We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Valentines Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Early Valentines Weekend”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed in deluxe room, upgraded via online price match guarantee.

Fantastic, luxurious room.

Excellent service, though did seem as if there was not enough staff for the hotel.

Friendly staff.

Cheap room service....highly recommended.

Near centre of town, 5 min walk.
Next to station.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Perbinder
I would like to thank you for your post following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel and indeed for your e-mail directly to the hotel.
I was pleased to have read that you enjoyed your stay and I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    727
    137
    32
    25
See reviews for
228
1,231
40
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, England
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Within 400m of the town centre and with plenty of free parking, if you can get a good deal on this hotel, I suggest you try it.
Rooms are very well equipped and it's a super cooked breakfast with very good staff.
The downsides are the charges for the internet (after your 2 free hours) cost £5 for another 2 hours, and the pillows are horrendously hard.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
Wroughtironiron
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments relating to the staff, breakfast and generally your overall stay.
In terms of the internet and pillows, we have recently launched our new QStar rooms which include unlimited internet access in the rooms and have 'softer' feather and down pillows along with a whole host of goodies in the rooms including wine, beer, water, bathrobes and a personlised car parking space for you!
Once again thank you for your post and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future, maybe in a QStar room??
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Me and my gf went for a one night break to stratford on 29th january. Stayed at The Stratford and really enjoyed are stay. The hotel was modern, clean and the rooms were the best we have stayed in for the price, feature wallpaper, dark oak furniture, flat screen tv, everythin you want in a modern chic hotel an at £79 a night its a bargain.. The bathroom was very clean and classy with a great powerful shower. Quick and easy check in but the only problem we had was that we booked a double room and we were given a twin which made our nights sleep uncomfortable, our own fault though as we are not the type to complain and the room was still fantastic. The Maids do a fantastic job to keep the rooms in that condition. The breakfast was lovely and had everything you want, english and continental breakfast aswell as the usual cereals and toast. Good quality food though and that is sometimes a problem with some hotels but the sausage and bacon wasnt cheap rommel. All in all a great hotel. We didnt eat in the restaurant on the night as we eaten out but wish we would of tried the hotel restaurant now.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlos1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Carlos
Thank you for taking the time to write a post following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
I was delighted to read of your enjoyable stay and for recognising the great work of the housekeeping team, I will personally ensure they see your comments.
I hope we get to see you at the hotel in the near future when you will be able to sample Quills restaurant!!
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We booked a weekend treat for ourselves before Christmas.
The we had snow all over the country. We contacted the hotel and said that we couldn't travel (we only live an hour away) because of the weather.
We got very short shrift from staff who were unhelpful to the point of being rude and were told that it was our problem, not theirs.
They refused to reschedule or do anything to help in any way. I have since written to their customer relations manager, and got the same answer in about 3 sentences.
Do they really think that that sort of customer relations is going to endear them.
If you're staying here make sure there is no chance of snow, rain, too much sun etc !!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
MarkTracey
Thank you for your post. As with many areas of the travel industry we offer both flexible rates and what we call our 'saver' rates that are non refundable and non changeable, if one of our flexible rates had been booked in this situation we would have more than happily re-arranged your stay.
My team were instructed to stick to the terms and conditions of the rates and I can assure you it was not their intention to come over as rude, as you can see from previous posts we pride ourselves on our customer service delivery at The Stratford Hotel.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Very well appointed hotel set in attractive wooded grounds within walking distance of the centre of Stratford. Our room was superbly appointed and newly refurbished with an excellent en-suite. Only down side was, it was a bit on the small side, but this wasn't a problem.

We did eat dinner in the restaurant on the second night. The food was of a high standard with exceptional service. Unfortunately, I found a hair in my main course. When I informed the waitress she was exteremly apologetic and without my request the manager later came over to apologise. I was offered a replacement and was not charged, and our wine was given complimentary.
We did not drink in the hotel bar, but did try out some of the local more traditional pubs all come complete with a good selection of lagers and real ales and a toasty real fire.

If Indian cuisine is your bag, check out the fantastic Mint3 situated in Greenhill St. It was late, and we had the restaurant to ourselves, this abled impecable service and the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulfulMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Da Minx

Thank you for taking the time to review The Stratford Hotel following your recent stay.

I apologise for the issue you experienced in Quills Restaurant however I was delighted that the issue was resolved immediately and in a satisfctory manner.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Chris Steadman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed for two nights and what a wonderful time we had. Close to the centre of Stratford and very comfortable. Can`t wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmas_the_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Emma

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Stayed here on a Sunday night and could not fault it at all

Rooms were large and beautifully decorated in a contemporary style (took some inspiration for re-designing my own bedroom from it !)

Staff were friendly and very efficient indeed.

Gorgeous and stylist hotel right in the heart of the beautiful town of Stratford (Hotel is about 2 minutes walk in a straight line to the town centre)

Great value for money and can't wait to return

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitherson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Smitherson1

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Stratford.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Maybe on your next visit we can see the pictures of the redecoration works?

I look forward to seeing you at the hotel again very soon.

Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,078 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing