We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penryn Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$91
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ettington Park Hotel(Alderminster)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratford Limes Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Townhouse(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$109
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$154
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$124
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
231
84
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
84
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne hathaway's cottagetown centresewing kitcoffee and cakeminute walkon arrivalbreakfast was excellentgreat showermain roadfresh milkbreakfast roomfull english breakfastlovely guesthousecomfortable bedwithin walking distanceplenty of parkingoff road parking
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 332 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just back from a nice weekend in Stratford. I booked this B and B as the reviews on trip advisor led me to believe it was a dog friendly accomodation. We were able to take our young dog (5 months old and very we'll behaved / fully house trained) with us. he was allowed to stay in our room but that is a s far as the dog friendliness went. Additional cost for dog of £10 per night which we paid willingly but very disappointed with the service and attitude of the owners.
we were not allowed to take him into the dining room for breakfast and I suppose this is fair enough. We appreciate that not all guests would be comfortable with it. However this meant that we had to dine separately and were offered no alternative such as breakfast together in our room, which would have been absolutely fine for us. The owner rushed us through breakfast as he needed the table for next guests and had not allowed time for us to dine separately.
In fact we felt quite uncomfortable as the owners did not really welcome us at all. We felt that we had to keep the dog quiet all the time and keep him out of sight of the owners / other guests.

the good bits.......average room but quite small and cramped. Comfortable beds. Well maintained property and good breakfast. Shower cold even though water was running for ages.
By all means stay here for a short break but would not advise you to take a pet. Overall, in my opinion not great value for money.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena C, Owner at Penryn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Patricia,

First of all, thank you for staying with us and we are sorry if you didn't have a great stay.
As a dog owner, you have to understand that as per Health and Safety Regulations you are not allowed to bring the pet into the dining room, even if you were the only guest. You decided yourself to eat separately as you could have very easily leave the dog in the room on its own and eat together. However, you came down for breakfast 25 min later than your stated time.
Whilst you stayed with us, you had the key for your room and for the property and you were free to do whatever you like, no one suggested you have to keep quieter than any other guest. Regards,
Elena & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stay here in late October and we loved this guest house. The bedroom was cozy and the beds were so clean and comfortable. Fresh towels every day (including face cloths), lovely toiletries and the best shower! The breakfasts were so lovely and hot. The staff were always smiling and could not do enough for us. It is just a short walk to the town and the fish and chips at the Red Lion were the best!! Anne Hathaway's cottage is just a 5 minute car ride away. Tip: buy the 5 house ticket as it works out so much cheaper. No hesitation in recommending this guest house.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 at back of house and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouver111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here.Staying in room 5 it was a very spacious room and felt like home straight away.The bed is very comfortable,clean and tidy.The bathroom is large with what I would say is a power shower.It was awesome.
Only reason I have given the place 4/5 stars is the noise from the traffic may put people off who are light sleepers.Even with the windows closed it is noticable.
Breakfasts were very good and cooked to prefection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartMcV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I don't usually write a review but felt it was warranted here. I stayed at the Penryn for the past 2 nights and it is really a wonderful B&B. All the good comments from past reviewers were right on and my addition would be that I didn't find one thing that I would complain about. Even the shower, which isn't always that great in a B&B in England, was perfection. It flowed as if you were staying at the Four Seasons. And the bed was really comfortable...as it would be, also at the Four Seasons. Very charming owner and staff. You really can't go wrong with this choice. (One note: It is located a short 10 minute walk to the center of Stratford-upon-Avon and only about a 5 minute walk to the train station. A great place to stay. There is NO fitness center or Pool...I might have accidentally checked those boxes.

Room Tip: I stayed on the street side but with the double glazed windows, I couldn't hear anything
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Five of us stayed for two nights at this very nice guest house where the owners were very hospitable. The rooms were all very clean with everything you needed. There were toiletries available in the bathroom for you to use. Drinks and biscuits were also left in the room. The beds were very comfortable. It was very quiet even though our room was on the ground floor at the front. There was plenty of choice for breakfast with a full English if you wished, along with cereals, fruit and yoghurt. It took about 15/20 minutes for us to walk into the centre of Stratford. Although the weather was not perfect, it did not keep us in and we enjoyed a boat trip for 40 minutes. If you wish a small and friendly guest house close to Stratford centre, then Penryn is one to book into. We would highly recommend it and would stay again if returning to Stratford.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the ground floor are ideal, especially if you are unable to walk upstairs very well. We were able to park our car at the front of the guest house which was handy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews