We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good Brkfst, Nice Staff,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Good Brkfst, Nice Staff,”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel is located in the heart of Stratford-Upon-Avon making it a great location for exploring both Stratfod and the surrounding countryside.
The hotel is one that has been taken over by Mercure and is quite old, which in many ways adds to the charm. Only downside is small rooms.
The breakfast is quite wonderful, even though it is 10pounds per person extra. We sampled others in the area and decided this was better than offered elsewhere.
Room cost was quite reasonable. Parking is 10pounds per day extra. There are parking lots elsewhere for less. The hotel parking lot was overflowing on weekends.
Staff was very pleasant. Dining room meals were unremarkable.

Room Tip: I would recommend this to others who are looking for a hotel that reflects the heritage of the regio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciao-bg5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    697
    350
    142
    69
See reviews for
224
1,029
61
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant two night stay in a well situated hotel, right in the centre of Stratford. Very nice room at back of hotel, hence quiet, full of ye olde English character. Breakfast was very good. Minor quibbles- dirty marks on the bath panel was disappointing, and the hotel appeared rather understaffed for quite a busy Sunday night; with flustered staff rushing around. However, overall this hotel is to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

As mentioned the location of the hotel is excellent and there is a historical charm but the quality generally is poor. We too were initially given a room in the Garrick Wing which is through the car park. The room we were given was at street level with people and traffic literally outside the window. We asked to be moved and were offered a very small, dark, shabby room in the main building which was completely covered at the front by scaffolding and netting. After saying we were not happy with that either we were then offfered a suite . This was better- larger and lighter but the furnishings are tired, dated and shabby. The car park was full when we arrived but we were told to use the nearby NCP car park. After our evening out we went to the car park only to find it had closed at 8pm and so we were left driving around Stratford at midnight looking for somewhere to park! We had never been told this at check in. Altogether a big disappointment- we stay in Stratford a lot and this is the poorest hotel we have experienced.A big refurbishment needed urgently.

Room Tip: Definitely not Garrick wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank febwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on Sunday 21st October for my partner’s birthday weekend in Stratford upon Avon.

Excellent location right in the centre of the town. I loved the charm of this hotel, and even though it was very old, the hotel had a lovely warm feeling to it.

Room 104 was excellent (although no view as such!) but we were not planning on staying in there long. The bed was comfy, and the best sleep I’ve had in a long time, despite worrying about ghosts and squeaky floorboards, we never heard a thing!

The staff were what we would expect from a hotel of this nature, friendly and helpful and very professional. We did not eat in the hotel as there are lots of lovely restaurants and pubs in the surrounding town and for breakfast we went to Wetherspoons across the road, which was a lot more reasonable than the hotel charges. We did however have a hot drink in the hotel reception/lounge area which was comfortable and very relaxing.

There is a good pub along the street from the car park entrance which is very relaxing for a drink and they do the best burgers I’ve ever tasted!!!

I would stay in this hotel again but only if we could get a good deal again as the general tariff is quite expensive and the hotel parking is £10 for residents.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterfieldJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellant, as it sits right in the centre of Stratford, so is very close to everything you would want to see. That is the only positive comment I can give.

The photos on the website are taken very well and give you the impression that the rooms are in good order and recently refirbished, not so.

The first room we were allocated was in the Garrick Wing, which is not even part of the hotel building, fortuantely it didn't rain during our stay of the 100 yard walk to the main building for Breakfast would have resulted in us getting soaked. We asked to be changed and were offered another room in the Main building, this room turned out to be worse than the other room as it was dark and very poorly appointed.

We chose to return to the first room as that what our only alternative. Unfortunately, when we tried to sleep we found that our double bed was in fact 2 singles pushed together, with the slightest movement causing them to move apart. If that wasn't bad enough the Garrick Wing rooms are located at the rear of the Hotel and Restaurants in Sheep Street, which meant constant noise in the evening until they closed at approx Midnight, and then when the early shift arrived at 5am the next morning the noise started again, which was horrendouse with bottles being emptied into skips/bins etc.

There are many Hotels to choose from in Stratford, avoid this one!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel is the only help I could possibly give
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guests,

Please accept my sincere apologies for your poor experience.

In order to restore faith in the hotel I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our junior suites on a preferred rate and a free bottle of wine upon arrival. Please reply to this email to make the necessary arrangements and I will personally look after your reservation.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,






Marnix Teeken

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This beautiful old building is in the centre of Stratford. The decor is good and complements the wonderful period features. I booked two standard rooms and was upgraded immediately because of my A Club Gold status. My room was a junior suite in the old building with small sitting room, well appointed bathroom and comfortable bed. My sister's room was a large room with a four poster. Both rooms were spotlessly clean. Reception staff very helpful and efficient, also staff in the morning at breakfast. I did not eat at the hotel as Stratford has many good restaurants within a short walk.

The only downside is a car park charge of £10 per day which is very steep. On the other hand, the wifi was free - Mercure used to charge exorbitant daily rates for this and I hope this change is for the whole group.

I only stayed one night, and on that very short experience have no reservation at all in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your positive review and kind comments about our team and the cleanliness of your room. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and everything that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing