We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stratford, A QHotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtland Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Stratheden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Payton Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thistle(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,239)
Filter reviews
2,239 results
Traveler rating
1,207
797
161
43
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,207
797
161
43
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquills restauranttown centreq hotelscar parksuperior roomlovely hotelper nighttrain stationplenty of parkingbuffet styleleave the carevening mealfew minutes walkbreakfast was excellentweekend breakwithin easy walking distancetea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,124 - 1,129 of 2,239 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night on a special deal price, on the hotel's own website, including breakfast for £135 which was excellent value.
Friendly check-in, very clean comfortable room with all you could want. Arriving at 9pm we had some small plates from the bar menu which were enough. Have seen some comments about the bar prices but a pint of Tetleys and a half of Carlsberg were £6.20 which seems reasonable given this is a 4 star hotel in Stratford.
Breakfast choice is quite large and fast pleasant service from all the staff. After returning from our day out we had dinner in the restaurant. Again, the service shone through and the food was really good. Other half's slight niggle - she had the sticky toffee pudding that came with a scrumptious sauce but not enough of it!
Sleep was disturbed by the now ubiquitous, inconsiderate guests who insist on having loud conversations right outside your door at 2am. Never their own. Grrrrrr.......
Having stayed here 4 times previously, this visit was our best one. There have been some staff changes and this has made the difference. Always a friendly, smiling face and guest attention at all times was excellent.
One improvement maybe? The television choice of channels is the smallest we have ever found.

Room Tip: Top floor seems to be quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Wakefieldyorkie

Thank you for your fantastic review, I am delighted that you were looked after well and enjoyed the food.

Kind regards
Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Stratford was the chosen hotel as a couple's weekend away - and it seemed very promising prior to going, the actual experience was a little different from my expectation.
The location was pretty decent - a nice short walk to the town centre, and there was plenty of car parking spaces on site. However the parking is not complementary - it's £5 a day! Was only told about this at checkout - a slightly disappointing as hotels of lower calibre offer this for free, especially if you are staying there.
The hotel seemed very nice and modern on the pictures - however, it appears more like an older rooms made modern - there were a few signs that the hotel had some older parts to it, like the lift and the poor TV service provided in the room.
I have stayed in a few other 4 star hotels and I don't think it's quite on the same level - however, it was a trouble free and provided us a good base to explore Stratford.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Rod_Burns_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

A_Rod_Burns

Thank you for your feedback and review. I am sorry the carparking charges were not made clear prior to your stay, we do add these to our welcome email and also to the web site to try and ensure our guests are well aware of this prior to arrival. We are competitive in this regard locally.

Kind regards
Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I visited this hotel for a day conference, and found it easily in Arden Street near the town centre, and it has a spacious car park. All staff who I encountered were pleasant and friendly, and the conference rooms we used were excellent, with natural light, and effective AV provision. The usual bottled water was available on each of the tables; unfortunately one of the speakers drank some, and commented that it was so warm as to be unpleasant.

The buffet lunch was the only disappointment. It consisted of a range of small items, such as mini-pizzas (which were stone cold), some very ordinary sandwiches and an assortment of other nibbles, none of which were particularly tasty. The trifles available for the dessert were much better but the first part of the buffet was mediocre at best, and it is a long time since I ate a conference buffet that was as disappointing. There were no soft drinks eg fruit juice available with the lunch, and none at all later in the day; orange juice was served on arrival.

I noticed that another conference booking in the hotel had exactly the same lunch as our group, so our experience was not a "one off" for our delegates.

I would have reservations about selecting this hotel in 2015 for our annual conference unless we could be assured of a much more substantial and appetising buffet lunch, which rather marred what otherwise was a first class conference experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

WiiliamRead

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with the conference lunch. Please feel free to conact me should you wish to discuss this further and in order that we can address the issue fully. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back and reassure you of our high standards.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

General
Q Hotels are riding high having been awarded the Which? magazine best hotel chain award for 2013. As a result the hotel was busier than on previous years we’ve stayed. It’s reasonably conveniently located on the edge of the town centre. My wife and I have stayed here annually for many years and have seen steady improvement.
Booking
Online booking was hopeless with the system freezing after I clicked on Pay Now. It took an email and two phone calls to customer service to sort it out. On arrival check-in was fast, friendly and efficient.
Room
Our superior room was spacious and comfortable with ample storage space. Free wifi worked OK. The bathroom is small but well-equipped. It would have been a nice touch if the heated towel rail had been switched on before our arrival on a cold December day because the on/off switch is not obvious to guests being outside the bathroom at floor level.
Breakfast
Q Hotels have adopted the useful ‘traffic light’ system of advising guests on the quiet and busy times at breakfast and it’s a nice innovation to have a waiting area outside the restaurant with comfy chairs, coffee/tea and newspapers for guests who have to wait for a table to become available. The choice and quality of the breakfast buffet were very good although it would be nice to have ‘proper’ wholemeal bread for toasting rather than mass-produced sliced bread. Very helpful staff.
Overall
Good location, very good service, high quality food and drink, comfortable rooms. Good value, happy to return.

Room Tip: If there are two of you avoid room 231 - it has a considerably smaller footprint and is suitable only for single occupancy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PompeyMike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Pompeymike56

I am delighted that you had a great stay and thank you for your loyalty.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a cold just before Xmas December. The hotel is on the edge of town and right next to the railway station which is why I chose the hotel plus it had good reviews. Pleasant fifteen minutes stroll through the nice town to Stratford upon Avon to the Stratford upon Avon Theatre for lunch. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. Room was nicely furnished although a little cramp due to the size of the furniture. Heat control for the room worked beautifully because I turned it up and partner turned it down. Heating or cooling responded accordingly, magic. Bed large and comfy. Bathroom nice with the usual gels and soaps. There was a brown mark on the writing desk seat which was changed quite swiftly after a phone call. Had a couple of meals from the bar menu which was quite nice and that’s not easy when you’re vegan due to there being creatures in most meals. The meals we found didn’t have it that we know of. Didn’t get to try the restaurant due to it being taken over for the ubiquitous Xmas office party. Breakfast was very good with the usual help yourself to hot and cold foods. Staff very attentive and helpful. There is a small fitness centre with cardio machines that seemed OK but didn't get to try it. All in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room that look out the front towards the main road if you want a tree and lawn view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

pollypuss

Fab feedback and delighted that you enjoyed the lounge menus. Thank you.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews