We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to stay in Stratford on Avon.”
Review of The Applegarth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Applegarth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Situated within easy walking distance of the centre of town and even easier reach of the Royal Shakespeare Company theatre, Applegarth couldn't be more convenient. The double room we were in had an ensuite bathroom/shower room and the beds were comfortable. Tea and coffee are provided in the room, also a television, hair drier etc. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of juices, cereals, fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast ranging from a full English breakfast to any combination of egg, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes etc. that you could wish for, plus plentiful coffee or tea and toast, butter, jams and marmalade. Coffee, tea and toast were regularly replenished. We will most certainly be staying here on future visits to Stratford. The Applegarth is just down the road from an excellent Thai restaurant - the Thai Kingdom - so you can enjoy a lovely Thai lunch or dinner just a hop, skip and jump away from your lodgings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 278 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great value at this centrally located property.Just a few minutes walk from the theatres and with ample parking space. Friendly staff,spacious and clean bedroom and an excellent breakfast.
Top value and will definitely stay here on my next visit to Stratford.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazungu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited this hotel for a special anniversary. It's ok but there are a few problems. 1st the heating is controlled by the owner of the hotel so you can't be warm when you want to and the room we were in was very cold without the heater on. It was in February too so very cold. I think, to be comfortable, you need to be in control of when your heating is on and off as, at times, you can be too warm also.
2nd the Internet connection, although free, doesn't stay connected and in our room it didn't connect at all unless you went out of the door, along the landing and through another door. Then it would connect and last for a while when you returned to the room but only for 10 minutes at a time. That's not something I was happy doing every 10 minutes so although the Internet was free I didn't use it and that was one of the reasons we stayed at this particular hotel.
3rd and I by no means think that the owners can pick who stays at their hotel and their sleeping habits but the couple in the next room were awful snorers and the walls were so thin we were kept awake by them making so much noise, along with the cold.
4th the cleaners who went into our room were hopeless and forgot everything.
And lastly the manager was rather short with me several times making it uncomfortable for me to bring up these things to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one with good Internet signal but you will still be cold in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilyangel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegarth21, Owner at The Applegarth, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay because of a couple of minor problems.
We could of solved the heating, so easily if you had mentioned it at the time, we always keep spare heaters. It is extremely hard to please everyone, so we do turn heating down at night, because the majority of guests prefer it.
We are awaiting the Wifi company to fix the booster, which enables all the guests to enjoy free wifi in their rooms, we changed suppliers and everything when haywire, wifi is always available in reception and dining room and will be back in the bedrooms as soon as possible.
You didn't mention how much you enjoyed your breakfast, free all day parking and location so close to the town.
Kind regards
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend away with my husband (minus the kids!) and stayed at the Applegarth. I could not fault it at all.
It is located just a few minutes walk from the town centre which is great after a few too many local ales from the abundance of quaint taverns nearby!
The room was clean and well equipped and the breakfast was lovely with a great service.
I was also able to leave the car parked safely for the whole weekend which helped to avoid potentially hefty car park changes.
I have already recommended the Applegarth to my parents who are to book later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAYS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegarth21, Owner at The Applegarth, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will stay with us again one day.
Kind regards
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good value, clean, and with a good breakfast. The location is very central and it was only 5 minutes walk to the theatre and even less to the centre of town. There was free car parking on site and the staff were friendly. Small negatives were no top sheet and thin duvets

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegarth21, Owner at The Applegarth, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for mentioning the duvets, We intend to buy thicker duvets for next winter.
Kind regards
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was cold and there was mold on the walls in our room. On our first morning me and my partner waited a while to be served then we got asked if we would like tea or coffee we said tea and coffee WHICH WE NEVER GOT even though we were having breakfast for 15 minuets. The next morning again we waited a while to be served and when my partner ordered egg, beans on toast the waitress looked at him like he had just spat in her face. Then when got our food i had friend in my egg which was a hair. all in all i think this was waist of money they i had spent it was a let down as i had bought it for my partners birthday

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becca26091988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegarth21, Owner at The Applegarth, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us.
The room you stay in, unfortunatley due to the heavy rain, had a little water damage form overflow of gutters, and as it was a small mark, we left it until it could be repaired on Monday after your visit.
Breakfast in any establishment can at times be busy, but you should of been given your tea and coffee before 15 minutes, The waitress may of being trying to work out, how to put your order for breakfast into her own language, she had no intention of spitting, or being rude, and I am sorry she made you feel that way.
It is always good to have feedback good and bad, so we address things which need attention.
Kind regards
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous it is based in the centre of Stratford have free car parking. On arrival the lady pleasantly greeted us and then showed us to our room. The rooms was spacious and comfortable, tea, coffee, mints and biscuits included.
The breakfast was delicious plenty to choose from. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twisty500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,898 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#12 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#17 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Applegarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Applegarth

Address: 20-21 Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $100 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, free parking, very close to new theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Applegarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Applegarth Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Applegarth Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing