We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My fiance and I wandered into Stratford on a whim and found a little gem. Peter is a very welcoming and able host. He knows the town and where to eat. Having quickly got us settled he organised a late dinner at the Thatch and a brilliant brekkie to boot. Lovely place, quiet and very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: The family room is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
179
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

After spending a short break at Ambleside, we can't wait to return! The hosts, Peter and Ruth were very friendly and helpful, suggesting great places to visit and eat. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was superb.I am already recommending Ambleside to my friends and family.
Well done Ruth and Peter, and thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamm487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at Ambleside. The cleanliness was outstanding, the breakfast excellent, location amazing and the hosts were so informative and friendly. We would certainly return for another short break in the future.
Stratford has so much to offer and we ate at the recommendations made by Peter our host, which were really friendly and excellent venues.
Well done Ambleside, it is refreshing to experience great value for money and see such pride in offering a much needed boost to promoting England hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our visit was shortly before Christmas. A friend and I visit Stratford each year with our children. We go to the theatre, shop and stay at The Ambleside. We would not stay anywhere else as Peter and Ruth are friendly and welcoming hosts. The rooms are warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is excellent, good quality, well cooked and more than enough for teenage appetites. The Ambleside is a short walk from the railway station and all that Stratford has to offer. We are already looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CR176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The owners are amazing, very friendly and warm, willing to give advice on things to do and places to eat at. They cook a great breakfast. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We easily fitted 3 people into a room, the bathroom is super clean and a good size.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angels92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Peter and Ruth are amongst the nicest people we have ever met. Peter welcomed us and showed us the places of interest in town on a map as well as providing us with a 10% discount for a local eatery which we capitalised on (the old thatched tavern - best grub in stratford by far!) Our room was nice and cosy, big comfy bed, lovely powerful shower and a tv... What more do you need?! There is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu. The full english is highly recommended! We were treated to a glass of bucks fizz one morning which was very much appreciated and a lovely touch. The location is near perfect, literally a 5 minute stroll up the main road and you are in town. Easily the best b&b in town by a long shot, can't wait to book our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floridabloke41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I did not expect a B&B to be so clean and perfect.

The room/bathroom we had were of a good size, with well-thought-out items provided (hairdryer, facial wipes, etc), which even hotels often do not provide. Not a speck of dust or grime anywhere - and the carpets and walls were immaculately clean.

Peter and Ruth were excellent hosts and provided us with helpful tips and directions. Also, unexpectedly the breakfast was well-cooked and not greasy at all (even though we had opted for the full English rather than the healthy fruit and cereal choice).

Overall, we had a great experience and I would happily recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Guest House

Property: Ambleside Guest House
Address: 41 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Guest House offers very comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, the birthplace of William Shakespeare. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambleside Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Ambleside Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing