We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Billesley Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$91
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ettington Park Hotel(Alderminster)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$154
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Townhouse(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stratford Limes Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$109
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$124
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
$133
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,283)
Filter reviews
2,283 results
Traveler rating
808
701
401
233
140
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
701
401
233
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstopiary gardenstuart restaurantpremium roomafternoon teamain buildingsecret escapessauna and steam roomthe barnlovely groundsevening mealspa facilitiestennis courtsbeautiful hotelthree course mealspa breakold buildingnight break
Filter
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 2,283 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, the rooms are very plainly decorated and furnished, definitely not four star standard. I had requested that the bed was made up with a sheet and blanket, instead of a duvet, they were merely left on a chair in the room and I had to ask someone to come over and make up the bed. The TV control did not work, it needed new batteries, and the washbasin in the bathroom leaked. The food was very ordinary, though the afternoon tea was done well and was extremely pleasant, especially the warm scones with jam and clotted cream. The service at breakfast was almost non-existent and the staff ignored my requests to make up the cleared table that I was sitting at. All in all a poor experience, it needs a lot of money spending on it and some better staff. And please chuck out those dreadful patterned carpets in the corridor of where our room (no 54) was situated!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordofthepieslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am so sorry to find that our usual high standards of service and product were not evident during your stay with us earlier this summer. Please accept my apologies for any disappointment. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just returned home, (31st August) from a really chilled out Secret Escape to very historical Billesley Manor Hotel. We had a second floor room with lovely south facing views over the topiary garden and pond, and beyond. But if you don't do stairs, then be sure to tell reception, as the stairs are very steep in parts, and no lifts. We just looked upon it as part of our keep fit regime!! There is an alternative staircase from/to the Spa, which is not quite as steep. The bedroom was lovely, nicely furnished and spacious with plenty of wardrobe space, and an immaculate bathroom with a good sized bath with shower, a canopied bed which was huge and comfortable. And peaceful!! (Apart from noisy fan in bathroom when the light was turned on!!). Although the room was hot we could throw open the windows wide, but wasps tended to be a problem. But no matter where we have been over the past few weeks, wasps are a particular nuisance this year everywhere! Outside daytime temperature was in the mid 20sC, and we can imagine how unbearably hot the room could get if the temperature gets higher than that, BUT how often is that going to happen? Would recommend take your our own fan if you know temperature is going to be a problem. If you don't like heat and sunshine, ask for a north facing room. Our included meal with bottle of wine on our first night was excellent, with plenty of choice on all three courses (and also a surprise appetiser). Hubby had the T-bone steak which melted in his mouth, and I had Sea Bass on herby mash. The cheeseboard was one of the best I've had. The attentive staff and service from everyone was faultless, and they all work very hard. Our included afternoon tea on the second day was also excellent, and surpassed our expectations, so much so, we had to forego our evening meal. One observation to make was lack of a good ale at the bar, as hubby does like a speciality beer occasionally and Tetley's not his cup of tea!!! And also no Guiness!!! (But of course we recognise it's a hotel and not a pub!). We played tennis after our high tea to work off some calories. Rackets are hired from the Spa and we had loads of fun and laughs, although at our age (seniors) had difficulty getting the ball over the net, so don't be afraid - just have a go! We didn't use the pool even though very tempting, as the weather outside was brilliant and we didn't want to be indoors. All in all, a really enjoyable couple of days, and maybe next time will just stay put and enjoy some pampering in the Spa, and a swim in the pool, and try a room in the barn. Oh, and it looks an excellent venue for a wedding.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you don't like stairs. There are no lifts.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixiebelleCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back for some pampering in the spa. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a great deal with Secret Escapes. The Manor House and the old barn conversion are great.
We asked for a ground floor room and had one in the barn complex which was very good and only a few yards from the Manor House.
Dinner on the first night was included and included wine. The choice was excellent. Even my wife who is a little finicky was very pleased with the meal choice.
Afternoon tea which we had in the garden was something to behold. I have never seen so much stuff on a towered tray. Sandwiches,full cream tea, cakes, yogurts, fruit. After this late afternoon feast we did not manage the dinner and resorted to snacks. The staff were great and very helpful. The bar was well stocked.
Only fault if you can call it that was that breakfast was buffet self service and started at 7am.
The food under the heaters did not present it's self as very appetising when we breakfasted at 8.15am.
The Manor is a great location for the park and ride into Stratford so we could do the sites.

Room Tip: If like me you do not do stairs then a ground floor room is very necessary.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to read so many positive comments about the hotel.
I do hope that you will return soon.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

we had superior room in manor house which was very nice main complaint was that ther was no air conditionng which i would expect in a hotelof this class.I dread to think what it would be like when it was any hotter.at very least there should be a fan.hotel acknowledge that the rooms near the pool(which was excellent)were very hot but dont seem to have any plans to rectify this.breakfast and evening meal were very good and service very friendly.Nice touch was that they phoned previous day to book our evening meal at atime to suit us.Grounds very pleasant and well kept and hotel convenient for all the main attractions.restaurnt manager freddie forman especially nice.very baronial decor not luxorious but very comfortable atmosphere

Room Tip: manor rooms the best but try to keep away from spa area as rooms hot
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you recognised one of the team as especially nice, Frddie will be rewarded for your comments.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Manor House is lovely. We had taken a 2 night break through Secret Escapes and weren't disappointed. If you have difficulty with stairs make sure you ask for a ground floor or first floor room. We were on the second floor, which was the attic, lovely big room with lovely views out over the pond and topiary garden. Huge bed with comfy pillows. Wifi a bit hit & miss for my iPad but my partners tablet was ok.
Dinner was served in the Stuart Restaurant, staff were friendly and helpful but sometimes it was a challenge for the mainly Eastern European staff to understand, but it did get sorted. The included dinner was good and breakfast was really good.
If you want a break in lovely surroundings with quiet countryside and plenty to do and see this is the place.
We never used the Spa, too many trips out.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank UKW0rldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please keep a look out for our special offers so you can return and maybe try the spa next time.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews