We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,594)
Filter reviews
1,594 results
Traveler rating
593
613
272
72
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
613
272
72
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews q hotels spa treatments breakaway club swimming pool sauna and steam room evening meal leisure facilities reception staff restaurant staff good size spa area lovely hotel short drive night break four star hotel trouser press plenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
927 - 932 of 1,594 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel, its staff, the comfort, the food....the whole lot really. It was like a mini retreat, and will definitely go back. A bus stop right outside the hotel meant I didn't have to struggle to drive in or park. £3.60 Day Rider well worth it. I was also impressed that in staying 3 nights, my bed was completely changed for my 3rd nights stay. Lovely, just lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear 7Lindsay
Thank you for your Lovely review of Stratford Manor Hotel. I am pleased that you have had a relaxing stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, Friday & Saturday. We booked a spacial deal on dinner & B&B, & had a special offer on a room upgrade. Pleased with the size of the room, had a larger seating area than a standard room, & had a drinks package of a bottle each of coke, san miguel, small wine, still & sparkiling water & fresh milk, & peanuts, these were replenished next day. We also had a newspaper each day, & dressing gowns. Our room was on the ground floor, so didn't have much of a view, just some bushes with the car park on the other side. Not having a view wasn't too much of a problem as it was dark most of the time we were in the room. I did find it to be very hot & stuffy in the room, despite turning off the radiator, didn't like to have the window open during the night being on the ground floor, so I didn't sleep very well. The room appeared to be clean, although paintwork on the walls looked a bit grubby & in need of a freshen up & sealent around the bathroom tiles needed replacing or a good scrub. We booked a table for dinner on arrival, the earliest available was 8.15pm. The restaurant wasn't full, but it took half an hour for our starter to arrive & our mains were served at 9.30. The lighting in the restaurant was very dim, a man three tables from us was using the light from his phone to read the menu. We booked a table for 7pm on the second night & the service was much better. Can't fault the food, this is the third Q hotel we have stayed in & the best for the food.
The location suited us, we were there to do Christmas shopping & visit family in the area, & as we know Stratford very well we found our way to & around the town with no problem. I would suggest for anyone who doesn't know the town to use one of the two park & rides. I would stay there again during winter months, but if I was there during summer (ie better weather) I would try the Q hotel 'The Stratford' which is in the town, so would have the opportunity of walking out in the evening, which one is not able to do at Stratford Manor due to it's countryside location.
One other point, as part of the deal we were on we had a £5 drinks voucher each, these were given to us on arrival & should have been presented at checkout, however we forgot & found the vouchers in our bag when we got home. Would suggest it would be a better idea to just credit the room account with this amount on arrival. I bet we are not the only ones who have done this.
Pool looked lovely, but didn't have time to use it

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor for a better view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinaCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear EdinaCloud
Thank you for your review of Stratford Manor Hotel. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked your QStar upgraded room. I believe our maintenance team have painted his room since you were with us so you should see some changes on your next visit.
Hopefully if you do come back you will find some time to experience our Spa & Leisure facilities, the massages are great.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

my mother in law and i stayed here for a 2 night spa break and we were not dissapointed the hotel is very nice with fantastic food and the staff were brilliant.our room was large and clean,the spa lovely and the massage we had by claire was out of this world. the host trevor was the jewel in the crown,he served us at brekfast and dinner and he was very efficiant,funny,kind,helpful,its safe to say we were sorry to leave him as we liked him that much.to sum it up we had a lovely time hotel was nice and the staff were fantastic,will def be going back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Alison p
I am glad to hear you and your mother in law had a Great spa break with us. Claire and Trevor are both extremely happy that they made your stay memorable. Our spa has recently changed its products to the Espa range, So maybe you could come back and try out one of our new and improved treatments, the essential oils are amazing.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went this hotel for a two day seminar. The staff on reception were great. The food was good but the service was really slow. The lunches were not brilliant but acceptable. The bar staff in the evening were fantastic one lad was training a new member of staff, both couldn't do enough. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_mozza_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Mike_mozza_morris
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you would recommend Stratford Manor Hotel. Dan, the new barman, is overjoyed that you were pleased with his service and is settling in well.
Hope to see you in the future.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Stratford Manor for a two night break using it as a base for our racing visit to Cheltenham as all hotels in that area were fully booked or had increased prices to a ridiculous amount. The drive leading up to the hotel and entrance are very impressive and although we arrived before the check in time our rooms were prepared. Receptionist was most polite and helpful and after booking in we travelled to Stratord which is 3 miles away but not a problem as the hotel has a resident taxi at evening periods although the cost is a little on the high side it is very reliable and driver friendly.

Our room was spacious ,roomy, comfortable and warm and the bathroom was also roomy with good lighting. We ate in the hotel on the first night although it was in the bar due to high demand in the restaurant but chose from the restaurant menu. This meal and the breakfast, which is self service could not be faulted, with plenty of choice and cooked breakfast hot and replenished when required.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly use this hotel in future on any future visit to the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Sandnal
Thank you for your Excellent review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you backed a few winners at the races. The team are pleased we could accommodate your early arrival allowing you to enjoy your spacious and comfortable room. Thank you for your great review of our breakfast please do come back to get another.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews