We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stratford Manor Hotel
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked a one night 'LOVE14' break for £160. This was supposed to include: champagne & chocolates, 'fluffy robes', a voucher for a spa treatment, 3 course dinner and optional (free) room service breakfast. We had to ask for the robes, the spa voucher and optional breakfast in bed were not mentioned; it would have been nice for this to be recognised.

The champagne was Lanson and the chocolates were nice. Dinner was a bit of a rollercoaster ride. Our order for food and wine was taken by the manager but the wine didn't arrive and when we asked for it, the wrong wine was brought out. The worrying thing about this was that the waiter who brought it kept saying 'All I was told was Sauvignon Blanc' when the bottle of wine he was holding was actually red. Anyway, this was soon rectified and we enjoyed our starters. Next up was the main - I was served mushroom risotto instead of ravioli so my husband began his dinner alone whilst we waited for the correct meal. The manager was very apologetic and offered us a complimentary drink which we accepted and decided to have later on. My meal finally arrived and it was lovely.

Finally, we were given dessert menus but our order wasn't taken for at least another twenty minutes. We ordered our free drinks too and then left the table so that I could go to the loo. I'm in a wheelchair at the moment with a broken ankle so my husband needed to wheel me to the disabled loo near the spa. Because we both had to leave the table, we let the waiter know as we were still waiting for our desserts to be delivered. We could have almost guessed that on our return, just five minutes later, our table was in the process of being cleared! Again, the issue was dealt with but there were hardly any guests in the restaurant and we'd made a point of saying that we were just stepping out for a minute - this should not have happened.

Later we discovered that we had been charged for two bottles of wine and had to have one removed from the bill. On checkout we elected not to pay the £10 service charge for the restaurant and mentioned the problems to the reception staff (who were polite, friendly and professional).

The reason we chose The Stratford Manor is because my leg is in plaster for quite some time and they have a number of excellent accessible bathrooms with wetroom showers (recommended to us) - ideal if you're off your feet and can't use the shower/bath at home. However, I've got to say that we used a Premier Inn recently for the same reason and found the staff, room, food and value for money to be infinitely better.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fantastic welcome, reception was warm and considerate.

All staff throughout the hotel were very helpful, polite & Friendly.

This hotel is managed well & it has a great supporting team :-)

We really enjoyed our stay and we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muz720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Visited for a weekend break including Dinner/Dance on Saturday night. Great setting for a modern hotel and easy access to Stratford and Warwick. Room was very good. Food OK but the toaster should be in a museum. Steps up to the Reception and the automatic front door was broken so access a bit tricky. Staff were great, helpful, polite and friendly. Drinks prices are very high so it's not the place for a few beers(when will hotels learn about this). We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel2819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Not really a manor more of a conference hotel. First impressions are not the best as one imagines a old manor hotel, but this is not. Presumably newly built for conferences/weddings and coach parties just a few minutes from Stratford on Avon. However we were on a dinner bed and breakfast deal that was excellent. Food is good, staff are excellent and comfy rooms, just that first impression that lingers. They have a nice gym, pool and spa so really everything needed, but really trading standards should insist in removing 'manor' from it's name. The shape is a big 'V' with rooms on 2 floors. Can be a very long walk if you are on an end as the restaurant is in the middle. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. A great location to explore Stratford upon Avon.

Room Tip: If you do not like walking especially up and down steps, ask for a room near the center of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked a package at this hotel for Valentines night with my boyfriend, including 2 30 min spa treatments, one night stay, dinner and breakfast. On arrival we were impressed with the grounds and were welcomed by a lovely receptionist who gave me a rose when we checked in!
We headed to the spa straight away as our treatments were booked for as soon as we'd arrived. I had a facial which lasted just over 10 minutes despite paying for a 30 min treatment and my boyfriends back massage took about the same amount of time. After being a little disappointed by this we then asked if we could book some more treatments to which we were told there was no availability until Tuesday which was a shame.
The food at dinner was lovely but it was spoiled by inattentive staff who couldn't really care less that we were left waiting about 40 mins between courses. We mentioned it to the front of house waiter but he did nothing to rectify the situation and just about managed to say sorry. We mentioned it again to the receptionist when checking out in the morning after he tried to charge us £10 for the bad service, but again he wasn't particularly interested and didn't ask us why we were refusing to pay the service charge. We left with a bad taste in our mouths and we won't be returning.

What could've been a lovely weekend was effectively spoiled by staff who couldn't care less if you were there or not.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachyHannahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Wiezak
Thank you for your review following your stay with us.
I am disapointed to read of your stay with us, this is not akin to our normal high levels of service. I have discussed your comments with the team here who have taken to heart your feelings in order to make the necessary changes to their service delivery.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very good location, easy to nip into Stratford, room clean, comfortable and spacious, headboard on the bed a bit tired but being picky as everything else was fine. The leisure facilities; Gym, swimming pool etc were available and were used by us, a pre-breakfast swim was very welcome and had the pool virtually to myself, it was quite busy on the Saturday afternoon, but with rubbish weather it wasn't surprising.
Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate, what should have been hot was!, the toaster however required a long wait, tea / coffee replenished on request. All the staff were friendly and helpful when required and all in all a pleasant weekend break and we would certainly stay here again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JubileeGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear JubileeGent
Thank you for your review of Stratford Manor Hotel.
I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay. What a great start to the day, a pool to yourself followed by a nice hot full English. I hope the rest of the day was as good for you.
Come again soon.
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed at the hotel twice now, for one night on both occasions with their dinner, bed and breakfast package. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you would expect. The deal includes £26 per person to spend on dinner which makes the deal great value. The quality of food at dinner and breakfast is excellent. The staff throughout the hotel could not be more pleasant or helpful. We used the spa facilities on the evening we arrived and the next day. There is an excellent pool, a steam room and a sauna. All facilities were clean and quiet. I think the gym gets busier but we didn't use that. Our only gripe was that on both occasions the fire alarm went off and this is where the hotel let itself down. The staff said they were following procedures but they seemed disorganised and slow to ensure guests were properly looked after. On the first evening it wasn't too bad as we were eating in the bar but on the second occasion we were actually in the pool. We had to ask for robes and dry towels as we left the spa area and there were no slippers available. It was a cold night and we were freezing. Space blankets were not handed out until a long drawn out roll call was taken. The blankets could easily have been given to those of us who were wet as we left the hotel. It is a shame the staff have not had better training to manage these situations. The hotel us very convenient if you are visiting Stratford and we will go back but, if there is another fire alarm it might be our last visit.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room facing the back of the hotel if you prefer to look out over fields rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Allison6
Thank you for your Great review following your stay with us.
I am pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you approve of the facilities in the hotel. The Leisure and Spa is indeed a very relaxing environment, just what is needed after a busy week.
My apologies for the disturbance with the fire evacuation, guest safety is paramount for us. We now have slippers back in ready for if an evacuation is necessary again.
I hope to see you back again soon.
Yous sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Manor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $118 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratford Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stratford Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Manor Upon Avon
Hotel Stratford Manor
Stratford Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing