We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a glorious setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed June 23, 2012

When we arrived we paid for a room upgrade and we are so glad we did a beautiful 'olde worlde' room that had a fabulous 4 poster as its centre piece but overlooking the breathtaking gardens was a real bonus.
All round it was a lovely stay although the breakfast wasn't the best but it was plentiful and had a good variety.

Room Tip: If you can go for the upgrade overlooking the garden as you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snobsnotslobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,855 - 1,861 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Absolutely lovely!! My son and his lovely wife held their wedding here a couple of weeks ago and we could not falt anything. The hotel was extremely clean and the rooms were well presented and comfortable. Our bedroom looked out onto the lovely gardens - I didnt want to go home! The food was excellent and the staff extremely professional and friendly. The only down side was that the drinks were a little pricy. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxury wedding venue as well as other functions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here on the recent £20.12 promotional, what a bargain. The hotel was classy, bedroom roomy, comfortable and elegant; the surrounding grounds including the Church, steeped in history; the ambience of the hotel, grounds and church combined and you could imagine a graceful existence back in the Shakesperian era. Would recommend to anyone. PS couldn't fault the service from all members of the hotel staff that we encountered. Only wish we"d stayed longer. Next time definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel was part of a group of leased hotels by Barcello who have now returned the hotel to its owners Puma. Barcello did very little in the closing years to upgrade the hotel.
The manor house portion of the hotel is a traditional building with many features that reflect its history and its age. There are many wooden panelled rooms with large open fireplaces which are obviously used during the winter months as well as a number of priest holes and secret staircases.
This hotel has public rooms where you can escape for a quit time reading or writing.
The staff at this hotel were very professional whilst retaining an open friendly and helpful approach, nothing seemed too much bother.
The hotel was kept very clean considering there was a wedding in progress when we were there.
Our bedroom (6) was at the side of the hotel over looking the vast lawn area with its duck pond and tennis courts.
The bedroom was roomy and had a traditional en-suite bathroom, shower over the bath.
The room was well appointed and comfortable.
The breakfast was buffet style that was plentiful and of good quality.
The dining room staff are both professional and knowledgeable all carried out in a friendly atmosphere. The food is of very good quality and expertly prepared. On enquiring the chef sources all that he can locally, most within 10 miles radius of the hotel.
The hotel does not have a lift and to some of the decor may look to some a little tired but Puma recognise this and has an upgrade programme planned for this hotel.
The pool and spa reflect its much newer addition and was very clean and well kept like the spa whose facilities we did not sample. There are also more modern bedrooms in this complex.
This hotel located outside of Stratford is ideally placed for exploring this area of the Cotswolds and the many facilities that the area has to offer. Anne Hathaway's cottage and the Arden House/farm is a must for children. They are within a 15 minute drive of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john1maskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

FANTASTIC!!!!! I had my 'hen party' at Billesley Manor Hotel in the form of a Murder Mystery Weekend. There were 22 of us 'ladies' and we all enjoyed the whole experience. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, wonderful food and an absolutely gorgeous hotel. Very grand and exquisite and extremely friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone. The pool was also fab as were the rest of the leisure facilities.

Would suit couples or friends for a special gathering. Also families enjoying the sights of nearby stratford.

The perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Attended a evening wedding functon - hotel was perfection, clean and lovely room with great views of well maintained gardens, excellant food, and above all helpful polite staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have just come back from spending a celebratory weekend at the Billesley Manor Hote. I had called the hotel to tell them it was a special occasion and we were treated like royalty all weekend.

We had a stunning bedroom with a four poster bed and amazing views of the garden. The restuarant food was lovely and very friendly.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel beautifully clean, with space to spend quiet time even just reading a book.

The pool was clean and the spa was well kept altough we didnt sample any treatments.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane-Thurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,162 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,582 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,926 reviews
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $90 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo
Billesley Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing