We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Visit to RSC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for Visit to RSC”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent just one night in the Swan's Nest with my wife in April for a visit to the RSC. Hotel staff very friendly. Room clean and made available for early checkin. Lunch in 'The Bear' bar was very good and breakfast the following morning was excellent. Hotel is a short and very pleasant walk from the RSC. Only negative is that they charge £5 for parking in the hotel car park over night and charge for WiFi both of which I think is outrageous and just penny pinching. Otherwise, I'd recommend to anyone for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKDAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    597
    383
    143
    97
See reviews for
199
1,122
40
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This isn't my first trip to Stratford, normally we stay in the partnering Alvesten Manor but it was full so we decided to book the Swans Nest. Same price, same location, same company. What could go wrong?

The outside looks horrid, coming in from the car park its like a service entrance with tired frames, peeling paint work. This continues in the interior. Staff were unimpressive, it was more like a chore to check us in.

When we got into the room it was clean and tidy with all the facilities in place. You do only get a warm bottle of tap/filtered water and some shabby looking sachets for hot drinks though.

The worst thing about this room was the huge crack across in the window it was sharp unsightly and really not good enough!!!!

If you want a decent hotel stay somewhere else NOT in this hotel!! it charges the same and under delivers in every aspect! its simply an overflow hotel from the Alveston nothing more! Save your money! For £130 you can get far far better

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The external appearance of this hotel is off-putting and unwelcoming with tired, peeling paintwork and a shabby entrance from the car park.

We walked through low-ceilinged, narrow corridors to the Reception where there were no staff. When someone turned up we didn't receive the warm and friendly welcome we'd expected from other reviews.

The seating area in the reception was crowded with some people sitting on the floor. The carpets were grubby and had it been my home I would have got out a vacuum cleaner to pick up debris.

Our room, No 205, was not impressive. It was tastelessly decorated and cold. The bathroom was in need of modernisation, particularly the bath/shower. Minimal toiletries provided and the towel rail was so hot you are at risk of burns.

I am assuming this hotel has 4 AA stars because there are some toiletries provided and a scruffy old iron and ironing table, bath robes and slippers. This doesn't make up for the fact that the whole place feels pretty grotty and a disappointment. The whole building has the feel of a rambling student hall of residence.

We've booked a pre-theatre dinner in Pierre's Bistro and thankfully will not have to spend much time in the hotel as we shall be at the theatre and will leave early in the morning.

Of note, if you would like a nightcap after 11 in the evening you have to ask the night porter to serve you, and breakfast is served from 8 a.m. which is a shame as it's not a hotel in which I shall enjoy a lie-in.

If you are choosing a hotel with easy access to the theatre you might try the Premiere Inn alongside and it would be a lot cheaper.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, they made you feel they were pleased you were there. The hotel is very close to everything and you can walk to most things. It is particularly convenient for the RSC. The room and bathroom were in very good condition, and very compfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Wales, U.K
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Splendid location- easy walk straight into town & very near the theatre. So brilliant that they accept dogs and even allow them in the bar. The room was good and the breakfast very good - plenty of choices and if you book the all inclusive price it's really good value, especially for central Stratford. Parking is cheap and on site- also very good for the town centre. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the staff were great. The breakfast staff were especially efficient and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieandLewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After parking in this hotel's car park, you see window frames in need of paint and a shabby side entrance. Two long corridors later, you get a better impression upon reaching reception. This is a really decent hotel with clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable rooms. It is ideally located for touring Stratford - just a 4 min walk across a pedestrianised bridge. I would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

stayed at this hotel with my wife for three days in the middle of March. We found the hotel clean and tidy and all staff very pleasant. The bedroom was of a ample size for two us and the bathroom and shower was of a good standard. The bed was very comfortable and the room was really warm and cosy. We had booked with breakfast included and this was of a good quality and many different varieties and choices for people to taste were available. The breakfast was a little expensive if you were paying as you eat and had not pre booked it through your booking. The retaurant and bar are very nice and you can enjoy good food in nice surroundings. The car park is a pay and display for the public and for hotel patrons it is five pounds per stay and the car park is next to the hotel. If you are staying at the hotel the five pounds is charged to your bill you do not need to put your money in the pay and display. The hotel is a short walk across the river by footbridge or walk way to the town centre and the shakespeare theatre and there are many lovely restaurants and bars on your door step. Although the weather was cold it was a very enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to returning back in the summer when a bit warmer for some dining and drinking alfresco.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view across to the river. We stayed in a room that looked out on to a squar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blowerLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,737 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing