We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for husbands birthday. Good welcome at reception, room was exceptionally big, nicely decorated and with a huge bathroom. Very clean, large comfy bed and good toiletries. Bathroom floor a bit chilly in bare feet and view not great but otherwise excellent. Location good as right in the centre of Stratford so literally everything within a couple of minutes walk. Front of hotel currently covered in scaffolding which is a shame but no doubt necessary. Lovely building. Didn't try the restaurant or have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: We were in the Oberon, would happily stay in this room again but as said previously the view isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstelleRob43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Really lovely hotel which does a great job of incorporating modern decor with traditional features. Stayed on a room only basis so can't comment on the breakfast etc.Location is excellent for theatre etc. Shame that the building is currently covered in scaffolding but I'm sure when its off it will be lovely.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here rooms very clean with expected facilities, location great for exploring Stratford, staff helpful and a great choice for breakfast. I stayed with a work group and we used the conference facillities, excellent service all round

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review. I hope your feedback will be beneficial for future guests.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

we visited this hotel as a family for my dad's 60th. we arrived on Thurs afternoon to be greeted by a friendly receptionist. This wasn't so much a problem for this but if you're less mobile there's no lift at the hotel. We were in room 188 which was spacious, the bed very comfortable, all clean and came with tea and coffee facilities and hair dryer. Despite the building works at the hotel we weren't disturbed (slept in past 10am both mornings) we didn't sample breakfast the first day but the second day we were impressed with the choice of hot and cold buffet so weather you want a full english, bowl of cereal or are having a health kick and just want fruit there's something for everyone. The hotel is centrally located for the RSC theater, shops and all other attractions- would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma8630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We can highly recommend this hotel which ticks all the four star boxes. The building is full of character but there were non of the associated issues with old buildings, such as poor soundproofing, ventilation, lack of heating. The only thing we had an issue with was the time it took for the water to heat up. Staff very friendly, good central location and the breakfast was expansive and toast provided to the table which is always better than everyone congregating round an invariable malfunctioning toaster. Worth checking all the hotel sites as prices vary.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked a overnight stay at this hotel with dinner and breakfast and was not disappointed.

Our room was lovely and clean. The bed was very comfortable tv brill and bathroom very good could not fault the room. It also had air con.

The evening meal was delicious and breakfast was the best ever! Also all the staff in the hotel were very nice and helpful nothing was too much trouble. They even reserved a disabled parking space for us. The hotel is well situated near all the attractions and trips.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmal511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for a few days with colleagues as we also used their meeting room. This is a beautiful old hotel with plenty of character and charm - my room had an old beamed ceiling and even a four poster bed and separate lounge area! The rooms were spacious and the hotel is located very centrally, so is also convenient for shopping and dining.
The meeting room was well equipped and the staff were helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant every day and the food was tasty, though the service was sometimes a little slow and the portions were quite small. The meeting refreshments and snacks made up for this though! Overall, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickTraveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $86 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing