Day.

Kids screaming in the pool, no quiet relaxing area. Staff not that helpful, no robes, had to keep asking for water, way to hot. Soap dispenses in the changing rooms did not work, ran out of lockers. Was told massage for both of us at 14.00, but ended up having to wait only one member of staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank A33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great hotel, food very nice, facial very relaxing. But a very disappointing end to the weekend with long waits and poor service for Sunday breakfast, which was a shame as it ended the weekend badly. Minor but irritating problem with the key fob all weekend too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great weekend, lovely room, spa was great. Very very slow service at dinner on the Saturday and a bit of a disastrous breakfast on the Sunday marred an otherwise lovely weekend. On Sunday morning we had a 30 minute wait for a table another 10 minutes until we had cutlery then on finally making it to the buffet, no tomatoes, bacon, scrambled eggs or mushrooms, pretty much basics for a buffet style full English. Did something go wrong at the hotel this weekend or is it always like that on Sunday am?

Room Tip: We were in room 21, but double check with hotel as if there is an evening function in the suite oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies that breakfast on sunday morning was not up to our usual high standards, the hotel was busy as usual, however the volume of guests who choose to have breakfast at the same time resulted in the breakfast not being as good as we aim to acheive. I am really pleased that the rest of your stay was great though and I hope you will return to Billesley Manor again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a beautifully located country house hotel, close to Stratford upon Avon and other lovely surrounding villages. Hotel well equipped and staff most helpful.
Ideal for a mid week get away as well as weekends, plenty to so if the weather is poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 111carolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Stratford upon Avon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,898 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,501 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $81 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo
Billesley Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing