We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service”

RSC Rooftop Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
RSC Rooftop Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the very best of British food in relaxed and stylish surroundings with stunning views from our theatres in Stratford-upon-Avon.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went for lunch here. There is a good menu selection. Service was attentive but not cloying. We were pleased our waitress advised we only needed one serving of chips between two. Puddings looked lovely, but our main course was more than enough. Good value champagne by the glass too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    408
    162
    92
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and great food!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I went for a meal at the Rooftop Restaurant before I watched David Tennant as Richard II. Food was very nice and good service, lovely surroundings too, would highly recommend for a special occasion or a pre theatre meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely food, slic service.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked for an early evening meal and had a very relaxing evening with very good food before we even got to see Richard II. It is an excellent pre- theatre menu with really good choices. The service is very slic and professional. Bread and water were included in the price of the meal. I started with the duck roulade and then had the confit of chicken with a mushroom and sage risotto both well presented and delicious and I finished with the treacle tart and honeycomb ice cream, more of a cake than a tart, the pieces of honeycomb were delicious. My husband had the mackerel followed by the venison, both delicious and he finished with the orange drizzle cake, which he loved. With a glass of wine each and coffee it came to £75. It was so good we have booked to go back on Friday.....but without David Tennant to look forward to!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Having read the reviews I'm willing to believe that our experience wasn't typical, but I won't be risking another visit.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile


We were given menus and shown to our table at 6 by a friendly host. Good start. Curtain up at 7.30 loads of time for a drink, some food and a coffee.
20 minutes later we were sitting at that table looking at each other and the butter dish. We eventually managed to catch the eye of a waiter and were offered water. As he started turned to leave we asked if we could order and ordered a couple of glasses of wine and main courses. Three minutes later a waitress arrived with the mains. Actually they went to the next door table first. I said that we were waiting for drinks and bread (that was sitting on top of the serving station just beyond reach). We asked if we could get our drinks and the mains were taken away. Drinks arrived a few minutes later. Mains reappeared over 20 minutes later. Punishment for daring to ask for things in the right order? Certainly felt like it. The food was good, but we were fed up.
We ordered cheese as that seemed like a quick option (with a four quid supplement each). Another wait and at 7.10 the cheese arrived. Straight from the fridge.
I asked for the bill, which came straight away and we put cash out. Then a waiter turned up with his credit card machine asking us to pay.

Really, really disappointing.

Pre-theatre dining is really simple guys. Guests arrive, seat with menus and take a drinks order within a couple of minutes. Bring drinks and take food order. Serve food to correct table. Collect plates and offer pudding, cheese and coffee. Allocate at least one of your service team to each table so someone is responsible. The latter would be the best thing you could do. Train your team. Coach them. Care about your customers. Be friendly.
Good luck.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank JulieAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Service was slow and there were a number of items which had run out, including the vegetarian option which two of my family wanted, so they chose a fish dish, only to be told this was also out. So they were left with another fish dish as the only option. Also brown bread - only had white left.
But we had a great table by a window and after quite a wait our drinks order was given, they arrived seconds prior to the food !!
The food was OK, but did consider my chicken over cooked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoddyIghthamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSC Rooftop Restaurant also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to RSC Rooftop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing