We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had my daughters wedding here, and we had a wonderful time and day, we almost took over the hotel, the food for a sit down of 95 was as good as it could be....
We also ate in the Bear the day before which was fab and the Perrie bistro is fab, a little bit of France in SUA..... And that from my dad who's a French man,,,, high praised indeed.
A big thank you to all.
We stayed at the hotel it was a great room we did upgrade but it was worth it as had goodies in the room. Breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likefood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room was perfectly adequate but we had been expecting something a little more characterful. The traditional part of the building is small and most of the rooms seem to be in a somewhat institutional-feeling, modern extension. A long corridor led to a room with no bathtub, and whose shower offered nothing but an overhead fitting - so it was an "all or nothing" deal when it came to personal hygiene! There was a small fridge but it offered only cold storage space - no mini-bar type goodies of any kind. The frame round our window was so rotten that chunks of it came away when we opened it for some air. In Stratford Upon Avon you would have thought it might be obvious that guests would appreciate having a decent map of the city centre and principal sights / places of interest available. But there was only a very dark photocopy of one on offer at the Reception desk, and no information whatever in the room. On the "plus" side, the staff kindly looked after our luggage after checkout, as our train back to London didn't leave until 5 in the afternoon, and the location, near the river and just across the bridge from the Royal Shakespeare theatre was very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 34 which appeared to have been recently updated with a wonderful shower in a new bathroom. The bedroom was huge with a separate lounge area. The hotel is in a great location, a pleasant short walk from all that Stratford has to offer.
The building appears to have been seriously neglected, but they appear to be working hard to sort things out.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Be aware no lift, so had to struggle up stairs with luggage. Room small, shower over bath, armed chair grubby. Alarm engineers fixing new alarms in our room and testing, just what we needed when we wanted to chill. At breakfast by 9am had run out of orange juice, could not replenish as no more on premises. Not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. On the plus side bed was comfortable and linen clean

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

this is an older hotel that has been modernized almost everywhere, the public areas are comfy and welcoming, but corridors are shabby. we booked an exec room and it was very well appointed and spacious. two of my favourite things were present in the bathroom, a great shower and decent towels but the toiletries are cheap and nasty, not befitting of a 4 star hotel from Macdonalds. Breakfast was shoddily served unfortunately, as the actual full English was well cooked and good quality. Disappointingly they had run out of ketchup which is a must have for me for a cooked breakfast.
It is a brilliant location for the town, and we would return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Haroldsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our first stay and we will go back. A comfortable, clean and quiet room on the 1st floor overlooking the river. Well appointed room with all the facilites one needs. The staff at Reception and at Breakfast were charming and helpful. A splendid location. The outside and interior corridors were a bit tired but the room was good - scaffoldling going up outside which may freshen it up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We regularly stay at The Swan's Nest when visiting Stratford and are always happy. Room was comfortable, air conditioning first class and excellent shower. Breakfast was cooked to order and the coffee perfect!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wendydavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,476 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $102 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing