We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay. Friendly staff but very hard beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for three nights in April. We stayed in a 'suite' which was really just a very large room with the addition of a dining table and two chairs. Nice enough though. Lovely bathroom with separate large shower cubicle as well as a bath. The bed however was so hard is was like laying on hardboard. Staff were very friendly as were the staff in the restaurant and bar. Breakfast was nice enough although very slow. Staff were nice but just seemed very busy. Great location for the town centre and the RSC. Literally three minutes walk away. A very pleasant stay but would probably stay somewhere else next time due to the very hard bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; it is through continuous feedback from guests that we are able to objectively review the facilities and service we offer, thus ensuring that they not only meet our guests’ expectations, but also our own standards of excellence.
I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. We do try to ensure that our guests have a relaxed and memorable stay, and it is always good to receive positive feedback. Should you be returning to the Swans Nest in the future, please note that although all beds are fitted with matress protectors and toppers we are able to offer additional matress toppers should you require, in order to make the bed softer and provide you with a more comfortable nights sleep.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

The location of this hotel could not be better, however the hotel left a lot to be desired, the service was poor at breakfast we had to queue waiting for a table to be cleared on each day of our stay, the policy seamed to be only to clear a table when people turned up which meant you had to eat your breakfast surrounded by dirty tables, the staff had to be constantly asked to replenish food at the buffet. The car park was £5 to park in, it is also used as a public car park on two occasions after a day out I had to sit and wait in the car until a space became available. The room was ok but certainly not 4 star only one shampoo, shower gel etc was put out in the room and replenished which meant we had to share, I could have asked for more to be put into the room but you should not have to. We will defiantly visit Stratford upon Avon again but choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with expectations, especially as you say, we are in the perfect location for strolling into Stratford. I would like to reassure you that your comments will be discussed at our weekly Head of Department meeting and taken on board. I would also like to point out that if required, additional car park spaces are available at our sister hotel directly across the road.
I shall be working closely with the manager of le bistrot pierre looking at ways in which to imporve standards and quality of food served at breakfast. It is always our intention for guests to enjoy a positive dining experience whilst eating with us and I am sorry if this was not the case during your visit.
I would like to thank you for your comments in order that we can make improvements in these areas. Claire Pizer - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Booked online, and arrived late on Sunday afternoon, check in quick and simple. The room was fine, not large, but clean, and fairly well stocked, didn't see a mini bar or safety deposit box, which was advertised on booking.com, that said we weren't too fussed, but if you would want these things then check with the hotel! There were tea/coffee making facilities and reception were quick to provide additional milk when we asked. There was also a bottle of free water, but DONT remove the bottle from the room as for some reason you will be charged £8 if you do!!!! The bathroom was quite large, but a tad dated, the shower head was fixed and an old fashioned type. Breakfast was good and plentiful, make sure you get it included though as its fairly expensive as an add on, and the choice of fresh fruit was a bit limited. Parking here is good, but again, its limited, we just about managed to get the last space on the car park, but it only costs £5 for the duration of your stay, so fantastic value. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. All in all a nice hotel, really close to the town centre, which is just a few minutes walk away, a definite step up from a Premier Inn, but not luxurious, that said its good value for money. Try and get a room overlooking the river, we didn't, and wish we had!

Room Tip: overlooking the river
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; it is through continuous feedback from guests that we are able to objectively review the facilities and service we offer, thus ensuring that they not only meet our guests’ expectations, but also our own standards of excellence.
I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. We do try to ensure that our guests have a relaxed and memorable stay, and it is always good to receive positive feedback. I shall share this with the team in order to provide motivation and help increase staff morale.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

An old hotel with little insulation between rooms and even less sound deadening between neighbours slamming doors at 7am !!
Don't mind that so much as there is little the hotel can do about ignorant, selfish guests..... However, the breakfast was genuinely the worst I have even been offered.... And I've eaten some questionable curries the morning after the night before and I would happily have eaten any of these in place of the uncooked sausage, tasteless unseasoned scrambled eggs and OMG the black pudding was that only in name and certainly not in texture or flavour.
Staff were apologetic but the chef should be ashamed of his breakfast service.
Given the variety and quality of establishments serving good quality food, this hotel really needs to up its game.
You have been advised

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 39SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with expectations and I shall be working with my maintenance manager looking at ways in which to reduce sound disturbance from the doors.
It is also always our intention for guests to enjoy a positive dining experience whilst eating in the restaurant and I am sorry that this was not the case during your visit. I shall be working closely with the manager of le bistrot pierre looking at ways in which to imporve standards and quality of food served at breakfast and thank you for your comments in order that we can make improvements in this area as a priority.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A really disappointed stay-cannot believe that this can be classed as 4 star...it's like a travel lodge. I specifically booked based on 'on site leisure facilities', in reality on site at an off site partner hotel! I also booked on the promise of 'breakfast included' only to be told the following morning, after queuing for 10 minutes at the packed breakfast room, that it will be an additional £40. How can this hotel get away with misleading people like this?!? The rooms are tired and shabby, we had to change rooms three times as, although we booked an executive double, the first room was tiny and dirty. The second still tiny, the third (a twin) was larger but still holiday inn-esque. Service on the front desk was really poor, I recently backpacked round Bolivia and stayed in youth hostels with far better receptionists, we weren't shown to our room, given any advice, a map of the local area, nothing, it's was like being served in a petrol station. Lastly, the cherry on the cake is the busy, rowdy pub attached to the side-filling one side of the hotel with the aroma of stale wine and beer! This also meant empty glasses strewn throughout the corridors,and the occasional fight, we saw 3 during a two night stay! All in all, a horrible stay that I can only hope we can laugh about in the future! We came to stratford for a mini-moon, the day after our wedding, wrongly believing that £150 a night would get you a reasonable room in a decent hotel. WRONG! It certainly would in Central London?!? I loved stratford and would return again, but would never stay in this hotel or this chain again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batgirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Further to your recent stay at The Macdonald Swans Nest, thank you for taking the time to give us your comments; it is only through continuous feedback from our customers that we are able to objectively review the facilities and service we offer, and ensure that they meet with guest expectations.
Clearly, you were disappointed in your stay with us, and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any shortfalls in our standards and service. I will be discussing all of your comments with those concerned so that the appropriate action may be taken, however, I do assure you that the issues you highlight do not reflect our usual high standards.
The issues you highlight will be worked on as a priority and we hope to make improvements in these areas with immediate effect
Claire Pizer - Operations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Pros:
Service good
Beds v comfortable
Good housekeeping
Very good choice of ales at brilliant prices
Great location
Spacious empty fridge – bring your own wine?!
Brilliant Thai restaurant opposite, esp. Sunday lunch “all you can eat buffet”

Cons:
For anyone with limited mobility, don't stay here: swing doors to enter/exit the hotel, steps everywhere, long corridors.
Check-in process was a nightmare because there was an error in the booking.
No lifts
Room cramped.
No bathrobes.
No light bulb in bedside lamp
Broken standard lamp, propped against the back of a chair, (plus the knob fell off!)
No handle on fridge cupboard - no “mini bar”.
Banging doors -this hotel needs to take all it's doors off and put felt on them.
Food in both the bar and bistro was tasteless, not worth the money and did not fit the description given.
For this reason, we did not have breakfast at the hotel.
The bar has a large TV in it, rather like a local pub and, with Liverpool playing (?) Chelsea, the noise was horrendous, followed by a loud argument between fans in the reception area which no one attempted to stop.
Foul language was ignored by the management despite small children being around.
The bistro house wine was horrible.

Room Tip: If you are booking through a website, telephone the hotel to ensure that you are getting what you wa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive comments, which will be discussed at our weekly Head of Department meeting and taken on board, and sincere apologies for any shortfall in standards during your stay. Staff training is ongoing and your feedback will be valuable in helping us to move forward. The issues you highlight will be worked on as a priority and we hope to make improvements in these areas with immediate effect.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, very central in Stratford near theatre and centre. The hotel is old and quite beautiful. Parking was at a total cost of 5 pounds for the total length of the stay regardless of how long. You cannot book parking and should it be full you have to park in expensive alternative places. There was enough space when I got there, I don't know whether this can be a problem.
Reception staff was very young but friendly. Check-in was quick and easy.
The room was good, nothing special but there were the basics such as coffee and tea making facilities, complementary water, blow dryer, ironing facilities. No bathrobe, slippers or minibar. The bed was comfortable and the window could open. The heater or airco could be managed in the room. There were basic toiletries. Enough plugs and enough room to leave your things around. Bathroom was spacious enough, but no bath, just a shower.
Room service was not of good quality but okay. Breakfast was okay, not excellent but just okay. Could have been fresher e.g. the croissants were not fresh and the scrambled eggs not very good.
The cappuccino on the other hand was very good. Breakfast staff was young but friendly. Their manager shouted at them while we, the guests could hear it, it was a bit strange.
We had a meeting and the meeting room was good, temperature okay and water etc. changed at every break.
Lunch was served but there wasn't a lot of place to sit down. also lunch wasn't fresh, the bread a bit dry and it wasn't enough. Noi drinks were served during lunch on all days, sometimes just water. For three days we had the same pie for lunch, just cut into smaller pieces. Sometimes the snacks were good e.g. macaroons and shortbread.
Coffee and tea served during the meeting were not very good, very weak coffee and tea tasting like coffee.
Dinner at restaurant was okay, staff very friendly. Especially a French girl with dark hair.
Check out was easy and friendly.
Only internet connection was the cloud and many of our companies wouldn't allow us to use it, there is no wifi otherwise.
Next time I would stay somewhere else with better and more food, although the stay was okay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with all expectations, especially as you say, we are in the perfect location for strolling into Stratford. I would like to reassure you that your comments will be discussed at our weekly Head of Department meeting and taken on board. I would also like to point out that if required, additional car park spaces are available at our sister hotel directly across the road. We also offer robes and slippers in our executive rooms and baths in some rooms if preferred. In addition we are also able to offer alternative forms of broadband and wifi to conference guests should we be aware that this is required.
I shall be working closely with the manager of le bistrot pierre looking at ways in which to imporve standards and quality of food served. It is always our intention for guests to enjoy a positive dining experience whilst eating with us and I am sorry if this was not always the case during your visit.
I would like to thank you for your comments in order that we can make improvements in these areas. Claire Pizer - Operations Manager


Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive comments, which will be discussed with the manager of Le Bistrot Pierre and taken on board, and sincere apologies for any shortfall in standards during your stay. Staff training is ongoing and your feedback will be valuable in helping us to move forward. The issues you highlight will be worked on as a priority and we hope to make improvements in these areas with immediate effect.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,802 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $97 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing