We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for one night on the 12th of July. We were looked after extremely well by the very friendly staff, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and away from the main roads so very peaceful, the bedroom was very nice and spacious with fantastic views over the topiary garden(room number 31).
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the service was excellent, the food was very tasty and beautifully presented, breakfast was very nice with a good selection of cereals fresh fruit and breads and the usual hot selection.
The hotel is full of character with original wood paneling and minstrels gallery, it's like stepping back in time just what we were after in such an old building.
Thank you very much for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay with us, we are very pleased to know you truly enjoyed your visit and the old character of the building. We hope to see you back soon at Billesley Manor.

Rafael Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

We got married here on the 18th June 2011 and we have nothing but praise for this wonderfull hotel and its staff. Not one of our guests had anything negative to say about it and all were impressed by the hotel, food and hospitality.

The Wedding co-ordinator Naomi was fantastic and they where able to accomodate my every wish. Naomi helped make my ideas and suggestions reality and nothing was too much trouble.

The food was fantastic and served promptly, under the guidance of the hotel manager.

I saw a few of the rooms and they were all outstanding including the bridal suit which was fantastic.

My mother in law enjoyed it so much she has decided to go back again to stay for a few nights in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyfraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review, we were delighted to hear that you and your guests had a fantastic day with us at Billesley Manor; I have passed your comments to the team and they were delighted to know they managed to make a difference on your day, specially Naomi.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at the Hotel

Rafael Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Well I chose this hotel as on the wesite it seems very impressive. I only went for a day and so pleased now that I did not book an overnight stay.
I arrived to the Spa and the reception staff were awful, had no interest in customers and certainly did not want to be at work.
I was given a coffee but that's where the pleasantries started and stopped. I had to ask if it was ok to go and use leisure facilities, wasn't given a tour, just had to find my own way round. I was only given a towel and locker key but no robe. Asked twice for a robe and 2 hours later, got one!
Leisure facilities extremely poor and is in desperate need of renovation.
On the plus side - I had a head, back and shoulder massage which was fantastic and the grounds were beautiful.
Finally a word of warning - make sure that when you are leaving that you obtain a code to type into the barrier to let you off the grounds. Otherwise you have to reverse all the way back up a long drive and go back to reception to obtain a code.
This was my first visit and will definately be my last, as I know of a lot more reputable spa's who live up to there name.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pimms29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience in our Spa, we have revised and retrain our team to ensure the customer journey is pleasant and relaxing as expected from our costumers, on the other hand, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatments and that you liked the grounds of the Hotel.

I do hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back at Billesley Manor so we can reinstate your faith on us.

Rafael Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This used to be a truly grand, posh place, and still gives that impression; but since Barcelo took over it seems a different standard is applied; service, cleanliness not up to normal standards.
Insist on a top quality room in the main hotel, if you can.

Room Tip: ground floor, main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izziebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

I would like to thank you for your feedback, we are always trying to improve our product and we have invested been investing in the property in order to so.

If you are visiting the area again in the future, please contact me directly and we will make sure you have a good stay with us, we would like the opportunity to show you the changes we have done.

Rafael Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Billesley manor is a beautiful country house set in grounds with an amazing topiary. The outer façade of the buildings have been renovated and it looks inviting. However, thereafter the "façade" stops, Inside the reception is small and you reach your room through a maze of narrow corridors which are neither quaint nor in keeping with the building style. We did at least have a sideways view of the Topiary and no doubt if you are booking into one of the feature rooms you'll have a stunning view from your room. Our room was a double room in serious need of some TLC. The mother earth colour scheme was too "underground" and durgey in overall effect (the designer needs shooting) and the housekeeping team have certainly not been informing maintenance of room problems. Wallpaper was scuffed on corners, the bathroom tiles were cracked, bathroom light fixing broken. The designer glass bowl sink was badly chipped, and filthy underneath around the plug hole. Worse still when we went out that evening there was only one tiny sign on the reception desk informing you of the code needed to open the barrier at the end of the long drive. Despite telling the receptionist that we were going out, he failed to draw our attention to this and we ended up having to reverse about 1/6 mile back down the drive to find out how to get out - there wasn't even an intercom at the barrier. We won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Pay for a feature room - might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne_2819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

First of all, please accept my apologies for inconveniences you experienced during your stay and thank you for posting your feedback.

As you have mentioned Billesley Manor is an Old Elizabethan Manor with many extensions and the links between the buildings and narrow corridors as you described, unfortunately during the renovations it was not possible to change them. With regards to the bedrooms, there are different types of rooms in the Manor; some have been refurbished and some still retain the 'old character' of the house. We always try to ensure our customers are satisfied with their rooms and if needed, we offer a room change when available; we have taken your comment on board and a plan has been scheduled to lift the rooms that have not been refurbished.

The code for the exit barrier is given to our guests on their arrival so they can use it when going out, this is our normal standard and I can only apologise if it was not the case during your visit. I can confirm that training has been carried out to ensure we give to our costumers all the time.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Rafael Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We held are wedding at the Billesley Manor Hotel on Easter Monday and can honestly say that from the first contact with the Hotel and Naomi Wickes the Wedding Co-ordinator we could have asked no more. The service and advice we received was first class; the planning accurate and detailed; and the execution perfect. Our Wedding which was conducted in the Great Hall had 42 Guests, with a number staying overnight. Our day included the Wedding Ceremony; the Wedding Breakfast; and evening entertainment. An added plus is the fantastic gardens for the photos. Thank you Naomi and all the staff

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRhodes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your Wedding Day at Billesley Manor. We are very pleased to hear that you and your guests had a fantastic day with us; Naomi was over the moon when she read the review and also would like to extend her thanks.

We hope to see you back at Billesley soon

Rafael Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I went to Billesley Manor in June 2011 with my boyfriend for our first anniversary and it was perfect in every way. On arrival there was a wedding party having photos taken, the grounds here are a great backdrop for weddings and special occasions. The receptionist was friendly and efficient, we were booked in very quickly and then went to our room to check in. We were on the second floor in the manor house, the main building, and the room was very private, at the end of a long corridor. On entering the room we were impressed at the size and dimensions. The windows appeared to be originals, which could probably be rather draughty in the winter, however there is efficient central heating. The bathroom was very large and spotlessly clean. The furniture was elegant in the main bedroom and there were some nice additions, luxury robe and the usual tea/coffee tray. The bed was very comfortable, despite us thinking it was rather firm, we had a good night's sleep. The duvet and pillows were goosedown and just the right temperature for the time of year. Going to the restaurant on the evening we had excellent service from all staff, they were very attentive and engaged in casual conversation, enquiring about the reason for our visit etc. The meals were superb, almost too good to eat, the presentation being perfection on a plate. The following morning we had the cooked breakfast, possibly the only complaint I have is that it was not made fresh and served to me, however the quality of the breakfast was good and piping hot.
All in all we had an great visit and would most definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniew114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Barceló Billesley Manor.

I was delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and that you found the team to be friendly and hotel facilities to be of a good standard. I have shared your comments with the team and they are all please to know they managed to make a difference to your stay.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Billesley Manor, maybe for your second anniversary?

Rafael Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,391 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $65 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo
Billesley Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing