We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, good people, superb location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, good people, superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been a regular at the Swans Nest for a couple of months staying for extended stays whilst I'm over internationally for work.

The place is like "Cheers" where everyone knows your name. The staff have really looked after me and I would recommend the place (and do) to everyone.

The attached restaurant is fantastic and many a locals preferred. Jason is outstanding. The attached bar is also a great known local with a good atmosphere to have a bev with friends, watch football or read a book on a Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cstaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    565
    362
    135
    94
See reviews for
185
1,058
38
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 25th Jan! Great room with views of the river from 2 windows! Everything you need in a very a spacious room! It was in the old part of the hotel and the uneven floor added to the ambience! Good restaurant (La Pierre Bistro) within the building and a great evening in the attached pub (The Bear). Great live music! All the staff very friendly and helpful. Will be back for sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Bit of a mixed bag. The old part of the hotel is nice but it is blighted by a 1970s extension. There is a £5 charge to park in a car park with no security. We visited in late January and the lobby area was completely unheated so it was a similar temperature to outside. Rooms are in need of some updating. The best thing about the hotel is the pub which shares the same building (The Bear). It has a great atmosphere and a good range of beers. The restaurant is a reasonably nice space and the food is OK, but the staff are very disorganised, especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Swans Nest was the venue for a 5 day residential training course. I would like to compliment all the staff who made my stay at the hotel during the course very enjoyable and relaxing. My room was first rate with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast and dinner choices served in Le Bistrot Pierre were good and the quality and presentation of the food was first class - all my colleagues commented on the high standard of food. The Bear Inn bar was also very comfortable and served a huge range of ales and beers. The location of the hotel is on the banks of the river and very close to town, although sadly I didn’t quite manage to visit Stratford Upon Avon and all it has to offer so a return is a must and a stay at the Swans Nest is guaranteed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited Stratford to see, Merry Wives of Windsor at the RSC Theatre and to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary.
The hotel was ideal within easy walking direction to both the Theatre and later to the centre of town.
Staff were 1st class. Although the restaurant closed at 10pm they arranged for a tray of sandwiches tea/coffee to be available on our return from the theatre. Dined in the restaurant on the 2nd evening and found it had a varied menu, food excellent, service excellent and reasonable prices.
Room was warm, clean and comfortable. Tea /Coffee facilities. Bathroom / Shower in good order.

Would be happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've visited various hotels in Stratford over the years but The Swan's Nest has become our preferred hotel when staying over after a visit to the RSC. The location is just across the river with a pleasant five minute walk over the pedestrianised tram line bridge to the theatre and main part of town.

All the staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and nicely decorated. The corridors, however, might make you wonder...being painted a rather dull bluish grey but other public areas, the reception, dining room and bar feel much more welcoming. It would be a nice touch,however, as other reviewers have mentioned, if guests of the hotel did not need to pay an extra £5 for parking.

Breakfast was fine, with a cold help-yourself buffet and waitress service for the cooked menu.

One tip...if you sign up to the Macdonald hotel website and book online you can usually get a discount for advance booking and at certain times of the year subscribers are offered rooms at special rates which make a stay at this hotel good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

As a surprise for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary our children had booked us into the Swan's Nest Hotel for two nights. It was a brilliant choice, just a five minute walk from the town. The staff were friendly but professional and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely room overlooking the river which was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The breakfast in the Bistro Restaurant was excellent and the staff efficient. We initially had a problem with our television but it was sorted very quickly as was the fact that we thought our room was chilly when we got back from some sight seeing. We would certainly be happy to stay at the Swan's Nest Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 290Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing