We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great location. An very old, comfortable hotel. Lots of cushy seats where you can order tea and drinks in the lobby. Our room was small, the bed comfortable. The bathroom updated. Location can't be beat. Had breakfast and dinner. Both meals were very good. Would stay here again and recommend this hotel to any friends traveling in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mary,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your breakfast and dinner experience here at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel and all Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    662
    327
    133
    67
See reviews for
205
969
56
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just stayed finished our stay here. We usually stay at the Alveston Manor whenever we visit Stratford Upon Avon but lately we have been finding it very busy and noisy due to it being so popular as a wedding venue so we thought we would try the Mercure instead and we did not regret it but there are things that could be improved.
The good points: we paid extra to stay in a privilege room and the room was great with a sitting area and a walk in wardrobe. The hotel is full of character and is really central so if you are out shopping you can quickly nip back to the hotel to store your purchases in your room. Maybe not so good as it just encourages you to buy even more! The free wifi is very good too. Also, our room was without a hair dryer and when I telephoned reception, one was brought up to our room within 10 minutes.
The negative points: the room description highlights a free minibar of soft drinks. We were provided with one small bottle of water,coke and orange each. When I rang reception to say our water had not been replenished, I was told that they do not replace the water or anything else for that matter. The one small bottle each was for the entire stay! A bit mean I think! Also, the lady on reception when I checked out could have been a little friendlier. I was the only one there and she didn't even ask me if I had enjoyed my stay. I felt that she couldn't wait to get rid of me. And I had been on my best behaviour too!
Still, overall, we would definitely stay there again but if you like a more personal and friendlier experience, our friends stayed at the Cherry Trees and they could not fault it at all!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Diane,

Thank you for your specific and overall positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room and location during your stay at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Stratford-upon-Avon.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location. Lovely public rooms. Great breakfast.
Very creaky floorboards! Our room (221) overlooked the gardens of Nash's House & New Place
Perfect for what we wanted for our weekend in Stratford.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang01622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your postive comments about your stay and in specific our public areas and our breakfast.

I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with is and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

It felt as if nobody was really in charge of this hotel. There was confusion about our booking and they tried to charge us twice for breakfast, even though it had been included in the original price when we had booked online. The rooms were great but at £200 a room we would at least have expected a bottle of water to have been provided! The breakfast bar was good but the specially cooked breakfasts were a bit disappointing and not up to the standard we would have expected at this price. My haddock and poached egg sat in a pool of water which I had to mop up before beginning to eat. Worst of all, from our seat in the dining room, we could see the underneath of the sideboard on which the fruit juice was served. The floor there was covered in dust and litter and gave the impression that the dining room had not been cleaned thoroughly for some time! The staff were quite friendly and pleasant, but it felt that nobody really cared about what seemed to be a big corporate business. It was a great location, very close to the theatre and in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, but it did feel like a very expensive stay that could have been made much better with a little more attention to what was going on around the edges, like under the side board in the dining room!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank orlanda140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive review and bringing these issues to our attention. I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occassion. We have actioned the cleanliness issues as a matter of priority and your feedback as helped us to re-focus on matters that are important to our guests.

I hope that does not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Prepare yourself for uneven floors, creaking and groaning, but the place has character. We have stayed a couple of times. We preferred the Deluxe grade room to the suite we had on a later visit - this was larger but had lower grade furniture. Nice bar area to have a snack, and they do a good breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your breakfast experience here at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel and all Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We are intrigued as to how this hotel achieved a Certificate of Excellence. It is OK but no more than that. When we arrived the desk clerk was in conversation with another member of staff and did not even acknowledge our presence until she had finished her conversation, not even to say she would be with us in a minute. When she finished her conversation she was civil and pleasant but told us we had a 'lovely room' which we did not. It was not atrocious but neither was it 'lovely'! It is a beautiful old building but our bedroom definitely needed repainting and was rather dreary. However, our main complaint was the bed - the mattress rates as one of the most uncomfortable we have slept in in any hotel anywhere - we felt like Jack and Jill constantly rolling down the hill.

On the plus side the hotel is very well situated within minutes of the RSC, bus stops etc. Bus services to surrounding areas very good - we went to Birmingham, Coventry, Vale of Evesham, Leamington Spa, Warwick - all without a car - excellent and breathtakingly beautiful surrounding countryside. The room and bathroom clean and tidy. There was a rusty hinge on the loo but hardly a major concern. So - all in all OK but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Maire,

Thank you for taking the time to write about you dissapointing visit.

I hope your experience with our receptionist and comfort of bed does not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.

Please contact me direct and I will personally look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
marnix.teeken@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very central and convenient for the theatre. Having to pay for guest parking is never pleasant. The corridors and bedrooms seemed a little tired, and the lighting dim in conjunction with the dark wood. Early departures over creaky floors, made room 104 at the top of the stairs noisy. This was not helped by the gap under the door that still managed to stick.
What is the thinking behind a garlic flavoured sausage with a traditional English breakfast?

Room Tip: Make sure your room is away from the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPL1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the allocation of a noisy room. I would like to inform you that we serve a standard Cumberland sausage for breakfast, so I am not sure how or why we have served you the garlic variety.

I hope that this does not deter you from returning to the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing