We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre trip”
Review of The Applegarth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Applegarth
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Theatre trip”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

An extremely well run B&B - excellent standard of cleanliness. Easy access from all roads through town and a very quick and easy walk into town and theatres. Excellent home cooked breakfast served in a friendly and efficient manner. A double bedded ensuite room for solo use was comfortable and with every facility for an enjoyable stay. Would not hesitate in recommending. The only negative was because of its handy location, traffic noise did feature during the ommuting hours but did not impair my sleep. As a single traveller, felt comfortable and at home during my two night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    100
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
140
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This friendly B and B is a very short walk to the theatre and central restaurants. Moreover there is free car parking unlike many of the other economy options. The room was not enormous but very adequate for a few nights with a tray of biscuits, chocolates along with tea and coffee provided. The room and the bathroom were lovely and warm on a very cold evening outside. All were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was expertly cooked to order and well presented. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this B and B .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunterYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on the 30th Nov. The staff were kind enough to let me me leave my bags at reception before checking-in. Upon checking in I was taken to my room and showed where the bathrooms were. I was on the second floor and the room was lovely, clean, had comfortable beds and had more then enough space (just be weary of the narrow staircases leading upto them). The bathroom was also impeccably clean and spacious.
Breakfast in the morning was pleasant - fruits and juices available on the table and an English breakfast made to order as well as tea and coffee.
Once again the staff were lovely enough to keep my bags for the day while I went exploring.
Stratford-upon-Avon itself is a beautiful town with lots to do (it helps if you are a Shakespeare fan), so highly recommend stopping by for a visi!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Me and hubby stayed here on the 16th nov with another couple .....very friendly people breakfast lovely especially the sausage and liked we were offered more toast and tea and coffee,we stayed in room 6 and the rad does need bleeding hot at top cold at the bottom.Also if you are planning on going for a nice eveing meal you will need to book in advance we walked into about 10 restaurants and all were booked up so ended up eating at the red lion .....and they had no steak :( but had a fab wkend mr and mrs hancox.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callum08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast was superb, the room was a decent size, ours was quite quirky, with a step into the room. The bathroom was clean, The bed was probably the most comfortable thing I've slept on in a long time, I felt very rested when I woke up this morning! Tea and Coffee making facilities were provided, (a must, thank you!) Breakfast was beautiful! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseAbbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed three nights in a first floor room, comfortable, not noisy, good bathroom. Our daughter had a top floor room with bathroom across the hall, had no problems with that. Appreciated the wi-fi which worked well. Breakfast was served promptly, the food was fine. Staff seemed pleasant though we didn't see much of them. The room was hot (we struck lovely mild weather during our stay), we requested a top sheet rather than using the duvet and that was supplied promptly. Stairs are steep, be aware of this when booking.
Applegarth is very well sited, it's very close to the town centre and all attractions, restaurants etc. We concentrated on the five Shakespeare houses and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Also went to Warwick castle which was a short drive away, and to Coventry (again quite close).
We would certainly stay at Applegarth again, and will recommend it to Stratford visitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a budget room. The room was clean and the bed comfy. Breakfast was great. There was some road noise but it did not disturb us. The water from the tap tasted peculiar so bring some
bottled water. Havr a feeling that this is s local issue.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RevRayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,056 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Applegarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Applegarth

Property: The Applegarth
Address: 20-21 Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, free parking, very close to new theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Applegarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Applegarth Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Applegarth Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing