We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth consideration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Applegarth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Applegarth
Certificate of Excellence
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Definitely worth consideration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had two rooms for two nights. Luckily we all arrived in one car as the car park is very small. The location was very convenient for the bus and for shopping, and we arrived during the Stratford-upon-Avon Mop Fair which made the location even better. The rooms were clean, and the breakfast was superb. The wi-fi was not the best, but it worked...and as Americans we missed having wash cloths to use in the shower. We would consider staying there again if we decided to return to the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TR3B-1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    98
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
132
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nimes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is excellent accomodation at the price, much better than the average tawdry, overpriced British offering. It's spotless, has brand new beds (so I was told and mine sure was), good breakfast, and a nice feel to it. I had a nice quiet rear room, but I could see how the front ones might get a bit noisy from the road at peak times.

It's just a few minutes easy stroll from the town centre, the RSC theatre and most of the Shakespere sites, and about 15-20 minutes easy flat walk to the station.

I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8gra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just stayed at The Applegarth for two nights with my wife. As other reviewers have commented, the location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the town centre and theatres.

We had a room at the back, overlooking the car park and so did not have any problems with noise. The room was quite small, but adequate for a two night stay.

Breakfast was typically British, but with a good mixed fruit salad available.

Would we go back? Probably.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotheranonDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Faultless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;-)
We spent one night only and saw no problems.
Location is first class because you have no drunks what-so-ever passing.
Food made me realize a diet just isn't worth it(my choice,healthy food there as well)
A certain "value for money"
Must sort out my must do diary now!.

Room Tip: Ground floor will be ideal if you have three to many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaybeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon maid
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just spent three nights over the bank holiday at the Applegarth. We stayed in the front room facing the street. It was quite noisy being a main road into the town, but to be honest we are heavy sleepers so this didn't effect to much. The back rooms were obviously quieter. Room were very clean and the towels and tea & coffee facilities were replenished every day. The breakfast was very good offering full English. Vegetarians were also catered for. The manager/owner and staff were very friendly and offered a good service. B&B is located approx 5 mins from town centre so ideal and central for everything. There is private parking at the back of premises, although if this is busy, one can use the grounds at the front of B&B. If we were in the area again, we would be happy to use it.

Room Tip: Try to book the back of B&B as this is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22trebleclef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel when we went to a performance at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre.The location is excellent, about 5 minutes walk to the theatre.Check-in is at 2pm but we arrived early and were allowed to park our car at the hotel which was much appreciated.
Our room was quite large with comfortable chairs and tea making equipment.The drawback of the rooms in the front is the traffic noise that even double glazing can't cut out.The hotel is at junction with traffic on two sides, maybe we could have used ear plugs if we had known.
Everything is very clean and the breakfast is good with proper coffee and catering for vegetarians.
I would be happy to use this hotel again but would make sure we had a room at the back.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in furness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. Brilliant location. Room was very comfortable and clean with lovely personal touches. Breakfast was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and could`nt help you enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Applegarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Applegarth

Property: The Applegarth
Address: 20-21 Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, free parking, very close to new theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Applegarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Applegarth Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Applegarth Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing