We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stratford, A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel for our friends 50th birthday weekend which was a surprise for her. So pleased we chose this hotel, from the time we arrived all the staff from the receptionists to the night porter on the bar were so friendly. The rooms are very nicely decorated with a wonderfully clean bathroom, so very important to me these days. The breakfast next morning was lovely with a help yourself basis. The hotel was a good 15 min walk to the river where we were going on boat for dinner. A nice stroll back in the evening passing a nicely converted pub to stop at for a Baileys and coffee before got back to the hotel to have another served by a very nice night porter. Would we stay here again - definitely I wish there were a few more hotels around like this.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crystal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Crystal60

I am delighted that you had a fab stay and enjoyed Stratford upon Avon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    697
    129
    28
    23
See reviews for
219
1,175
39
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

15 min walk to Swan Theatre and the nice bistro restaurants on Sheep Street. Lovely boutique hotel, modern design which is a nice relief to the Elizabethan charm of the town and the Shakespeare tourism. Our room had lots of nice features - bathrobes, steam-free bathroom mirror, complimentary mineral water in the minibar. Nice nouvelle cuisine restaurant and cocktail bar. There was a wedding on and the noise could not be heard in our first floor room. Plenty of parking. Large and well equipped fitness centre. Friendly and efficient staff. I selected the hotel mainly for the price and proximity to the theatres and thought it good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThroughPassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Throughpassenger

Thanks for your fab review!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My daughter's Wedding Breakfast and Evening Celebration was held here March 2014. It was a fantastic experience from the time of the first contact to the actual event. All my daughter's concerns and requirements were dealt with smoothly with a service that is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, one of the children wanted the same meal that younger ones were having, her original one was promptly removed and the chef supplied the replacement minutes later! The meal and service was highly praised by all the guests. As several of the family had to travel to the wedding many of us stayed over night. The hotel moved two of the guests to another room when they were disturbed by a noisy air conditioner. Breakfast was superb and our room was perfect, comfortable, clean and inviting. All the staff were charming, polite and offers of help and advice freely given. They dealt with 3 very active 8 years old with a smile! I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone considering holding a similar event here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxinan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Maxinan2014

Thank you for the review. I am so pleased the team from start to finish ensured the experience was memorable.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in March 2014. Hotel is nicely decorated, average size rooms and breakfast was lovely.

But ... Our room key didn't work on both days, and we had to get it reactivated at reception (if these have to be activated daily - no body told us).

The TV remote in our room seemed to only work intermittently.

On our second night there was a wedding, with loud music until apx 12 at night - although I understand this is something to expect at hotels, our room was right above the function room and we were not informed.

We ordered a desert late on Saturday night at the hotel bar, despite asking how long it would take to arrive, after already waiting 20 minutes nothing seemed to be done.. We ended up waiting 45 minutes for a slice of cake with no apology for the wait.

Young bar staff were lovely - but the lady who seemed like their 'manager' was uninterested and rude to colleagues.

Overall, the hotel is nice but let down by small issues!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NiaJadeMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Niajademorris

I am so sorry to learn of your disappointment. The rooms keys at times can be de-activiated if next to phones or computers/IPads, I am sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you for your feedback please be assured we will review the comments further and take the appropriate action required.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed and relaxed, all the staff were very polite, chatty and smiley. Jason was a delight on reception and advised us on some lovely locations and things to do in Stratford.

Hotel room was cosy and well maintained.

The food was good but made better by the service. We were served by Clarissa who advised us on a great glass of Procecco and was a joy to have a chat to.

Thanks for a great weekend.

Kate and Alex

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Kate M

The Kitchen Team, Clarissa and Jason are delighted with the feedback, thank you for making their day!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I chose this hotel due to reviews on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. Clean, quiet, great location, friendly staff. One very small criticism, i had a twin room as I was sharing with my daughter, the beds are still very close together, and apparently I snore! I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Stratford On Avon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukaliens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Ukaliens

You can always rely on children for their honesty! See you back soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Wow, fantastic! From gaining information from the hotel operator the day before ,I knew this hotel was going to be good, in fact the hotel is great. We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before check in, to ask if we could park up and look round. Jason & Kerry were on reception and checked us in super service, we were lucky room was available. Jason & Kerry showed us everywhere to go on the map, that we could visit. This was my first visit ( bucket list) & they made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Loved the fact the car park is secure, entry by ticket barrier, it costs £5 a night, but your validated ticket is valid after you check out at 11 am, so you can enjoy stratford for that bit longer, I think that was a fantastic bargain. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the birthplace of Shakespeare so perfect to reach everything in the town. I chose the basic double room and it was lovely, comfy bed, hair dryer, iron, tv, hospitality tray everything needed. Bathroom was spacious and the shower over the bath was powerful. Breakfast ( delivered to room extra £5) help yourself, staff constantly serving fresh hot breakfast food, huge selection of fruit ideal to start your day, hearty tasty food. We loved our stay and because all the staff we had the pleasure to meet made us feel so special ( even tho, they are dealing with hundreds of customers)we are looking at dates to book again, wonderful break, thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 212twinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
212twinkle

I am delighted the team made the break memorable. Thank you for your review. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing