We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely sunny location, even on a dismal grey day.”
Review of Box Brownie Coffee

Box Brownie Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Bringing darn good coffee to the Stratford masses. Monmouth espresso & guest beans from artisan roasters. Backing British farmers & our cake lady is a legend.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely sunny location, even on a dismal grey day.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this cafe are amongst the friendliest and happiest people I've observed in some time. Our table was near the door and every time a new customer (tourist and 'regulars' alike) entered they were greeted by a warm and friendly face (see photo, posted separately). We both had the carrot & coriander soup. Later I had an Americano, which was delicious. My beau's latte was a work of art. My biscotti was suitably almond filled whilst my beau's cake was said to be moist, rich and delicious. Definitely a great spot of 'sunshine' on an otherwise grey and drab day in Stratford-upon-Avon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drystonewalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    75
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Slightly quirky, a gem of a place”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just popped in for a snack at lunchtime. I had a sausage roll which was probably the tastiest I have ever eaten. Only downside was it seemed a bit cramped for space.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricklangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee for sure!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location in centre of town. Best coffee to be found in the area, made by a barista not a push button automatic machine.

Free wifi and friendly staff. Cakes and light snacks available.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillDanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
742 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good quality and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stratford appears to have lost a few of its good coffee and tea shops, so it was good to find a replacement. Met friends for morning drinks and we had good quality lattes, with cakes, and all very reasonable priced and with friendly staff. But I had tea and was a little disappointed to get the bag in the cup, why no teapot!! We will revisit especially if they buy teapots!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Best Mocha I have ever had!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It is sometimes hard to find anywhere different in Stratford (i.e. not a major chain) or is not rammed full of people. Box Brownie offers something a quaint and friendly. Both the coffee and cakes were wonderful (would recommend the courgette cake). Friendly service and reasonable prices. Certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Box Brownie Coffee also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Box Brownie Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing