We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No legacy is so rich as honesty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No legacy is so rich as honesty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A very apposite quote from the bard himself to reflect our stay at the Mercure and for me what Trip Advisor is all about.

Significant other and I enjoyed a two night stay at the end of July.

Location: Absolutely perfect - all sights in walking distance. Downside (?) small car park - mitigant - plenty of on street parking. Moving car into the car park when spaces arose a minor inconvenience, but as I was aware of potential before arrival not an issue.

Facilities: As you might expect from a central hotel in a building which is 400+ year old don't expect a state of the art spa. A pool is normally a pre-requisite for our hotel stays but central location over-ruled lack of full suite of leisure facilities - the right decision.

Service: As with previous posts, expect service according to rating and business of the hotel - when busy (travel company arrivals were a feature on both days) don't expect staff to be fawning over you, but on the whole our experience matched expectatons.

Food: Stay was an Accor deal which won over recommendations from local contacts. Having stayed at Mercure around Europe over the last 10 years we have experienced good and not so good food. Experience was very definitely the former - quality of dinner delivered on day 1 definitely in top 3 of all experiences in that time - once again the right decision.

Room: I would like to think comments will be taken as constructive criticism. Room allocated was 114 or Agincourt. This room is a converted office comprising a living room together with a bedroom - the amount of space was surprising & welcome,
As one might expect in a 400 year-old building the floorboards are less than perfectly sound proofed & consequently there is noise which is noticeable - if you want quiet ask for room in the annex at the back of the hotel but for me this room oozed character & I wouldn't have swapped.

A couple of recommendations

a) When the room was converted secondary double-glazing was not added - as the room fronts onto a main thoroughfare if you are unlucky enough to have a group of drunken louts rolling back from the nightclub at 3am making a racket, then you may well be disturbed.
Whilst we were disturbed the actions of a group of idiots is beyond the hotel's control but as other rooms facing onto the same street have double-glazing it did seem odd that this was not done when the room was converted. A suggestion for improvement
b) The room has a wonderful bay window - this is crying out for a seat to be installed so that a guest can watch the world go by whilst reading whatever takes their fancy.

All in all a great find at a very reasonable price, the mix-up on the bill at the end is worthy of a mention only because the issue was resolved immediately.

Would I stay again? Yes
Despite the comments would I ask for the same room? Yes

Will we be back? No guarantee we will be in the area again but if we are I would always consider the Mercure, a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are in the oldest part of the building - some of these rooms have se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldmanjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your very detailed feedback. I am very happy for the reminders on how to improve the room. I will chase this and I will personally try my level best to implement your recommendations.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    673
    337
    136
    69
See reviews for
210
995
57
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to this hotel for nearly 30 years and have always enjoyed good service and value for money. On this occasion the quality of the experience was considerably enhanced by excellent staff at reception and in the restaurant. While it is invidious to single out individuals, Paul Clayton, the restaurant manager, was particularly exceptional - a consummate professional.

Many thanks to him and all the hard working staff in this lovely atmospheric hotel.

Gerald and Jean Hayes

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayesged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Gerald and Jean Hayes ,

Thank you for your positive feedback here on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments about our hotel and staff and in particular Paul are really appreciated and will be displayed on our Tripadvisor board in the staff canteen.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the woodlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a gorgeous period hotel in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon. We were given a beautiful suite upon check-in with a separate sitting area and large bedroom. The rooms were modern yet maintained their historic look. The bathroom was nice with ample room and everything was clean. The restaurant served nice meals from breakfast to dinner. We will most definitely book again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive feedback here on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments are really appreciated and will be displayed on our Tripadvisor board in the staff canteen.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I planned to spend a weekend looking around Stratford on Avon. The hotel is superbly situated and ideal for exploring the town. The hotel itself is up to the usual high Mercure standard, we were very happy with the accommodation. Staff helpful, restaurant excellent. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for your great review, positive comment about our team and your recommendation here on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you have also enjoyed dinner in our Othello’s Brasserie.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1-night. This is a hotel located in a old building and most of the rooms are only accessible by the stairs. All rooms were names after Shakespeare's plays and characters. The room has an old fashioned design with dark wood headboards and ornate lights and lamps. However, the facilities (toilet, bathrooms, tv) were modem. The room was showing slight wear and tear e.g a drawer missing a handle. Nonetheless, the place was clean and the bed comfortable. It is located in a central location near th RSC theater and also the other major Shakespeare sites. Paid £77 pounds for the room which did not include breakfast but guest can opt for it for £10. Wifi was not free.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew_X79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your room. I would like to point out that we do offer free WiFi to all our guests in our bedrooms and in our public areas.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with work colleagues to attend an exhibition , ideal town centre location, the room was clean and tidy, hotel parking is limited and it cannot be booked and there is a £10 charge.

Did not have evening meal, but breakfast was nice with a good selection

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DucatiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review and your positive comments about the cleanliness of the room and your experience at breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing